We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First rate rooms, first rate hostess”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ashland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A Midsummer's Dream Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #17 of 31 Ashland B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“First rate rooms, first rate hostess”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

My travelling buddy and I (one male, one female) sadly stayed just one overnight with Lisa, at this beautiful B&B, and we had a wonderful time. Many thanks to Lisa for such a great stay - and the breakfast was amazing. I could barely drag myself out of the extremely comfortable bed to go down to breakfast but I was so glad I did. We had the "Desdemona" and "Othello" rooms and each were so comfortable, so pretty. I can heartily recommend a stay here. Lisa is a charming and delightful hostess. I'm still longing for more of that breakfast, too.

Room Tip: If you'd like a bit more privacy, my Desdemona room was sort of in an annex off the main house a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kkrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    0
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
18
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

My husband and I recently had the privilege of spending three nights in Ashland for a little romantic getaway, and loved our choice of A Midsummer's Dream Bed and Breakfast. It is a classic Victorian house with beautiful rooms and furnishings. Lisa Beach is a wonderful hostess who serves delicious gourmet breakfasts in the dining room. She went above and beyond by helping us find a massage therapist and securing a restaurant reservation for us. We had stayed here many years before, and were so happy we had decided to return to this special B&B. From the beautifully decorated rooms to the freshly baked cookies always available in the living room, you will not be disappointed. And the location is perfect --- between the college and downtown. We attended two performances of the Oregon Shakespeare Festival, driving once and having a nice 20 minute walk the other time. Great B&B and a perfect spot to stay in Ashland.

Room Tip: Our room was at the top, under the eaves. We loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sassysteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The furnishings are lovely . . . but this bed and breakfast is not particularly traveller friendly. the breakfast is average or below average, the guest basket in the bedrooms contains a couple of cheap junk food items and no water, and the rooms are noisy with doors slamming and heavy footsteps easily heard. The rooms are overpriced and there is nothing really to recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mapy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takoma Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

My wife, daughter and I spent a delightful five days at the Midsummer's Dream Bed and Breakfast. The B&B is located about a 20 min walk from the Oregon Shakespeare Festival theaters on a quiet street. The property looks recently renovated or built, and is decorated with taste. Our room (ominously named "Othello" -- read the play and find out what happened to him) had a very comfortable king sized bed and luxurious bathroom with jacuzzi. Othello was perfect for two; we had our daughter with us and she slept on an air mattress, which was not firm. Our hostess, Lisa was extraordinarily welcome and full of helpful information about restaurants and side excursions. She made wonderful breakfasts, a different one each morning we were there. The price was a bit high - $210 a night - but we felt we got our money's worth.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BullwinkleJMoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2010

My husband and I have visited Ashland every year together since 1992. We've tried nearly every place there is to stay in Ashland. This is the best. This lovely B&B on a quiet street is just a short walk or drive to downtown. The spacious, beautifully decorated rooms have huge, nicely appointed bathrooms -- all with jetted tubs. The place is spotless and the soft white sheets and fluffy down comforters are delightful. Lisa Beach is a lovely hostess who cooks up fabulous breakfasts. Her home-baked lavender shortbread cookies, which she leaves out for afternoon or bedtime snacking, are also delish! There is no place nicer. We come back every year.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank borenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa Grande, Arizona
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2010

This B&B was extremely clean in the main rooms as well as the individual suites. The house itself and the furnishings were well done. We had the whole place to ourselves during the early season. Breakfast was a cheese and spinach omelet, bacon, homemade hash browns, strawberries and beverages. It was tasty and appealing. The location of this inn is near the SOU campus- which makes it perfect for parents attending school events- and a bit farther out of downtown from the Shakespeare Festival, but still in walking distance if you don't mind a bit of a walk. It was in a nice quiet neighborhood.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SPhillips_55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
616 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2009

We spent the weekend here for a special occassion and loved it. Beautiful room, nice and quiet, it had a very large jetted tub which was great and a very comfy bed.. Good breakfasts and friendly hosts. The Inn is more then 8/10's of a mile from downtown attractions...more like a mile, with a hill. The distance was perfect for us because we love to walk.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sp4301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ashland hotels
1.9 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
0.9 mi away
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ashland Springs Hotel
#6 of 19 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
0.6 mi away
Stratford Inn
Stratford Inn
#4 of 19 in Ashland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Best Western Bard's Inn
Best Western Bard's Inn
#3 of 19 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
0.4 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#12 of 19 in Ashland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Windsor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Midsummer's Dream Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Midsummer's Dream Bed and Breakfast

Property: A Midsummer's Dream Bed and Breakfast
Address: 496 Beach St, Ashland, OR 97520-3210
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Midsummer's Dream Bed and Breakfast is located in a completely renovated 1901 Victorian. All 4 rooms have a king-sized bed, 2 person jetted tub, fireplace, glass block shower and Wi-Fi. Off street parking available. The 2 rooms in the cottage behind the inn also have a refrigerator, micro-wave oven, coffee pot and private entrances. The inn is located a twenty minute walk from the theaters on the town side of Southern Oregon University in a quiet neighborhood. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing