We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average place with above average prices” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Average place with above average prices”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

I know that it's expensive to stay in Ashland. I get that but if I'm going to pay more, I'd like to get a little more. The plus is that it's clean, location is good and seems to be run efficiently but it's just an average motel. I was only there one night so I didn't take full advantage of the amenities. I'd look around for something else before I stayed here again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ch1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    133
    34
    20
    12
See reviews for
117
157
19
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
300 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

Readers of my hotel reviews know that I frequently complain about hotels that charge 5-star prices and give motor hotel service. This hotel could easily be one of those, but there are several redeeming qualities. First is its location, both on Ashland Creek and within a short walk to the theaters. Some rooms have a creek view. Our room not only had that view, but the sliding glass door opened on to the park going down to the creek. The room was nicely appointed and had one of the most comfortable hotel beds I've slept on. The pillows were great too. If you don't like what's in the room, the have a pillow menu. Then, there is the continental breakfast. You can make your own waffles and they serve omelets. They have a disappointing light snack around 5:00 PM but most excellent cookies at night. You can get wine at the front desk. We will stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for creekside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brimsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SJohnsonGM, General Manager at Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Between the Plaza Inn and Suites ideal location, new bedding and late night snack of cookies and milk, the Plaza Inn and Suites is the perfect get away.


Thank you for reviewing the Plaza Inn and Suites at Ashland Creek. We look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely,
Shannon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle, Idaho
Level Contributor
65 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

This was our first time to stay at this hotel when visiting Ashland for OSF, but it won't be our last. From the minute we arrived, we knew we had made the right decision. Staff was friendly and always quick to offer help or suggestions. Our room was the perfect size with a nice sitting area. There was a coffee bar with a sink, small refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. The bathroom was large with a spa tub and walk in shower. The only complaint we had was the lighting , but management has advised that will be addressed later in the year.

The location was perfect for attending the plays. Also nice to be close to Lithia Park for a morning walk. The grounds are lovely with a nice patio and some tables near the creek. The jig saw puzzle on the lower level is a nice touch.

Breakfast was good, but could be crowded some mornings. There are snacks and sometimes wine in the afternoons. Cookies, milk and PB&J sandwiches are available after the plays.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandgravity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SJohnsonGM, General Manager at Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
The little "extras" definitely make a difference. We are so happy you enjoyed the cookies & milk, peanut butter and jelly sandwiches, grounds and the puzzle room. Look for a new puzzle upon your next stay as well as the goodies that make your stay special.
Thank you again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne Keene
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

We come once a year to see the shows and visit Ashland with the family. We love this place because the location is perfect, they have breakfast, the rooms are large, and it works for a family of four. We have stayed in a variety of other places and always come back to this one.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ykeene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SJohnsonGM, General Manager at Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
We are glad you and your family enjoyed your stay. We know there are many hotels to choose from when staying in Ashland, and are grateful you continue to stay at the Plaza Inn and Suites.
Enjoy your summer and we will see you next year.

Sincerely,

Shannon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

The Plaza Inn is one of the two places I stay when in Ashland. It's location is great for OSF attendees.

Rooms are very nice with no noise issues. Rooms on creekside have a southern exposure, but with the trees along the creek, there's never an issue of the rooms getting too hot. The main building is for guests without pets, and a separate two story building has the pet-friendly rooms.

Housekeeping staff are efficient and friendly. The staff at front desk and in maintenance are also very friendly and efficient.

During high-season, the breakfast room can get crowded and seating unavailable. Trays are provided and the breakfast can be taken up to your room. If your room has a balcony, you can dine al-fresco. Three "meals" are available. Breakfast (toast/juice/hb eggs/cereal/yogurt/waffles (kinda chewy)/omelettes (yummy, but kinda interesting texture), early evening wine/cheese/fruit, and after play cookies/milk/pbj sandwiches. The coffee served (currently Seattle's Best) is much better (darker/more robust) in the dining room than what is supplied in the guest rooms.

I'll continue to book rooms at Plaza Inn.

Room Tip: Creekside view is relaxing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DBA_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

We had a very nice stay at the Plaza Inn. The location couldn't be better. The hotel is located only a few blocks away from the Shakespeare Theater and all of Ashland's main sites, but it does not feel as if it is in the middle of things. The rooms are clean and fairly standard. The hotel offers a nice self-service breakfast that includes warm oatmeal, fruit, cereal, waffles, and pre-made omelettes. Warm drinks, cookies, and peanut butter sandwiches are also available at night, which is a nice treat after a play. My only criticism is that the hotel has only one elevator for 91 rooms (and no service elevator, which means that the staff use it also to move their carts up and down). Also, someone said that they used to have china (now they have moved to paper plates and plastic cups and cutlery, which is not only wasteful, but less appealing).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Experienced_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay at the Plaza Inn and Suites. The location and late night snacks are definitely a favorite for our guests.
The plastic and paper products were a temporary fix to a limited dishwasher, which has since been resolved. I truly apologize for this as we do in fact use silverware and dishware.
I am happy to say the majority of the products used over that time-frame were in fact recycled.
We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Shannon Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamo, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

We absolutely love this hotel! The reception desk is staffed with warm & friendly professionals who are very accommodating to our family. They even have a late-night cookie and PB & J snack...a huge hit with the kids.
The rooms are clean, well-maintained and have a mini-fridge. There is a whirpool spa and a small fitness center. They have vending and laundry on each floor.
What impresses us the most about the Plaza Inn is that while they have the best location is Ashland, they don't rest on their laurels like other hotels with an ideal spot. They really work hard to ensure a clean and comfortable stay. We shall be back!

Room Tip: Top floor with a creek-side view are ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank modmodernist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Plaza Inn and Suites. We strive to exceed our guests' expectations; it appears we did that for you and your family.
We truly enjoy what we do and thank you for being our guests'.

Again, thank you for the compliments and we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Shannon Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ashland hotels
2.8 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ashland Springs Hotel
#6 of 19 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Bard's Inn
Best Western Bard's Inn
#3 of 19 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Windsor Inn
0.6 mi away
Stratford Inn
Stratford Inn
#5 of 19 in Ashland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Ashland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek

Property: Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
Address: 98 Central Ave, Ashland, OR 97520-1787
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Ashland
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ashland
#8 Family Hotel in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelClick and Priceline so you can book your Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Inn & Suites At Ashland Creek Hotel Ashland
Plaza Inn And Suites At Ashland Creek
Plaza Hotel Ashland Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing