We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Mediocre for the Price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ashland Springs Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Mediocre for the Price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

I know this is supposedly a "historic"building, but does that mean it has to have chips in the toilet seat, so-so housekeeping, and decor that feels and looks more like my grandmother's old flowery things she has never parted with, versus decor of historic importance? It is old, tiny doors, hard to maneuver the self-cart into the elevator even. But great location, and not many other hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Corner room or you'll be in a closet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HeyJudeOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    196
    44
    24
    10
See reviews for
80
324
42
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Garden Valley, California
Level Contributor
179 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We had a nice large, king room on the top floor. The staff is very accommodating. The continental breakfast in the morning is just average and they have awful coffee, but Starbucks is just down the street. We like this hotel, but they do have a problem with the single pane windows and condensation. It might be time for us to think of staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vickinbobyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkton, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We made reservations for this hotel way in advance and asked for a corner room with view of downtown. Thanksgiving weekend - first time here since my parents passed away. They ASSURED me that we had a corner room reserved - even said we would have a soaker tub. Well, guess what! When we got here the room they gave us is NOT a corner room and the only view we have is of the Post Office parking lot across the street. AND...no soaker tub - a tiny bathroom with a small shower. Oh, and we were charged the same as if we had the corner room! When I questioned this they said there was no guarantee that you would get the room you request - only that you'd get a room. We will NEVER stay here again and suggest that no one else does either. Apparently they know how to TAKE a reservation, but don't know how to KEEP one!

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Libby H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tualatin, Oregon
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

A lovely place to stay when in town for a play, or just to play! Lovely rooms and close to shopping and theaters. We had a delightful dinner at Lark, the restaurant in the hotel, and then walked to the theater. Would recommend this hotel highly!

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank perkytraveler08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

My wife and I were driving through in the middle of the night with our dog and we decided we needed a place to stay. We looked at some hotels in some cities south of Ashland and we didn't like the feel of those places at all. Then, we stumbled upon Ashland Springs. We thought, "There is no way they are going to allow us to stay at a place like with with our 70 pound lab". To our amazement, they allow dogs. It was a beautiful place. Very friendly staff and had a cool classic old feel to it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We had a great room with private bath. Nice breakfast. Great location for OSF. Clean room, great location, comfy bed. Overhead fan. Book early to get a room with a private bath and to get a larger room. We have come here many times and have never been disappointed. Helpful, gracious staff.

Room Tip: Book early to get a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pcmcbride1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
100 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

If you want all the goo-gaws that hotels pack their rooms with these days, this classy ole dame isn't the place for you. If you want to feel like you've stepped back in time to a simpler way of life you've found it! That's why we stay here over and over. Yes, the rooms are small but the ceilings are high, one of us has to stay put for the other to navigate the space but the windows offer magnificent views and abundant light. The furnishings, drapes, etc are fantastic and classy ... and the subway-tiled bathroom and porcelain tub sublime. There's nothing wrong with it being a place "to sleep and not much else", get out and do what people used to do back in the day, enjoy the town, walk in Lithia Park, laze in the lobby, grab an evening snack on the mezzanine, meet other guests at the breakfast buffet. Chill out, turn your electronics off, restore. Love, love, love this elegant diva. Brava!

Room Tip: 816 on north side, views are magnificent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ashland hotels
2.6 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Windsor Inn
0.3 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Stratford Inn
Stratford Inn
#4 of 19 in Ashland
4.0 of 5 stars 504 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn
BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn
#3 of 19 in Ashland
4.0 of 5 stars 673 reviews
13.7 mi away
Green Springs Inn
Green Springs Inn
#7 of 19 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 stars 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashland Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashland Springs Hotel

Property: Ashland Springs Hotel
Address: 212 E Main St, Ashland, OR 97520-1829
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashland Springs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegantly restored 1925 historic landmark in the heart of downtown Ashland offers seventy tastefully appointed, non-smoking guest rooms, Waterstone Spa, English garden,banquet/conference space and Larks Restaurant. Calming colors & decorations evoke an era of relaxed comfort and elegance. Guests are pampered with superb service and luxurious surroundings. Hotel guests enjoy complimentary continental breakfast, afternoon tea with baked treats, discount to hotel's Waterstone Spa, free WiFi and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Ashland Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing