We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (753)
Filter reviews
753 results
Traveler rating
402
244
62
29
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
402
244
62
29
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshistoric hotelcorner roomrooms are smalllarks restauranttallest buildingshakespeare festivalcontinental breakfastbeautiful lobbywaterstone spalithia parkoatmealparking lotsurrounding hillsmiddle of townfront desk staffking roomthird floor
Filter
Updating list...
407 - 412 of 753 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Ashland is a very cute small community on the Cali / Oregon border. There are numerous hotels and even very quaint motels that are available. The hotel is historical and the lobby is beautiful. Its the tallest building in town and the views of the countryside from the higher levels are excellent. However - it is very overpriced and it seems to cater to the geriatric snobbish crowd. My wife and I spent a night on our way back to San Francisco after a long road trip and as we were not dressed in our best we were looked down upon and even treated a bit rudely from the reception.
MY ADVICE - SAVE SOME MONEY, GO SOMEPLACE ELSE

Room Tip: Go with any other place - Ashland is a walkable little town
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nitin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed in a very nice corner suite on the third floor that afforded us a great view of the valley and hills to the east of Ashland. The third floor also happened to be on the same level as the hotel parking lot, as well as the Oregon Shakespeare Festival a block away. Reserving our room a few months ahead of time got us quite a good deal for the money. Due to a medical emergency, I had to move our stay there back nearly a month which actually made the price of our room cheaper, being outside the normal tourist season for Ashland. Judging from the other reviews I've read on this hotel, it is obviously worth paying a little more for a better room.

Room Tip: Staying on the third floor puts you at the same level as the hotel parking lot and the Oregon Shakespeare Festival, making for less uphill and downhill walking.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This hotel has a lot of charm, for those looking for new and squeaky clean...this probably isn't for you. I thought the rooms were nice and well kept. It isn't luxurious but has tons of character to make up for that. The location really makes this an ideal place to stay in Ashland. You can walk to just about everything. The Shakespeare festival, local restaurants and bars, Starbucks, trails, shopping and more!

They offer a basic Continental breakfast included in the room price and parking. The Waterstone Salon and Spa is right next door and has very reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BonoAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are very small, bathrooms are worst. Bathroom had a tiny sink, and a tiny locker room type of shower- just awful. There was so much dust(75yr old hotel) it was on my towels in the bathroom. The parking is atrocious as we had to walk up the hill to our car. The hotel restaurant& bar closes at 8p ( even seniors stay up past 8, so not sure tag reasoning here). After 8 you have to dine or drink elsewhere. And get this fitness lovers-the gym is 4 blocks or more from the hotel. You get a decent workout just walking there(never seen this before), off site gym is very small-not your 24hr fitness at all. Service was friendly but we are never returning just for decent service. Plaza Inn & Suites rescued us from this place, thank
God. Plaza was a very nice change from this mess. My co-worker and I thought Ashland was one of the worst hotels we've stayed, and we love luxury. Don't be fooled by decor-this place is awful.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Toyspr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Great location right in the middle of Ashland so a very short walk to the shops and theatre. Was nice to stay in a non-chain hotel - really saw the difference with some unique touches and clearly a high level of attention to detail has gone into the decor.
Is quite pricey though so really you are paying for that location and the history of the building but I think its worth a try for one night.
One note, if you are getting a room facing the street then expect street noise. I had a very loud delivery truck at about 5am.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine-Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews