We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“I am a regular visitor” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ashland Springs Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I am a regular visitor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

We have been traveling between homes in San Francisco and Portland for many years, and attending the Shakespeare festival off and on for at least 30 years. In the old days (before the rehab), when ASH was was called The Mark Anthony (informally, The Bates Motel), we stayed there with our teen aged children who loved the place. Now that we are older and the hotel is updated and really charming, they treat us like old friends. Many of the rooms are small, so we always try for a King Room. Excellent breakfast is included. We always eat at Larks restaurant, which in my opinion is the best dinner in town, and we have tried them all. This is our favorite place to stay in Ashland, whether attending OSF or just passing through for the evening when driving between our homes.

Room Tip: Third floor for easy access to parking. Higher floors 7 through 9 are quietest. King rooms are dec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    207
    53
    25
    11
See reviews for
85
349
45
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

My partner and I have stayed at this beautiful hotel twice now and have enjoyed our stay each time. The staff are lovely and super friendly, breakfast is good and held on the beautiful mezzanine level overlooking the lobby. The bed was very comfortable however quite small. We have stayed in the king room (which seemed like a queen size bed) and the queen room (which was a double size bed- very small). The rooms are very small and the bathrooms are tiny! The shower in the queen suite was almost unusable as it was so small. We would happily stay here again as I believe it is the best option in Ashland however wish the rooms were a bit larger.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AJF90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

My husband and I shared a traditional king size room, and the bed took up most of the room! It is not a place for people who hang out in their rooms...because of the size of the older hotel rooms, people used to hang out in the very comfortable lobby, maybe by the fireplace in a cushy couch or comfortable chair. It's an acceptable spot to socialize or people-watch without being alone in your room. Love it! Hotel lobbies should be so inviting!

The bed was VERY comfortable, with stacks of pillows. And the location can't be beat for attending the Shakespeare festival; it's a short walk to anywhere in downtown Ashland. If you moderate your modern expectations towards huge rooms with spacious bathrooms, you'll enjoy one of the best hotels in Ashland.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lyricdancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood
Level Contributor
124 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was our second visit to the Ashland Springs Hotel and we procured it via a Travelzoo coupon. What a deal! Not only is the hotel historic, beautiful and beautifully decorated, but the staff is so friendly and helpful. We inquired about checking in early so we could lock valuables in our room before attending an OSF play. Our room was not ready, but they kindly asked if they could put us in a king room one floor lower. This would be my hotel choicel every year when I attend OSF because of location, ambience, beauty, the perfect bed, and the yummy breakfast with lots of fresh, unsugared Marion berries!!! Our complimentary Waterstone Spa certificate was a delightful introduction to a treat we will incorporate in our next visit to Ashland.

Room Tip: A corner room will give you tons of light through large windows facing in two directions. We faced b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

A recent trip to the Oregon Shakespeare Festival in Ashland led me to this historic hotel in the downtown area. In the 60's it was called The Mark Anthony, but has undergone a renovation. The facade and outer shell of the hotel is the same as it has appeared for years, but the inside has changed. There is no bar where it was originally, having been changed to a banquet room which saw no usage during my stay. The lobby has been refreshed and is beautiful. My room, however, did have a few problems. One night, the smoke detector above the bed began loudly beeping at 11 p.m. and had to be taken care of at that hour. A man was dispatched, but his ladder was too short, and although he tried to get it down, he was not able to and pulled the unit out of the ceiling, thereby taking care of the noise, but not able to fix the unit until the next day. The sink plug was broken, the shower curtain was broken off some of the hooks, and the curtain in the bedroom was also askew. The hotel is in a wonderfully central location for the theatres, is clean, and has a nice little breakfast. I felt that perhaps the routine maintence was not as well taken care of as it should have been. I would not choose the hotel again, given the wide choice of accommodation in Ashland.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trabelbug2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Pine, Oregon
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Nice, luxury accommodations in the heart of town. Quiet, romantic and charming - although standard rooms are a bit small for two people. The adjoining Lark Restaurant is also a very good dinner choice. Very good service all around.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richard s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

This historic hotel in downtown Ashland, OR has had a complete restoration. Our corner room was smallish and comfortable with a king bed, a small loveseat, and a desk. Everything was nicely decorated. Shops and restaurants are close on the same street. The hotel restaurant is a quality dining experience. We were there on a weeknight and it was full.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gypsy33117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ashland hotels
2.6 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Windsor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn
BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn
#3 of 19 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stratford Inn
Stratford Inn
#5 of 19 in Ashland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
13.7 mi away
Green Springs Inn
Green Springs Inn
#7 of 19 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashland Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashland Springs Hotel

Property: Ashland Springs Hotel
Address: 212 East Main Street, Ashland, OR 97520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashland Springs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegantly restored 1925 historic landmark in the heart of downtown Ashland offers seventy tastefully appointed, non-smoking guest rooms, Waterstone Spa, English garden,banquet/conference space and Larks Restaurant. Calming colors & decorations evoke an era of relaxed comfort and elegance. Guests are pampered with superb service and luxurious surroundings. Hotel guests enjoy complimentary continental breakfast, afternoon tea with baked treats, discount to hotel's Waterstone Spa, free WiFi and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Ashland Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing