We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet Dreams for the Playgoer”
Review of Stratford Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stratford Inn
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We have been visiting Ashland annually for the past 9 years to enjoy plays at the Oregon Shakespeare Festival. The Stratford Inn is a pleasant walk past charming downtown shops and restaurants. The rooms are comfortable and clean, the free breakfast is good, and the staff is very friendly and helpful. And honest. I accidentally left my laptop charger in the room and the Inn sent it to me when we called days after returning to California.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathtara2678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StratfordinnManager, Manager at Stratford Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Dear Kathtara2678,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review.

We are glad to read you had a comfortable and peaceful stay.

We look forward to having your family stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Stratford Inn
Front Desk Manager
Stacy Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (665)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

593 - 599 of 665 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2012

My high school friend from California and I met up in Ashland for a weekend birthday reunion. We wanted to stay at a place convenient to downtown Ashland and the Oregon Shakespeare Festival. The Stratford Inn fit the bill, with an easy four and a half block walk to the theaters and no parking hassles downtown. We were impressed by the cleanliness of the room and how quiet it was for sleeping. Our only disappointment was the continental breakfast. My friend could find nothing that interested her, with much of the food not labeled so she could not check the ingredients. I found the choices very limited, generic tasting and mostly cold. I thought it would be better based on the room fee. A hot breakfast in the coffee shop would've made our weekend!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OregonDucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StratfordinnManager, Manager at Stratford Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Dear OregonDucks,

Thank you for your thorough comments posted on TripAdvisor! We are happy to know you enjoyed the cleanliness and spaciousness of your room, and the location of the hotel.

We are sorry to hear that our breakfast isn’t what you and your guest were looking for.
An advantage of being a Stratford Inn guest is the 10% off discount in Boulevard Coffee. I recommend for each one of our guest to take full advantage of there wonderful food selection.

We look forward to your future visits with us!


Best Regards,

Stratford Inn
Front Desk Manager
Stacy Lee
800-547-4741

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is a great family destination with many things for the whole family to do. It was a great trip. We love reading the reviews about all the plays, and enjoyed the new items in the continental breakfast. The staff is always warm and welcoming. We are going to make the Stratford Inn or place to stop each year. We cannot recommend them enough to our friends and family!

Room Tip: The third floor is the best floor, but the hidden secret is on second with the coffee shop!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lelela220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StratfordinnManager, Manager at Stratford Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Dear Lelela220,

Thank you for your review!

We appreciate your comments regarding the free continental breakfast.

Thank you for recommending the Stratford Inn to all your friends and family.

We look forward to seeing you and your family again

Best Regards,

Stratford Inn
Front Desk Manager
Stacy Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Our family has stayed at the Stratford Inn every year since its 1982 opening (this year, 20 relatives for several days). As always, our visit was perfect, the motel was clean and neat, and the staff very helpful and accommodating.

Room Tip: You may want a room on the side away from the busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WarrenT50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StratfordinnManager, Manager at Stratford Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Dear WarrenT50,

We here at the Stratford Inn appreciate your family’s loyalty to stay with us for 30 years.

Thank you so much for your exquisite review.

We look forward to seeing you again next year.

Sincerely,

Stratford Inn
Front Desk Manager
Stacy Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We found the rooms to be very comfortable and large and the free breakfast was great. The reviews of all the plays from the guests were very helpful. We would definitely stay at the Stratford again for an affordable and comfortable hotel with excellent and helpful service from all the staff.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StratfordinnManager, Manager at Stratford Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Dear Allan H.,

Thank you for your encouraging review!

We appreciate your comments regarding the free continental breakfast. As well as the Shakespeare review board.

Our team members will be recognized for their service.

We look forward to seeing you again on a future visit!

Sincerely,

Stratford Inn
Front Desk Manager
Stacy Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I recently had to go to ashland for work and brought my mother and daughter with me. We found stratford inn to be perfect for all of us...a clean pool, coffee shop, walkability, environmentally friendly, and the most friendly staff. I have traveled a lot lately and rarely find such helpful and accommodating staff. We will be back and we highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dkssssss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StratfordinnManager, Manager at Stratford Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Dear DKSSSSSS,

We appreciate your divine review.

We are glad to hear that we could accommodate each one of your family’s needs.

Our team members will be acknowledged for their hospitality during your stay.

We look forward to seeing your family again.

Best Regards,

Stratford Inn
Front Desk Manager
Stacy Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Our family of four stays at Stratford every time we come to Ashland and we could not ask for anything better. The staff is the best and always welcoming and gets us our room early, if possible. Great location next to grocery store and a short walk to restaurants and plays downtown. Enjoy the clean pool, hot tub, and sitting outside on patio. Basic rooms come with refrigerator and are always clean. Love this place and would not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BethPetaluma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StratfordinnManager, Manager at Stratford Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Dear BethPetaluma,

On behalf of the team here at The Stratford Inn, I would like to say a personal thank you for taking the time to review our property. We greatly appreciate all the kind words and look forward to providing the same excellent service in the future.

We will be upgrading and renovating our rooms very soon.

Please contact me for more assistance in the future with any of your reservations.

Sincerely,
Stratford Inn
Front Desk Manager
Stacy Lee
800-547-4741

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ashland hotels
0.6 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
2.3 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
2.4 mi away
Best Western Windsor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ashland Springs Hotel
#5 of 19 in Ashland
706 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bard's Inn
Bard's Inn
#3 of 19 in Ashland
875 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ashland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stratford Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stratford Inn

Address: 555 Siskiyou Blvd, Sherman St & Siskiyou Blvd., Ashland, OR 97520-2137
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Ashland
#6 Family Hotel in Ashland
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ashland
Price Range: $103 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stratford Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stratford Inn has evolved into a "home away from home" for many people who have been staying with us for over three decades, as well as our first time visitors who happen upon us. Our location, heart for hospitality and love for our community is what elevates the Stratford Inn as the cleanest, friendliest and most comfortable place to rest while visiting our incredibly special town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Stratford Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stratford Hotel Ashland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing