We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dungeons but no Dragons!”
Review of Stratford Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stratford Inn
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence
Turlock, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Dungeons but no Dragons!”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

My wife and I came to Ashland to see the plays at OSF. The location of the hotel was good, with in a short walk of the theaters and down town. This made it quite convenient. The problem was our room was in the basement of the hotel. It kind of made us feel like moles either coming out or going into our rooms each time. The people at the hotel were friendly and helpful. The room was large enough but truly felt like a dungeon. It needed more light in the room. They did have a breakfast but it was pretty much tasteless and very basic. The egg was this puck that you could chop-up and put on a tortilla. They had a few small pastries and breads that seemed to be bought at the local grocery store. Coffee, juice and milk finished off the selections.

All in all not horrible but nothing to recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GiantDreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy B, Manager at Stratford Inn, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Hi,

I read your review and would like to invite you to stay in one of our rooms with more of a view. Room 107 was once the manager's quarters and gets excellent natural lighting. If you visit Ashland again we can offer you $25 off your stay in the summer time or $65/night in the winter. Please call in advance to take advantage of your special rates.

We're sorry you didn't enjoy your stay as well as we had liked. We hope to see you again soon!

The Stratford Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    210
    75
    25
    10
See reviews for
225
172
31
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The staff are personal and, while the decor is a little dated, the atmosphere feels welcoming. The hotel is walking distance to Ashland's main square, which is exactly what we wanted. We had a lovely two night stay.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank YBarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy B, Manager at Stratford Inn, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Hi Barlow,

I saw that you gave us a review on TripAdvisor and we just wanted to say thanks! We really appreciate you taking your time to review us and share your experience. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon!

Thanks again!

The Stratford Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed at the Stratford on a recent trip from San Francisco to visit family in Seattle. The room was clean, pleasant, convenient, and fairly priced. Staff were friendly and helpful. We'll stay again when travelling to Portland and Seattle to visit family.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank David I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy B, Manager at Stratford Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Hi David,

I saw your review and I just wanted to say thanks for taking your time to post it. We really appreciate you sharing your feedback with everyone.

We're glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon!

Thanks,

Stratford Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We travel to Ashland 3 times a year to watch all the plays. We always stay at the Stratford and really like it. You can walk to the plays, have great coffee and treats in the cafe, and enjoy a friendly staff.

Room Tip: We love to get the kitchenette rooms so we can grab food from Safeway across the street and eat chea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra6465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy B, Manager at Stratford Inn, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Hi,

I saw your review you did for us on TripAdvisor - "Our favorite hotel in Ashland". We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and we really appreciate your business. We look forward to your next visit and we hope to see you again soon!

Thanks,

Stratford Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This place is just fine as a place to sleep while you're visiting Ashland for the plays. The rooms are large and pretty basic. Clean and convenient--close to downtown shopping and the festival. It is located directly across the street from a Safeway which is nice if you're hoping to avoid eating out every meal.Tthere is an over-sized mini-refrigerator and a microwave in the room which is also convenient. The room does not have a closet--instead there is an wardrobe which is on the small side if you are traveling with more than two in your party. Breakfast is just OK, but it's enough to get you going. Staff was friendly enough. Not especially noteworthy, but a solid place for a night or two.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alongidog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy B, Manager at Stratford Inn, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Hi,

I saw your that did a review for us on TripAdvisory and I just wanted to say thank you. We really appreciate you taking your time to give us a review. We always like to hear feedback from our clients, especially the happy ones!

We're glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon!

Thanks,

Stratford Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I've been a guest at the Stratford for several seasons. The management has maintained this property and level of service consistently. Rooms are very clean and well-appointed, breakfast is complete, and the facility is a short walk to the OSF theaters. Staff is very pleasant and accommodating. Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlZinSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy B, Manager at Stratford Inn, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Hi,

I saw that you gave us a great review on TripAdvisory and we just wanted to say thank you. It really makes us happy to hear that our guests had a good time.

Thanks for sharing your experience and we hope to see you again soon!

Stratford Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2013

The Stratford Inn is a great base for those attending the Oregon Shakespeare Festival. It is an easy walk to the venues, as well as to all of the restaurants and shops downtown, and all for a reasonable price. We loved it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank burghart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy B, Manager at Stratford Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Hi Burghart,

We just wanted to say thanks for the positive review on TripAdvisor. We really appreciate it. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon!

Thanks!

The Stratford Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ashland hotels
2.3 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
0.6 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
0.3 mi away
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ashland Springs Hotel
#5 of 19 in Ashland
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Best Western Windsor Inn
0.6 mi away
Best Western Bard's Inn
Best Western Bard's Inn
#3 of 19 in Ashland
779 reviews
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Ashland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stratford Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stratford Inn

Property: Stratford Inn
Address: 555 Siskiyou Blvd, Ashland, OR 97520-2137
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Ashland
#9 Family Hotel in Ashland
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stratford Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stratford Inn has evolved into a "home away from home" for many people who have been staying with us for over three decades, as well as our first time visitors who happen upon us. Our location, heart for hospitality and love for our community is what elevates the Stratford Inn as the cleanest, friendliest and most comfortable place to rest while visiting our incredibly special town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Stratford Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stratford Hotel Ashland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing