We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant getaway in a beautiful town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Northern CA
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Elegant getaway in a beautiful town”
Reviewed May 9, 2008

This historial building in downtown Ashland, Oregon is stunning. The grandeur of the decor is breathtaking. There is european elegance in the chandeliers, potted ferns, ceiling fans, bamboo mirrors, huge armoire, high ceilings and cushy bed linens that takes you away to a quiet, peaceful state of mind. The sweeping views from the nine storied building of this gem of a city tucked in the green hills of Southern Oregon is awe inspiring. The food is fabulous....how many times can you call a continental breakfast in a hotel THAT?! It is like being swept away to the life of a world traveler; My dream would be to sit in the corner of that room watching the city unfold beneath me, and write a novel. Do yourself a favor and visit this wonderful place.

  • Liked — The fabulous view, huge bed, wonderful shower. Elegant simple decor.
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank flwergrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    224
    56
    27
    11
See reviews for
92
381
47
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2008

The location is fantastic, smack dab in the center of the shopping area. Very close to the park also.
The front lobby was glorious. The rooms on the other hand were just tiny. We stayed at a motel in Bend for half the price with double the size and many more amenities.
Only a few feet distance between the bed and the wall. No coffee making facilities.

  • Liked — location, lobby
  • Disliked — room size and price
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank light_spirited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2008

The reviews on this hotel thus far appeared to me as mostly accurate, and the wireless is fixed. We enjoyed nearly everything about this property, here's why:

I pestered the front desk (anonymously) on at least 4 occasions with questions about "a swimming pool?" (no) an exercise room (no) wireless? (yes!) a DVD player (no) and some promotional offers (yes!) and they were polite and personable every call. There was a young man at the front desk named Craig who I never met but did a wonderful job of patiently answering all my phone questions.

Check in was a breeze. Employees were friendly, courteous paying attention and accountable. Isn't that a rare find??? The lobby is beautiful with original stained glass windows, and old world styling.

Room 816, a corner room on the 8th floor we found to be immaculate and superb with a nice view of the valley. I looked hard for dirt or wear and tear - couldn't find anything. Fresh!!!

There were nice touches in the room, including a flat panel display and some comforts.

Breakfast had plenty, the hotel was spotless and the location perfect.

We did a "Romance Package" and the coupons were indeed happily accepted at many of the finer restaurants of the area.

The Hotel's restaurant, Larks, was pleasant and delicious.

On the down side - some minor notes:

I had wished for some fresh air in the room but the windows are inoperable - on the 8th floor perhaps understandably so.

The bed sagged toward the middle - on the border of needing replaced, but still comfy.

Our quilt had a dirty spot on day one and was replaced upon request. I wouldn't mention it but some other review noticed the something similar.

And (I feel) perhaps most importantly - the parking area behind the hotel accesses the hotel on the third floor's south side via a hallway. Adjacent to that hallway would not be a hospitable place to stay due to the extra traffic and noise of baggage. Insist on staying elsewhere.

Aren't you glad you read TripAdvisor? !!!!

  • Liked — It is about percieved value for me - this one rates.
  • Disliked — Who ordered snow on spring break anyway????
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank bfrazier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2008

The feel of the great Raffles hotel in Singapore. Yes, small room, but we only paid $79. Great beds, nice services, good restaurant (Larks), but their wireless internet is something they could not fix during the three days I stayed there. Had to go to the local bookstore. Small thing to fix you would think..............

  • Liked — downtown location, ambiance
  • Disliked — wiresless internet was useless
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nancy_duarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calif
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2008

This is a very nice old-style elegant hotel right in the middle of town. Bed was very comfortable and room was spacious. The only downside was that the thermostat didn't seem to work as the room was too warm, even when the heat was turned off.

A continental breakfast was included - just the usual things like toast, muffins, scones, bagels, yogurt, oj, coffee, tea.

We had a delightful dinner at the hotel restaurant, Larks. Food was very good and service was attentive.

  • Liked — comfortable beds and quiet room
  • Disliked — broken thermostat
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bigpenny34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, OR
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2008

As a business traveler I am hesitant to stay in boutique hotels. They very rarely understand my needs. After traveling through Ashland several times I decided to give in to curiosity and stay the the Ashland Springs. Wow! What an experience! The room, while small, was clean and comfortable. The bed was great and the staff was very friendly. I would recommend the Ashland Springs to anyone staying in Ashland!

  • Liked — Almost everything
  • Disliked — rooms a little small
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milljame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orland, CA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2007

What a wonderful hotel with antique charm. I had read reviews about the rooms being too small but we went with a king room and had lts of space. The thing people must realize is that this place is a historic landmark. The smaller rooms, slow elevator and other things people complain about are all part of what makes this hotel different and special. If you want modern, go stay at a hotel near the interstate. If you really want to experience Ashland, stay here. The restaurant in the hotel, The Lark, was fabulous. Also, treat yourself to a massage across the street at the Waterstone Spa.

  • Liked — The charm
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank FishFireGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ashland hotels
0.3 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
2.6 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Stratford Inn
Stratford Inn
#4 of 19 in Ashland
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Best Western Windsor Inn
0.3 mi away
Best Western Bard's Inn
Best Western Bard's Inn
#3 of 19 in Ashland
791 reviews
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Ashland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashland Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashland Springs Hotel

Property: Ashland Springs Hotel
Address: 212 E Main St, Ashland, OR 97520-1829
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashland Springs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegantly restored 1925 historic landmark in the heart of downtown Ashland offers seventy tastefully appointed, non-smoking guest rooms, Waterstone Spa, English garden,banquet/conference space and Larks Restaurant. Calming colors & decorations evoke an era of relaxed comfort and elegance. Guests are pampered with superb service and luxurious surroundings. Hotel guests enjoy complimentary continental breakfast, afternoon tea with baked treats, discount to hotel's Waterstone Spa, free WiFi and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Ashland Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing