We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good sandwiches and soups” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe 116

Cafe 116
Ranked #76 of 153 Restaurants in Ashland
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Description: Cafe 116 combines premium coffee and espresso drinks with fresh and healthy food. Unique for our upstairs kitchen, Cafe 116 makes and bakes all of our breakfast, lunch and pastries items. From traditional French croissants to inspiring soups and quiches, our cafe gives you that place to go for an excellent cappuccino and a delightful healthy meal. We use Blue Bottle Coffee Company's beans from Oakland, California, where organic coffee is roasted in small batches and shipped to us that same day. Cafe 116 is the first coffee shop in Oregon to proudly serve their coffee. Cafe 116 was opened in 2011 by owner Joachim Wald with high hopes to create a vibrant breakfast and lunch cafe in a contemporary setting. Originally from Germany, Joachim spent much of his time in large European cities and brings a bit of their much beloved styles to his cafe. This cafe is perfect for many occasions, a quick bite to eat, sit down with friends or family for breakfast or lunch, a quick latte to go, a coffee business meeting, studying for a test in the calm environment or simply to hang out with your favorite scone or coffee. So come on by and have a cup of coffee with us.
Petersburg, Alaska
Level Contributor
137 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good sandwiches and soups”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

On our second stay in Ashland we stopped here for lunch once more. Everything was very good as was the first time. We had Caprese and turkey + apple sandwiches, a chicken tortilla and Indian dal soups. Service was quick and efficient.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    13
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Off the Plaza Pleasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

How about a comfortable, welcoming place to eat or drink a coffee or meet friends, off the Plaza and away from the rush...this is it. I like the variety of people here, like the group of friends studying Italian, or the varied one-on-one casual business meetings or just me reading the paper and eating a great scone with a very rich latté. Even outside seating with blankets in the winter!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our "go to" coffee shop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

We've not eaten here, besides excellent pastries with coffee, but this is where we get coffee in Ashland. First stop in the morning, and often stop by after lunch or before or after a show. We have never been disappointed, and a variety of drinks and treats, keeps the kids happy. Some new/better furniture would be nice, but otherwise we love this place. There may be other great coffee shops in Ashland, but after finding Cafe 116, we've happily made them part of our visits to OSF.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice Quiet Spot for Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

My wife and I like this spot when we are about to head back to the Bay Area after OSF. it's usually very quiet with a charming atmosphere. The service is good and fast. We had breakfast croissants that were good enough but not great. The croissants were falling apart a bit and were not as light and flaky as I would have liked. Heated in a microwave, perhaps? On the positive side the bacon was delicious. I would stick with the quiche which I've had before and is very good.

The coffee is also very good. We will definitely go back the next time we are in Ashland.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Eugene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
298 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Good bagels and cream cheese, great toast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We ate a light breakfast here twice on our week long stay in Ashland. We enjoyed the toasted bagels with light, tasty cream cheese (which is spread with a heavy hand). I also had a hard boiled egg with some fabulously nutty grain studded bread. Next time I'd order two pieces! Service is at the counter above the eating area, which means that no one discourages hanging out and using the wifi, although it wasn't a very fast cyber service.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank piercesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe 116 also viewed

 

Been to Cafe 116? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing