We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worthy of a "home away from home" award.”
Review of Stratford Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stratford Inn
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2009

The staff has a "can do" attitude and always seems eager to please.

The location is within easy walking distance of the Shakespeare Festival, but avoids the crowded feeling of downtown. The close proximity to a market (Safeway) allows visitors to "eat in" and save money on dining.

One of the best features is the breakfast available in the common area.

The Stratford Inn is often used by tours originating in the San Francisco Bay Area, therefore room availability is sometimes limited.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelsBees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (664)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

648 - 654 of 664 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2009

I'm sorry to say that our recent stay at the Stratford was very disappointing. We've stayed there many times and always liked it because of its location even though the room rate is awfully high for the not-so-special accommodations. This time, we had a room that needed maintenance for both a broken shower head and a fading battery in the smoke alarm (annoying beeps). We also had a terrible time getting the housekeepers into the room for cleaning. Our sign for maid service was on the door knob for six and a half hours while we were out and we returned to an unserviced room. This was after telling the front desk at 8 a.m. that we would like the cleaning crew in since we were out for the morning...

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellin_mom18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2009

I don't know why I've never written a review of the Stratford Inn. I've stayed there many times over the years. I've been attending the Shakespeare Festival nearly every year for something around 40 years. I've stayed in many places in the area...some terrific...some not so terrific. But the Stratford Inn is reliable. If you stay there you know you'll have a clean, comfortable room. You know you'll get a decent breakfast in the morning. You know that there will be a nice pool and spa available. You know you'll be close to downtown Ashland and the theatres. You know that good restaurants will be within walking distance. You know you'll have a good, safe place to park your car. You know if you get hungry at odd hours, or need a newspaper, there's a Safeway nearby. If you need a cup of coffee anytime day or night, you'll find one in the breakfast room. You know there'll be a computer available to check email and find a new restaurant. If you know anything about Ashland, Oregon, you know that it is a small, southern Oregon town whose claim to fame is the Shakespeare Festival...and of course it is one of the most beautiful places around scenery-wise. But you'll also know that the Festival pulls people in from around the world, the U.S. and certainly from the West Coast in droves. That means it's resources are frequently strained to the max and the chances of getting into luxurious accommodations require that you book a year ahead without knowing what the next year's plays will be. That's fine if you're coming to Ashland for luxury...if you're coming for the plays...not so good. So finding a well-located, clean hotel with all the little things that make your stay pleasurable is no mean feat most of the year. For all those reasons, I highly recommend The Stratford Inn. And do enjoy everything else Ashland has to offer, including cabaret theatre. If you love good theatre, good food, good wine, one of the best little bookshops around and spectacular scenery you won't be disappointed. Check out the Peter Britt Music Festival in nearby Jacksonville, too.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sejcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2008

My stay was satisfactory, and I will probably stay there again. The best thing is the location and the view of the moutains from the 3rd floor rear rooms. The room was ordinary, but clean and equipped with a microwave and refrigerator. The continental breakfast did not have as much variety as the midpriced chain motels, but this hotel is right across the street from Safeway so you can get your own fruit, miffins etc if you don't like the hotel's breakfast selection. The indoor pool was pretty small, but clearly the kids loved it. Hotel has large louge/breakfast room that would be nice in bad weather. The hotel is not cheap but Ashland is expensive place to visit.. If you are trying to save money, stay in Medford -- its a 15 minute drive and the motels are more reasonable.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aDCtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2008

In most respects -- the rooms, decor, breakfast, views -- this hotel is mediocre, not especially good or bad. But the location, on the edge of "downtown" a few blocks from the OSF, is great --considering the price, and keeping in mind that Ashland is generally overpriced.

Our room on the third floor had a view of the hills -- and of the parking lot. It was not cramped, but the very low ceiling gave it a mildly claustrophobic feel. The breakfast room/lounge on the second floor is pleasant enough, but the breakfast (cereal, bagels, English muffins) is not high quality. The staff was friendly and seemed to make an effort.

Overall we were content with the hotel, if not really enthusiastic, and would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Macrodiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2008

We were looking forward to a little luxury in Ashland. The Stratford Inn is very average and at a price of $170.00 per night very disappointing. To add to that, I fell in the shower because it was slippery. The resistance strips were worn away and there was no bath mat. I am a healthy 53 year old. If this had happenned to an older person, it could have been devastating. When my daughter and I approached the front desk clerk about it, she seemed unconcerned and I had to insist upon filling out an incident report. I have heard nothing from the management about my accident. We stayed only one night, moved to the Plaza Inn and Suites. For $30 more a night, we had a very nice room, evening wine and cheese, midnight cookies and milk, and a very lovely continental breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank cmoode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2008

We absolutely love the city of Ashland (vacation there several times a year) and were so excited to try the Stratford Inn b/c of the indoor pool (we have 2 small kids). We stayed in the suite on the first floor, and it met all our needs as a family with young kids. The rooms were clean and the kitchen area spacious. The common dining room upstairs was spacious, clean, well-lit, and relaxing.

Unfortunately, on the day we left, we accidentally left our brand new digital camcorder in the room. Totally our fault and we admit that. But when we called back to request (plead!) that the staff please check the room for our camcorder, we were told they couldn't bother the new occupant and that someone would be getting back to us ASAP. We waited a day and didn't hear anything, so we called back again and received the exact same response. We even insisted that we only wanted the digital data card (containing irreplaceable footage of our daughter walking for the first time) and wouldn't press charges about the "loss" of the recorder. The customer service on the phone was awful. They told us they would call us back. After yet another day of silence, we tried one last time and were told that nothing was found in the room. While we completely admit that leaving such a valuable item in the room was entirely our error, we were furious and frankly disappointed that the responses we received to all of our calls were so apathetic. We don't know if it was the hotel staff or next occupant who took our camcorder, but we do know bad customer service when we receive it. We will never stay there again, which is unfortunate because we really had hoped it would become a regular stop for us in the years to come.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mamey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ashland hotels
0.6 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
2.3 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
2.4 mi away
Best Western Windsor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ashland Springs Hotel
#5 of 19 in Ashland
703 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bard's Inn
Bard's Inn
#3 of 19 in Ashland
873 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ashland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stratford Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stratford Inn

Address: 555 Siskiyou Blvd, Sherman St & Siskiyou Blvd., Ashland, OR 97520-2137
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Ashland
#6 Business Hotel in Ashland
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ashland
Price Range: $103 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stratford Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stratford Inn has evolved into a "home away from home" for many people who have been staying with us for over three decades, as well as our first time visitors who happen upon us. Our location, heart for hospitality and love for our community is what elevates the Stratford Inn as the cleanest, friendliest and most comfortable place to rest while visiting our incredibly special town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Stratford Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stratford Hotel Ashland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing