We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Anniversary Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ashland Springs Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Anniversary Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Beautiful elegant hotel. Very well restored. We enjoyed our stay, which was for our anniversary, very much. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The morning breakfast was very good and relaxing..not a bunch of kids running around, etc. Our room was a little small, but was actually perfect for the two of us. The only thing was that there wasn't any bathroom counter space, but a small glass shelf running the length of the bathroom made it workable. We would definitely return is the future.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the upper floors with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JimO1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    195
    43
    22
    9
See reviews for
79
319
41
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

We have been to this hotel and enjoyed it much better without our dog. The reason: the pet friendly rooms required a compromise.

Our rooms in the past have been roomy (well roomy for this type of boutique hotel). They have had charming bathrooms that felt airy.

So we took our dog unaware that we would have to stay on the third floor. Our prt friendly room was much smaller and bordered on hilariously compact. The bathroom was pure ridiculousness.

Either way, the hotel is nice and tries to be more upscale than it really is. It strives and that alone makes it a place I like. Just leave your dog at home to avoid of these rooms.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OregonMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We pass through Ashland en route to the Bay area several times a year. We ALWAYS choose the Ashland Springs Hotel for our overnight stay. The sunny yellows, the framed botanicals, a roaring fire, and super friendly staff make for an inviting welcome and relaxed stay each and every time. The rooms are European in size, owing to the nearly 100 year old age of the building. Top-of-the-line linens and amenities, immaculate housekeeping, and a tasty breakfast more than make up for the loss of a few square feet. The hotel is in the heart of downtown Ashland so walking to everything is easy and pleasurable. The restaurant Amuse and retail shop Prize are within blocks and are not to be missed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cjmac80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This beautiful hotel, circa 1925 is in the heart of the city of Ashland. The hotel personnel are very accommodating with all your needs. The rooms are small but have been recently refurbished and very comfortable with every amenity you would need for a comfortable stay. We had a sixth floor room with beautiful views. For such a small area, the room was laid out so that everything was easily accessible and the bathroom was very nice, however, it doesn't have a heater, and because it was winter, a bit chilly. I wish we could have stayed longer to explore the downtown, but 20 degree weather did not permit it at this time. We will stay again and have time to explore.

Room Tip: Try for an upper floor with views to east.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cbatzler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We've stayed at the Ashland Springs Hotel a number of times while enjoying the OSF. It is just so central to everything in the town it makes the visit so simple. You are literally steps from the festival and all the good restaurants and shopping. A superb location. The amenity areas of the hotel are so beautiful and rich in the history of the area. The building deserves its designation and one of America's top heritage buildings. The breakfast is a treat and moving it into the restaurant from the mezzanine balcony was overdue. The only downside to the hotel is the rooms, which are very small. While this provides a European "charm", if you are looking for something spacious, you will be disappointed. In Ashland, who spend time in their room anyway?

Room Tip: Higher floors offer spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClintH224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, CA.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Ashland Springs is a DEAL in the off season. This stately old building - perhaps the tallest in Ashland - is well appointed, clean and has good wifi coverage. We streamed a movie off PBS after dinner with no rebuffering, but as I said, this is the off season and there were not many people in the hotel.
Speaking of dinner, the Leaf Restaurant attached to the hotel is an art deco gem with great locally sourced and innovative dishes, served by a knowledgeable and gracious staff. Everyone worked as a team and my wife and I had a wonderful multi-wine experience.
We were "just passing through" on our way to Portland, but staying at the Ashland Springs proved a relaxing break on a long drive. There was no comparison with similarly priced choices from other hotels in the area. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: High floors (up to 9) have views all around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JSchuessler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ashland hotels
2.6 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Windsor Inn
0.3 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn
BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn
#4 of 19 in Ashland
4.0 of 5 stars 661 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stratford Inn
Stratford Inn
#5 of 19 in Ashland
4.0 of 5 stars 490 reviews
13.7 mi away
Green Springs Inn
Green Springs Inn
#8 of 19 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 stars 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashland Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashland Springs Hotel

Property: Ashland Springs Hotel
Address: 212 East Main Street, Ashland, OR 97520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashland Springs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegantly restored 1925 historic landmark in the heart of downtown Ashland offers seventy tastefully appointed, non-smoking guest rooms, Waterstone Spa, English garden,banquet/conference space and Larks Restaurant. Calming colors & decorations evoke an era of relaxed comfort and elegance. Guests are pampered with superb service and luxurious surroundings. Hotel guests enjoy complimentary continental breakfast, afternoon tea with baked treats, discount to hotel's Waterstone Spa, free WiFi and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your Ashland Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing