We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Ashland Springs Hotel is a great place to stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ashland Springs Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ashland Springs Hotel to your Saves list
Ashland Springs Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   212 East Main Street, Ashland, OR 97520   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence
Chilliwack, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Ashland Springs Hotel is a great place to stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel for the passed few years while attending the Oregon Shakespeare Festival and really enjoyed our stay. It is close to everything we needed. The rooms are small but comfortable. Clean and very friendly staff. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AstridBe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    195
    43
    22
    9
See reviews for
79
319
41
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Gi Gi the Concierge at this Hotel is absolutely fabulous.She arranged a last minute private wine tasting for myself and my father. It was both elegant and an incredible bargain. She also made several dining recommendations that were all outstanding. Our Room was on the small side as are almost all rooms in older historical hotels. However it was elegantly appointed and glisteningly clean. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. If you are staying in Ashland this is by far the best hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

PERFECT location if you're a theater goer! It's a 1-2 minute walk from the back door of the hotel to OSF. Room was a nice size and pretty, and the bed was very comfy. Views are probably beautiful from the front, but we looked out back onto the parking lot and hills. The continental breakfast was served in the hotel's restaurant (nice atmosphere) and was tasty.

Unfortunately, service and maintenance were lacking given the room price. On check-in, staff was unfriendly and never brought an extra luggage rack after two phone calls requesting one and two promises on their part to bring one. Service improved greatly on day 2, though. We thought we were going to need to change rooms, which was a result of my booking an extra night later and would have been no problem. Day 2 staff was able to keep us in the same room and also sent up another luggage rack in about 15 minutes, apologizing profusely for the previous day's lack of service. As for the room, two lightbulbs were out, there were places in the bathroom that could have been cleaner, and a drop of water fell from the vent in the bathroom ceiling every 10 seconds. No big deal, but it did seem that corners were being cut a bit. It wasn't the five star experience I was hoping for, but still overall an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WestCoastTrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Yes, the rooms are smallish in this gem of a hotel harkening back to a gentler era, but the rate is comparable to a B&B and also includes an ample continental breakfast buffet with plenty of fresh fruit and coffee that's considerably better than what's served in most hotels. (I actually wanted a second cup.) The Oregon Shakespeare Festival theaters are a few blocks away and easily walkable.

A $30 flat fee (not "per night") also allows your pooch to stay with you on the third floor, which has a rear hillside exit onto side streets for "walks" — much more convenient than always going downstairs through the lobby. The hotel staff — and especially housekeepers — make a point of greeting four-footed guests and seem unperturbed by the occasional bark.

The Ashland Springs Hotel has some of the best customer service (including the front desk, service employees, adjoining spa personnel, and restaurant wait staff) that I've run across. Thank you for making me feel like a GUEST rather than a customer.

Room Tip: If you're here over the 4th of July, ask for a room on Main Street so you can watch the parade f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This is a beautiful old hotel that has been restored. We had a king room & though our room was on the small side, it was very comfortable. They serve a nice continental breakfast in the morning in their dining room. Fruit was fresh, coffee plentiful & muffins tasty.

Room Tip: We were on a higher floor which was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie_Linn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcata, CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

You can park your car for free and you won't need to get into it again until you leave. Everything is nearby and I felt very comfortable walking everywhere. The rooms are small, but are clean and have all the necessities. The air conditioning kept the room comfortable. The breakfasts of fruit juice, coffee, fresh fruit, muffins, hard boiled eggs and oatmeal provide a good start to the day. The restaurant, Larks, is known for good food, but if you don't have reservations you could get stuck eating out on the sidewalk in the heat--kind of ruins what could have been a great meal. No room service.

Room Tip: My room on the third floor facing the street had a nice view of the town and the surrounding mountai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J2S2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
407 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

I had to be in Ashland for 2 nights. Decent hotel with a great lobby and staff. The room (mine was 512) is unusually small. While I understand the hotel is old there is no reason for a room to be 100 sq ft +,-. Also there is no room service but many restaurants close by.l ll'

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MikeLudin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ashland hotels
2.6 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Windsor Inn
0.3 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn
BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn
#4 of 19 in Ashland
4.0 of 5 stars 657 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stratford Inn
Stratford Inn
#5 of 19 in Ashland
4.0 of 5 stars 490 reviews
13.7 mi away
Green Springs Inn
Green Springs Inn
#7 of 19 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 stars 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashland Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashland Springs Hotel

Property: Ashland Springs Hotel
Address: 212 East Main Street, Ashland, OR 97520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashland Springs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegantly restored 1925 historic landmark in the heart of downtown Ashland offers seventy tastefully appointed, non-smoking guest rooms, Waterstone Spa, English garden,banquet/conference space and Larks Restaurant. Calming colors & decorations evoke an era of relaxed comfort and elegance. Guests are pampered with superb service and luxurious surroundings. Hotel guests enjoy complimentary continental breakfast, afternoon tea with baked treats, discount to hotel's Waterstone Spa, free WiFi and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Orbitz, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Ashland Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing