We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love it, love it, love it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stratford Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stratford Inn
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence
New york, New York
1 review
“Love it, love it, love it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2009

I stayed at the Stratford Inn back in November, right after Halloween. I had the best time, and completely enjoyed the entire stay. The room was beautiful the ambiance was amazing. The coffee shop was very nice inside, I loved the new breakfast compared to the older breakfast that they use to have. The breakfast now is filled with protein and much better quality food. I cannot wait to come back and stay! The staff was the best customer service I have seen around Ashland. I will absolutely recommend this to my friends and family!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovestotravel220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    197
    70
    24
    12
See reviews for
215
158
30
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
67 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2009

Located a short walking distance from the centre of town with free parking. The rooms were clean and comfortable but a little dark/dingy in décor. The bathroom was a good size. Well equipped for the traveller with coffee maker, fridge, iron etc. As we were visiting over 4th July choice of hotels was limited not to mention pricey! The Stratford offered a reasonable price.

Breakfast provision was a little limited; you are issued with a voucher for 1 beverage and 1 food item e.g. muffin, bagel from the public café located on the 1st Floor.

There is a small indoor pool at the side of reception probably suited for cooling off rather than exercise.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fromleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
298 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2009

In Ashland in the summer, good rooms aren't cheap and cheap rooms aren't good. For approximately $149/night, the Stratford is good value. It is a 10-minute walk from the theatres. Our room was large and clean. The breakfast (they give you one complimentary item to entice you to have breakfast there) is not recommended.

Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank niemand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2009

This was my 3rd time visiting the Oregon Shakespeare Festival but first time at the Stratford Inn. I probably won't return as the Inn really isn't anything special. When my husband and I arrived we checked into our room and were immediately dissappointed as it appeared we had been booked into a room for someone with a handicap or disability that may need wheel chair access. We don't require such accomodations at this time. My husband enjoys taking a bath rather than a shower, yet our room had only an institutional looking shower. I also realized that we had been placed on the first floor and our window faced the busy street. We went to the desk and requested a new room which we were given. It had it's problems too though because it was on the 3rd floor above the coffee shop!!! At 6:30AM the music could be heard booming below!!!! Every morning was the same thing. Another dissappointmet was the pool. Very small, indoor pool and walking into the pool room was just stifling. One day we recieved no maid service and we had to call several times to get some smaller pillows for the bed. This Inn would be perfect for someone with kids or someone who is not looking for anything special, unfortunantly, not what we had expected.

Helpful?
3 Thank purrrking68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2009

The staff has a "can do" attitude and always seems eager to please.

The location is within easy walking distance of the Shakespeare Festival, but avoids the crowded feeling of downtown. The close proximity to a market (Safeway) allows visitors to "eat in" and save money on dining.

One of the best features is the breakfast available in the common area.

The Stratford Inn is often used by tours originating in the San Francisco Bay Area, therefore room availability is sometimes limited.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MelsBees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, WA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2009

I'm sorry to say that our recent stay at the Stratford was very disappointing. We've stayed there many times and always liked it because of its location even though the room rate is awfully high for the not-so-special accommodations. This time, we had a room that needed maintenance for both a broken shower head and a fading battery in the smoke alarm (annoying beeps). We also had a terrible time getting the housekeepers into the room for cleaning. Our sign for maid service was on the door knob for six and a half hours while we were out and we returned to an unserviced room. This was after telling the front desk at 8 a.m. that we would like the cleaning crew in since we were out for the morning...

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellin_mom18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest Park, Washington
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2009

I don't know why I've never written a review of the Stratford Inn. I've stayed there many times over the years. I've been attending the Shakespeare Festival nearly every year for something around 40 years. I've stayed in many places in the area...some terrific...some not so terrific. But the Stratford Inn is reliable. If you stay there you know you'll have a clean, comfortable room. You know you'll get a decent breakfast in the morning. You know that there will be a nice pool and spa available. You know you'll be close to downtown Ashland and the theatres. You know that good restaurants will be within walking distance. You know you'll have a good, safe place to park your car. You know if you get hungry at odd hours, or need a newspaper, there's a Safeway nearby. If you need a cup of coffee anytime day or night, you'll find one in the breakfast room. You know there'll be a computer available to check email and find a new restaurant. If you know anything about Ashland, Oregon, you know that it is a small, southern Oregon town whose claim to fame is the Shakespeare Festival...and of course it is one of the most beautiful places around scenery-wise. But you'll also know that the Festival pulls people in from around the world, the U.S. and certainly from the West Coast in droves. That means it's resources are frequently strained to the max and the chances of getting into luxurious accommodations require that you book a year ahead without knowing what the next year's plays will be. That's fine if you're coming to Ashland for luxury...if you're coming for the plays...not so good. So finding a well-located, clean hotel with all the little things that make your stay pleasurable is no mean feat most of the year. For all those reasons, I highly recommend The Stratford Inn. And do enjoy everything else Ashland has to offer, including cabaret theatre. If you love good theatre, good food, good wine, one of the best little bookshops around and spectacular scenery you won't be disappointed. Check out the Peter Britt Music Festival in nearby Jacksonville, too.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sejcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ashland hotels
2.3 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ashland Springs Hotel
#6 of 19 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Bard's Inn
Best Western Bard's Inn
#3 of 19 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Windsor Inn
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Ashland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stratford Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stratford Inn

Property: Stratford Inn
Address: 555 Siskiyou Blvd, Ashland, OR 97520-2137
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Ashland
#9 Family Hotel in Ashland
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stratford Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stratford Inn has evolved into a "home away from home" for many people who have been staying with us for over three decades, as well as our first time visitors who happen upon us. Our location, heart for hospitality and love for our community is what elevates the Stratford Inn as the cleanest, friendliest and most comfortable place to rest while visiting our incredibly special town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stratford Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stratford Hotel Ashland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing