We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stratford in Winter”
Review of Stratford Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stratford Inn
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence
Point Richmond, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Stratford in Winter”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We love to go to Ashland when it's cold and there are no crowds. When we can, we stay at the Stratford. Our tradition dates back to the 1980's. The rooms have always been comfortable and reasonably priced for Ashland. We stay on the mountain side away from noise. It's quiet even when the window is open. Now there's a cafe that is very pleasant and well attended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank LovelyLMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    207
    75
    25
    12
See reviews for
221
172
31
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redding
1 review
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Enjoyed our room, the friendly service, the light breakfast, pool and hot tub. Everything was clean. The beds were a little uncomfortable...felt like it was tilting to one side, but I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

My number one concern in any hotel is the bed. Unfortunately, our bed was so worn out, soft and mushy, we could not use it and used the fold-down Murphey bed in the living area instead. The hotel management had put a 4" foam pad on the top of the mattress - not sure if this was supposed to fix the fact that the bed is was too soft, or if they think it is a bonus.

Everything else was good - big room and living area with a full kitchen and a nice coffee-cafe on premises. Great location, and great price for a suite. I would stay again if they would invest in new, firm beds.

Room Tip: Ask if the bed is new or if it is covered with a foam pad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjespe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StratfordinnManager, Manager at Stratford Inn, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Our goal at the Stratford Inn is to create a "home away from home" feel for all of our guests.

We deeply apologize for any discomfort your experienced during your visit. We have looked into the situation and will be replacing the mattress this winter.

We look forward to hosting your next trip to Ashland.

Regards,

Stratford Inn Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Comfortable place, guest laundry is free except for detergent. But don't accept a room with a connecting door to the next room. Gap under the door is almost an inch high so what goes on in there is in your room too, and vice versa. Great, though, if you actually WANT to party with your neighbors.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pdebits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
1 review
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I absolutely fell in love with this place!! Perfect location and great customer service!! It is such a great deal and the extra attention and care from the staff really made my stay wonderful! The breakfast in the morning was great, and the cafe next to it has the nicest girls working! I really enjoyed the cleanliness of the rooms.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carls r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We found the Stratford Inn to be a very affordable, comfortable and convenient base for visits to Ashland for the Oregon Shakespeare Festival and other activities in the Rogue Valley. Rooms are clean, comfortable and relatively spacious. Amenities include a basic free breakfast, nice indoor pool and quiet area. The staff are friendly and very helpful.

The location of the Stratford is also excellent, right on Main Street and just about four blocks from OSF's theaters, shopping and dining.

This is an excellent hotel option if you are visiting Ashland for the plays, but don't want to spend $250-$350 for the many pricier Bed & Breakfasts and luxury hotels in town. It is also IN downtown, compared to most other moderately priced hotels that are a mile or more away near the interstate.

We will definitely stay here again, and probably bring our kids next time.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the east side for a view of the valley and mountains, and to avoid road noise from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJBilotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 19, 2013

The Stratford Inn is a great place to stay when one visits Ashland. The location is close to all of the main attractions: theater, restaurants, shopping,
parks, library, and music. All of this in a relaxed environment.
All of the staff I have encountered are welcoming and helpful. The facility is clean and well maintained. I've never had an issue with something not working or in a degraded condition.
I would recommend the Stratford to anyone who wants a clean, comfortable place to stay while on the road.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terence B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ashland hotels
2.3 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
0.6 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
0.3 mi away
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ashland Springs Hotel
#5 of 19 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Bard's Inn
Best Western Bard's Inn
#3 of 19 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Windsor Inn
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Ashland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stratford Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stratford Inn

Property: Stratford Inn
Address: 555 Siskiyou Blvd, Ashland, OR 97520-2137
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Ashland
#9 Family Hotel in Ashland
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stratford Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stratford Inn has evolved into a "home away from home" for many people who have been staying with us for over three decades, as well as our first time visitors who happen upon us. Our location, heart for hospitality and love for our community is what elevates the Stratford Inn as the cleanest, friendliest and most comfortable place to rest while visiting our incredibly special town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Stratford Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stratford Hotel Ashland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing