We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic, comfortable hotel and restaurant with outstanding staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Historic, comfortable hotel and restaurant with outstanding staff”
Reviewed December 26, 2011

We stayed at this beautiful and historic hotel located in downtown Ashland. There is a very good restaurant (Lark's) in the hotel. The food was quite good and the service outstanding. The employees are a pleasure to interact with.
Breakfast is included with the hotel stay, typical hard boiled egg, pastries, yogurt, cereals, juice, etc.
There is a special relationship with a spa across the street, unfortunately we stayed at the hotel on Christmas eve, so the spa was closed when we checked in and the following day due to the holiday.
I found the hotel to be reasonably priced and very much a jewel. We will stay there in April when we pass through again.
Our room was the two queen bed suite, the bathroom was modern and clean.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    226
    57
    26
    11
See reviews for
95
382
47
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Austin
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2011

Stayed there on Xmas day in 2011. Had dinner at the restaurant (booked 7 months in advance). Dinner on Xmas was beyond belief quite lovely. Very reasonably priced too.

Hotel room was good, was on 8th floor. Nice view of mountains/hills behind the hotel.

The hotel staff seem a little inexperienced. A little annoying but not the end of the world. the waitstaff in the restaurant were quite good, though.

Would I stay again? Probably not, but only b/c i don't like old hotels like that and the hotel seemed a little inflexible...

Room Tip: high floor. book early. prepay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank profwho88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Cedro, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 13, 2011

I surprised my boyfriend with a two night stay here for his birthday. Now every time we think about getting out of town, we make reservations here! The staff was wonderful, the room: beautiful, the food was excellent, and photo opportunities were endless! Love the Ashland Springs!!!

Room Tip: Even the least expensive rooms are beautiful and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandySummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2011

This is an elegant, colonial style hotel, right on the High Street in the middle of town. The reception area is particularly inviting, with a roaring (gas log) fire, atmospheric smell of wood smoke, and ceiling fans. Both the receptionist and concierge were particularly helpful.
Our room looked out over the High Street with views across to snow capped mountains on two sides. The room was compact (no room to open two suitcases at once) but well equipped. The bathroom was decidedly chilly but otherwise good and with plenty of space for toiletries.
There was a bit of noise from the street the first night - not too loud, but some wailing and some rubbish trucks, so i'd suggest leaving the air conditioning on overnight to mask this for a good night's sleep.
Breakfast was poor and was served on the mezzanine. It consisted of a self service buffet of cereal, thick oatmeal, hard boiled eggs, cold milk, various sweet cakes or pastries and halved bananas, wrapped in clingfilm. However perhaps this is a typical breakfast style in the area because we tried and failed to find better elsewhere.
The restaurant has a good reputation and we enjoyed both a lunch and a dinner there. Fresh local ingredients were prominent and again, staff friendly and helpful.

And while there do go down to the Lithia Park, sample the water from the Lithia Fountain and walk up through the park, following the stream. A really pretty stroll, especially in October when the Autumn colours were outstanding.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bethbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2011

Only an overnight stay, but what a treat. Yes, the rooms are not huge, but they are very comfortable and very well furnished with a very nice bed. Free WiFi is available.
Hotel staff including the concierge were plaesant and helpful.
Would return again. Road noise minimum in corner room. Walking distance to many restaurants.

Room Tip: Corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peteb301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2011

This hotel feels authentic. The restoration cleaned and updated it, yet kept the original feel (though I wasn't here in the 1920s, but would imagine it was similar). It is very nice, but not uber posh. Our room was on the 9th floor, on a corner, so it was light and offered a great view of the hills and the town below.
The bed was very comfortable and the sheets of great quality. The staff was helpful.
The decor is mostly vintage bird pictures and pressed flowers and leaves. Bird and nature folks will love it. Especially bird and nature and vintage folks will love it. This is the place to take them.
Nice details are found here, like each room door has one of those old-fashioned brass hands to hold notes.
The elevator is on the small side and a bit slow, but works. This is a place to absorb the old-style hotel charm.
The lobby holds a large collection of birds, eggs, nests, and seashells. Many vintage prints and pressed flowers cover the walls all over the hotel.
It just has a nice feel about it.

Room Tip: Room 910 has a great view. It's on the corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jingwell_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

The hotel has a superb location, great free breakfast, pleasant staff and a superb restaurant. However, when my friend and I went to get a massage at the site connected to the hotel, I had a HORRIBLE experience. I came close to passing out in the Japanese soaking tub. If my friend hadn't been with me, I would have faintedt in the tub and sunk beneath the water. I was literally paper-white and shaking when my friend ran to get the receptionist. There was no sign about how to turn on the fan, and it was very counterintuitive. I asked for a reduction in price on the massage as my experience had been ruined and it had taken me a long time to recover. They gave me a 5% reduction. Later I found that at least 2 people had the same experience and had requested a sign be posted. No sign was posted when I was there. Remember my warning!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindyblou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ashland hotels
0.3 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
2.6 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
2.7 mi away
Best Western Windsor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Bard's Inn
Best Western Bard's Inn
#3 of 19 in Ashland
808 reviews
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Ashland
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ashland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashland Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashland Springs Hotel

Property: Ashland Springs Hotel
Address: 212 E Main St, Ashland, OR 97520-1829
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashland Springs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegantly restored 1925 historic landmark in the heart of downtown Ashland offers seventy tastefully appointed, non-smoking guest rooms, Waterstone Spa, English garden,banquet/conference space and Larks Restaurant. Calming colors & decorations evoke an era of relaxed comfort and elegance. Guests are pampered with superb service and luxurious surroundings. Hotel guests enjoy complimentary continental breakfast, afternoon tea with baked treats, discount to hotel's Waterstone Spa, free WiFi and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Ashland Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing