We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This just might be the best place to stay in Ashland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ashland Springs Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence
Portland Oregon
Level Contributor
83 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“This just might be the best place to stay in Ashland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We've stayed at the Ashland Springs Hotel many times (and even back to years gone by when it was the Mark Anthony). We love to go back as often as we can. Everything is good about this hotel -- the staff, the décor, the comfortable rooms (although, admittedly, a bit small). I especially love the use of "Monet yellow" everywhere -- walls, draperies, furniture -- it's elegant and comforting at the same time.
The best thing about the hotel is its location. Right in the middle of downtown Ashland, & only a short block to the central plaza of the Oregon Shakespeare Festival. There are great restaurants all around town, including the hotel's own Lark Home Kitchen Cuisine. Good shopping in downtown Ashland, too. We always run out of time!
There are a couple other very upscale (& more expensive) hotels in Ashland, which we haven't tried, and of course numerous B&B's. But I think I will always be of the opinion that the Ashland Springs Hotel just might be the best place to stay in this delightful little town!

Room Tip: 1 - Book a King room & you will get a little more floor space. 2 - Free parking in the back lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    196
    44
    24
    10
See reviews for
80
324
42
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
102 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Always wanted to stay here and did this time. Our first room was not too nice - right next to the aircon plant, but we complained and next two nights we were upgraded to a corner suite. Can't fault that.

Room Tip: Oops. No pool. Ignore that in my rating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AL89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

My rating of this lovely hotel in the fall of 2012 was in error. I mistakenly rated it 1 star, when it is a wonderful old hotel right in the midst of the Shakespeare Festival. The location couldn't be better and the service was wonderful. I don't know what happened when I entered the stars, but this is a GREAT hotel!

Room Tip: Sorry. Unable to correct my rating, but the swimming pool is NOT terrible, I don't think there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This was our first trip to Ashland, and this our first stay at the Ashland Springs hotel. A gorgeous old building, and nicely updated, so it didn't feel antiquated, just older. The lobby, with it's potted palms, ceiling fans and naturalist exhibits just needed Sidney Greenstreet in a wicker chair to be complete. The continental breakfast in the morning was excellent, and the late night snack with tea, lemonade and cookies was a really nice touch.

The room itself was in the back of the hotel, with a decent, though not stellar view. While the room was small-ish (not unexpected given the age of the building) the queen-sized bed was comfortable, the bathroom was modern and worked great, and everything was spotless. Slept wonderfully, despite all the ash in the air from the nearby forest fires.

The front desk staff and concierge were very helpful with restaurant tips, Shakespeare Festival info and other stuff to do. Would return here in a heart-beat.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeTPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhope, Alabama
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This is an older building that has been fairly modenized without causing it to lose its historic charm. Also probably the nicest hotel in the area although I have only been twice. Conveniently located in downtown but close enough to the forest to walk and take a run through it. The front desk staff was incredibly polite and helpful. Also has great views from the upper floor rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hotelsnob6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

What a great place to stay in Southern Oregon! We were passing thru and needed a place to stay. We got a great rate and really enjoyed this historic hotel. The room was immaculate, very comfortable and decorated nice. It is a little on the small side, but not unreasonably small.

The breakfast isn't amazing, but it's free!

Parking is free and you are right in downtown.

I'm not sure we would pay the advertised price, but for the rate we got, it was well worth it!

We will definitely come back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

During our two week trip through Oregon, Washington, and California, we had the opportunity to spend two nights in room 323 at the Ashland Springs Hotel. It was wonderful!

The front desk staff was helpful and friendly, providing a welcoming environment and seemed genuinely pleased to have us in the hotel. Even when we accidentally stayed an extra night (we thought we had booked two nights but through a typo had only booked one) they did not make us feel bad at all and went the extra mile to keep us in our room.

Room 323 is at the back of the hotel. It was quiet and comfortable. This is an old hotel, so the room was not big, and the bathroom had only a shower, no tub; however, there was real tile, and plenty of water pressure. There was a writing desk, chair with lamp, television, and refrigerator. Wi-fi was available in the room and included in the price of the room.

The hotel serves cookies, popcorn, lemonade, and tea from 9:00 p.m. until midnight which worked out well for those of us seeing shows at the Shakespeare festival. Speaking of the festival, you can't go wrong staying here because it is within walking distance of the festival. We parked our car and did not move it until we left Ashland.

Breakfast was included. It was a continental breakfast with cereal, yogurt, toast, and fresh fruit. Nothing fancy, but it was enough to start the day.

If you want to step back in time to the grandeur of the 1920s, we highly recommend staying at the Ashland Springs Hotel, and we will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ctn66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ashland hotels
2.6 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Windsor Inn
0.3 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Stratford Inn
Stratford Inn
#4 of 19 in Ashland
4.0 of 5 stars 505 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn
BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn
#3 of 19 in Ashland
4.0 of 5 stars 673 reviews
13.7 mi away
Green Springs Inn
Green Springs Inn
#7 of 19 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 stars 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashland Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashland Springs Hotel

Property: Ashland Springs Hotel
Address: 212 E Main St, Ashland, OR 97520-1829
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashland Springs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegantly restored 1925 historic landmark in the heart of downtown Ashland offers seventy tastefully appointed, non-smoking guest rooms, Waterstone Spa, English garden,banquet/conference space and Larks Restaurant. Calming colors & decorations evoke an era of relaxed comfort and elegance. Guests are pampered with superb service and luxurious surroundings. Hotel guests enjoy complimentary continental breakfast, afternoon tea with baked treats, discount to hotel's Waterstone Spa, free WiFi and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Ashland Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing