We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a truly special place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Reviewed January 8, 2008

As a business traveler I am hesitant to stay in boutique hotels. They very rarely understand my needs. After traveling through Ashland several times I decided to give in to curiosity and stay the the Ashland Springs. Wow! What an experience! The room, while small, was clean and comfortable. The bed was great and the staff was very friendly. I would recommend the Ashland Springs to anyone staying in Ashland!

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank milljame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (691)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

647 - 653 of 691 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2007

What a wonderful hotel with antique charm. I had read reviews about the rooms being too small but we went with a king room and had lts of space. The thing people must realize is that this place is a historic landmark. The smaller rooms, slow elevator and other things people complain about are all part of what makes this hotel different and special. If you want modern, go stay at a hotel near the interstate. If you really want to experience Ashland, stay here. The restaurant in the hotel, The Lark, was fabulous. Also, treat yourself to a massage across the street at the Waterstone Spa.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank FishFireGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2007

My husband and I just returned from a visit to Ashland and on this trip we stayed at the Ashland Springs Hotel. We did book the small deluxe queen room, as yes it was small, but not uncomfortably so. We were on the 8th floor and had a beautiful view of downtown Ashland all decorated for Christmas. Our bed was comfortable, nice robes and the bathroom a good size. Included in the price is a continenal breakfast (cereal, hardboiled eggs, scones, yogart, bagels, juice, fresh fruit, etc.) and also free parking. On our next visit, if a king room was available we would book it instead of the queen room.

For dinner we walked 1/2 block and had a delicious dinner at DragonFly, a new restaurant in Ashland.

Already, we are planning a return visit to The Ashland Springs Hotel.

Stayed: December 2007
Thank mauisun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2007

I loved this hotel on my first visit to Ashland in the '70s, and made a point to stay on my recent trip through town. The major restoration has paid off handsomely. The rooms are charming but benefit from the updating -- particularly the addition of air conditioning!

Even so, one has to accept the realities of an historic property such as this. Rooms are exceptionally small, the elevator is cramped and slow, and there are some other quirks. But there are also many charms that come with age. Whenever I was in the lobby I heard the front desk staff explaining to callers that the rooms are small in this historic hotel. People should therefore not be surprised or disappointed, but arrive expecting to find what's advertised.

The continental breakfast buffet is served on the vestibule on the second floor overlooking the lobby. I enjoyed oatmeal, yogurt and juice.

My original Queen room was claustrophibically small -- just enough space to squeeze around the bed, and one small window. It was worth it to pay more for the largest King room on the top floor with a view of the entire valley. It would have been nice to have fresh air but the windows didn't open. The decor in the room, as throughout the hotel, features botanicals and bird prints celebrating the beautiful natural environment of Lithia Park just down the street. The bathroom is updated with modern pedastal sink and toilet, and an adequate shower.

The one serious drawback is that the bedding wasn't fresh. Clean sheets, yes. But all the other bedding was decidedly not fresh. I doubt that it has been cleaned or replaced in decades. There is an accumulated body odor to the pillows, blankets and mattress pads that no amount of clean sheets can mask. No wonder they give you the lavendar sachet on the pillows. Too little, though, to counter the odors of the ages that permeate the bedding.

This is a charming, historic property and one of the nicest places to stay in Ashland. If the would freshen the rooms with new pillows, blankets and mattress pads the experience would be much more pleasant.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank ocnative1874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2007

A last minute get a way trip. Have never really spent anytime in Ashland, even though I drive by it all the time. The hotel was about the last place that had any rooms available. Very nice old hotel that has gone under an extensive remodel. Ate dinner in the adjoining restaurant, Lark, which was very good. Hotel was a bit expensive but for a special trip, honeymoon, get away weekend it was prefect.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2007

The hotel is close and parking is convenient. You just walk out the back door, across the parking area and you are at the theatres. . We walked everywhere. We ate lunch in the Lark restaurant which is in the hotel and was good. We like the rooms and don't mind the slow elevator-. We have stayed at this hotel during other trips we made to Ashland and if you don't mind a few problems its a good hotel to stay at for convenience.

Our problems occurred when we found people in our room as they had been given the key by the front desk staff. They were surprised to find other peoples items in the room they had been assigned and we were surprised to find strangers in our room after we returned from going to Medford.
We also found that the internet did not work and they were not helpful in figuring out the problem while we were there.
And we were given 1 price before we checked in, another price at check in and then a higher price at check out.

  • Stayed: October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jones13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2007

We booked just one night at the hotel, which was a very good thing. The room was sooo small. I had read reviews of this being the case but I did not realize just how caustrophobic it would feel.There was a queen bed that had 2 feet of clearance on the three sides. The TV was an older model and also very small.

My husband is way over 6 feet and he could barely fit into the shower. The drain was sluggish and we were standing in ankle deep water toward the end of the shower. Yuck.

There was no coffee service in the room. I should have done more research because that is a must for us. The hotel provides coffee starting at 6 am and had a small breakfast buffet from 7 am to 10 am. It was so crowded that we ended up not staying for it. So it was not the best experience. I should add that the staff we came across were all friendly. The hotel was very quiet. Parking was free and plentiful, a rare thing these days. We ate lunch at Lark's the hotel restaurant before we checked in. It was great. We should have waited though because we were given a discount coupon for Larks when we checked in.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mrskc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ashland hotels
0.3 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
2.6 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Stratford Inn
Stratford Inn
#4 of 19 in Ashland
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Best Western Windsor Inn
0.3 mi away
Best Western Bard's Inn
Best Western Bard's Inn
#3 of 19 in Ashland
851 reviews
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Ashland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashland Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashland Springs Hotel

Address: 212 E Main St, Ashland, OR 97520-1829
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Price Range: $91 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashland Springs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegantly restored 1925 historic landmark in the heart of downtown Ashland offers seventy tastefully appointed, non-smoking guest rooms, Waterstone Spa, English garden,banquet/conference space and Larks Restaurant. Calming colors & decorations evoke an era of relaxed comfort and elegance. Guests are pampered with superb service and luxurious surroundings. Hotel guests enjoy complimentary continental breakfast, afternoon tea with baked treats, discount to hotel's Waterstone Spa, free WiFi and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Ashland Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing