We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent bed and comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence
Spokane Valley, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“excellent bed and comfortable stay”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This hotel has an excellent location, we can walk to most everything, great beds, very quiet and very well managed. We've stayed 3 times and they have all been great. Will come back again.
There is a spa/ hot but no pool. There is a free breakfast, a free snack at 5:oo pm and a late night snack. The king suite we had is a good size and we like the separate sitting area for watching TV.

Room Tip: We've stayed in both buildings but prefer the main building where the office is. We were on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grampajazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    140
    39
    22
    14
See reviews for
123
169
21
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Redlands, California
Level Contributor
135 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Congratulations to the management of this hotel for being so successful that they don't have to worry about whether clients return. Before leaving Ashland this year, I stopped in to the lovely historic Ashland Springs hotel and made reservations for 4 rooms for a week next June 2014, which I told the front desk supervisor as I checked out, she blithely replied, "Hope you enjoy your stay there."
My employer pays for this trip, and I've encouraged family and friends to join me over the years.
I was so mad earlier this week when I wrote my review, that I decided to wait until I had calmed down. But I'm still mad and sad. That's probably why I didn't give them an "Average" rating.

Must be nice to be so successful that you don't have to care about clients who have been coming to your hotel for, oh say, the past 11 years. I called in April to book our 4-day stay. I was assured by the young lass who took my reservation that she would be able to move me from the pet-friendly part of the hotel to the regular hotel by July.
I arrived today. The front desk clerk said, "Oh you have animals?" I said "No." But here I am, in a room that smells like urine, with a thundering herd of children overhead. All because they got really busy this week and everything booked up and they couldn't be bothered with the trouble of honoring a guest's reasonable request.
We wheeled our luggage rack over to the pet palace and found that the maid's cleaning cart was blocking our room. She sullenly moved it and watched with disinterest as we attempted to maneuver around her to get into our room. No offer of help or even an effort to get her cart sufficiently out of our way. What's up with that?
When I called to make reservations in April, the reservation clerk assured me that although they appeared to be fully booked, she thought we could be moved into the main hotel by July. It was clear when we checked in, that no thought or effort had been made to do so. So we stayed out in the dog house. Our room, #105, stank. The air conditioning unit rattled every time the compressor came on, waking us up throughout the night. They sent a handy man to fix it. He shoved the unit when it came on and the rattle stopped. So it was simple, during the night, all we had to do was get up every time the air conditioner came on, go over and shove the unit. I finally pulled the cover off and the rattle stopped. If you stay in the pet friendly dog house, you will hear dogs barking, particularly the poodle in the room next door to us, but only when his owners were out, which was much of the time.
Be aware that the manager of the hotel has left a nifty little note (see below) in each room, letting you know that if you leave ANY of your stuff ANYwhere, the cleaning staff won't clean that area. For example, if you leave a piece of paper on the bed, they won't make the bed (we experimented!). Also, if you don't clear out of your room during the morning when they are cleaning, you will need to request room service, which you may or may not get. I tried to shame them one year by asking to borrow a vacuum cleaner to use in our room, they were happy to let me vacuum my own room.
Another year we had a family walk in on us (we weren't dressed) because they had double-booked our room.
The hotel does not have enough parking, requiring you to leave your car on the street if you don't get there early enough. We had our windshield wipers bent back on our Range Rover in the past when we've had to park on the street. There is a seedy, feral population in Ashland that you need to be aware of, particularly at night.
Despite these incidents we kept returning. My parents (80s) don't like change. This hotel isn't a bad place, like a good Best Western. Eleven years ago it was new, and very nice. Not a great deal has changed over the years, now it's a bit tatty and dated, although they finally did update the woefully inadequate breakfast area. However, for essentially the same price, you can stay at the Ashland Springs hotel, a lovely gracious historic building, right next to the Shakespeare Festival and in the heart of the town, with a great restaurant on the premises and within a 2-block range. But you will need to make your reservation early to ensure that you don't get stuck at a lessor hotel i.e. Plaza Inn & Suites. Again, congrats to the Plaza Inn and Suites for your business success.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the dog house unless you have pets. Bring incense if not. Room #105 in the pet palace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SaladAlexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SJohnsonGM, General Manager at Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
I am truly disappointed you will not continue to stay at the Plaza and understand that apologies will not change your mind. I would be remiss to not acknowledge and thank you for your many years of patronage.
I realize @ the time you booked your room there was not a room available in the main building, A room had opened up in the main building and a message was left stating we could move you but we did not hear back. Generally the direction is to not change the room type until we hear back from the guest, obviously that was a mistake and again, I apologize.
If you reconsider in the future, I am only a phone call away and would love to personally help make the next stay a positive and happy memory.
I wish you and your family many years of happiness.
Sincerely,
Shannon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
137 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Tempted to give it 5 stars: The rooms are large and comfortable enough. The staff gracious. The extras (a good breakfast, afternoon wine-tasting, after-theatre cookies and milk) generous. The location (short walk to theatres, park, and a multitude of restaurants) superb. Parking available. So what was missing? No pool (hot-tub available, but just about on the street). It just lacks a certain flair that would make the inn more welcoming. But anytime I am back to Ashland, this is the place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank edgar m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SJohnsonGM, General Manager at Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Plaza Inn and Suites. I am happy you enjoyed the room, decor and excellent customer service.
I appreciate your comments and welcome any suggestions to make your next stay even more enjoyable.
Again, thank you for your comments and your patronage.

Sincerely,
Shannon Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millbrae, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Been coming here for the last 2-3 years and always glad for the comfy rooms and friendly staff. It is in downtown Ashland within walking distance to the theaters. Love the location to shopping and variety of restaurants. There is a workout room which never seems crowded. The area is quiet and overlook Ashland Creek where you can read or just sit. It is near a spa which you can book for a great massage too. Has free breakfasts too and if you get there early you can score a good seat. But there are great nearby restaurants to tryout too.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travlssometimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SJohnsonGM, General Manager at Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your recent stay at the Plaza. Being able to walk to the plays and not having to worry about parking is definitely a nice feature.
We look forward to your next visit and thank you again for taking the time to review the hotel.

Sincerely,

Shannon Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
507 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 days. The rooms are nice. The location to nice shops & restaurants is great. The staff was very friendly. The reason I did not give it a 5 rating is because of the breakfast situation. The breakfast room is much too small & crowded. The scrambled eggs were awful. How do you ruin eggs unless the are powdered & microwaved. The bacon was very greasy. But most of all it was just not comfortable being squeezed in & elbowing your way to get food. It is also very pricey even though we got a special rate for the wedding group we were with.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StevenHScher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SJohnsonGM, General Manager at Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Plaza Inn and Suites. I am excited to say we have completed a renovation of the breakfast room ;all new decor, breakfast displays as well as additional seating.
The breakfast items offered continuously change; I appreciate your input to ensure the next stay meets your expectations.
Again, thank you for your patronage and time.
Sincerely,
Shannon Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

The Plaza is perfectly located one block off Main Street. Peacefully tucked in the trees along the creek, the Plaza is convenient to all the shops without the hustle & bustle. The creekside patio garden is an afternoon delight. And the offer early evening snack, bedtime cookies & milk AND for after the theatre, midnight PB&J! What hospitality!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjsac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SJohnsonGM, General Manager at Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
We are pleased your enjoyed your stay at the Plaza Inn and Suites. The location is ideal for a peaceful, relaxing and very quiet stay. Thank you for the positive feedback. We look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,

Shannon Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We have been coming to Ashland for over 20 years and this is by far the best place we stayed. In addition to being convenient to the theaters it has all the other amenities, friendly staff, good breakfast, large well decorated rooms etc. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hank88_49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ashland hotels
2.8 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ashland Springs Hotel
#5 of 19 in Ashland
671 reviews
0.6 mi away
Stratford Inn
Stratford Inn
#4 of 19 in Ashland
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Best Western Windsor Inn
0.0 mi away
Best Western Bard's Inn
Best Western Bard's Inn
#3 of 19 in Ashland
779 reviews
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Ashland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek

Property: Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
Address: 98 Central Ave, Ashland, OR 97520-1787
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Ashland
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ashland
#8 Family Hotel in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timeless Style and Modern Luxury in a Chic Setting Welcome to the Plaza Inn & Suites, a boutique hotel in Ashland, Oregon. Here, visitors to Ashland experience the best of both worlds – a peaceful self-contained hotel in the heart of down town Ashland that is also just steps away from The Plaza, Lithia Park, the Oregon Shakespeare Festival, theater district, boutique shops and the more than 90 restaurants located within walking distance of our downtown hotel.  We are constantly finding new ways to heighten guest experience and we now have a Tesla high power charging station. The hotel’s comfortable elegance, contemporary style, and personalized service define our approach to hospitality and our guests are assured a truly outstanding experience – from accommodations, to service, to dining and location. Come explore the charm and many cultural activities which Ashland has to offer while staying with us. The Plaza Inn & Suites hotel is the first choice in Ashland, Oregon for an unparalleled lodging experience. The Plaza Inn & Suites is warmly decorated and furnished with a Shakespearean theme throughout the hotel and captures the literary spirit of the area. The beautifully appointed rooms and suites come with complimentary Internet access and premium bedding. Your ultimate comfort and relaxation is our top priority and everything has been designed toward that goal. Guests are treated to a delicious complimentary expanded hot breakfast and evening snacks. The hotel also features a fitness center, convenient parking and a variety of amenities. Need help with anything? Our very own Plaza Inn & Suites Concierge  will be more than happy to assist you in any way possible. Check in to a room with style and substance! Our 92 spacious, non-smoking rooms and suites are beautiful and inviting with a chic, minimalist style providing a restful retreat. Our hotel is pet friendly and your furry friends are allowed in select rooms for a nominal fee. Our accommodations provide a true residential feel with everything you need to make yourself at home in Ashland, Oregon. Be sure to like us on Facebook for specials and events!   ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Inn & Suites At Ashland Creek Hotel Ashland
Plaza Inn And Suites At Ashland Creek
Plaza Hotel Ashland Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing