We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“The Jacuzzi Suite & Kitchenette” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Ashland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Ashland to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Ashland
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   565 Clover Lane, Ashland, OR 97520   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct and Save
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Sacramento
Level Contributor
81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“The Jacuzzi Suite & Kitchenette”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

If you've been to a Holiday Inn Express, you usually know what to expect. This was my husband's 3-night business trip but me and my 4yr old were able to go along for the ride. Being a priority member definitely had its perks this time around. We were upgraded to a Jacuzzi Suite. To my surprise, it had a nice jacuzzi and kitchenette. (see pictures)

Room was very clean. There was a minor problem discovered in the room but staff was quick to resolve it. So minor, I don't even think its worth mentioning. The kitchenette included microwave, stove, dishwasher, sink, refrigerator, dishes and utensils. If I had known about the kitchenette, I would have attempted to cook. But since this was our first time in Ashland, I had to also check out the town and its restaurants. No cooking for me.

Since we drove to Ashland from Sacramento, the jacuzzi came in handy. It was very relaxing. The bed was clean and very comfortable. Room was spacious enough to keep my 4yr old happy with toys every where. Although we were on the first floor and close to the freeway, I could barely hear the traffic.

I enjoyed this experience at HI Express in Ashland and would definitely return. Especially if I can get the Jacuzzi Suite.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cjsf14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    50
    40
    7
    8
See reviews for
61
63
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I love these Holiday Inn Express properties and this one is no different. I'm surprised when I read negative reviews because this concept is well done here in Ashland Everything worked as expected from check-in to check out and a whole family rested very well there. For the price, I think they do a nice job. Rooms are super comfortable, clean and perfectly appointed for short stay situation (i.e. overnight then hit the road). The breakfast in the morning is ok as well but don't have high expectations.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Jon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I arrived late. I wasn't able to book the room on the mobile website. I am not sure why it wasn't working that evening. There wasn't any snow. I just wanted to get to bed. The beds were comfortable and clean. Pleasant staff. Free WIFI. Standard breakfast. It was a comfortable stay. However, I wasn't terribly impressed with this location.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Crystal W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ashland, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear crystal w,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are sorry you did not like our location.

We are pleased our friendly staff was able to offset this displeasure with great service. We appreciate you calling out our clean and comfortable accommodations.

Thank you again for your comments. Your business is valued and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG properties.

Regards,

Brenda J.
eMedia Coordinator
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel two or three times in the past and had a positive experience. However, in summer of 2012 things seemed to take a major wrong turn.
I was seven months pregnant when we arrived on a 98 degree day in July. I had booked the large suite with the jacuzzi tub. We were traveling with our 2 year old, and this would give him a separate sleeping space. Also, I thought a nice bath would be great for me and my sore feet! Our room was about 110 degrees or more when we checked in. We turned on the air conditioner and it felt like someone was just blowing air through a straw, and it wasn't even cold. We told them at the desk that there was a problem with the air, and they said that was how it was "supposed to work." They said give it time. We went into Ashland to sight see and have dinner and hoped for a cool room on our return.
No luck. When we got back the room was still as hot as an oven. I complained to the front desk again and they argued with me! They said it was working just fine. After a really long confrontational conversation, they finally agreed to move us to a different room where they promised the air conditioner would be "the same" and said they would move some other poor person who hadn't checked in yet into that room. The clerk even complained she'd have to clean the room again.
Wouldn't you know it, the new room had an air conditioner that worked and the room was cool within 15 minutes!
In the morning I spoke with the manager. I said I was displeased with the way the staff had argued with me. He assured me we would be refunded the difference between the more expensive room and also he would give us an additional discount for our trouble. However, when my bill came there was no such discount.
I attempted to call the hotel, and only reached a weird answering machine. I also tried to get my credit card to reverse the charges, and I contacted the corporate headquarters. Needless to say, although we go through Ashland frequently, I will NEVER stay at this hotel again and I would NOT recommend anyone else going there either. I also learned an important lesson. If the manager promises a discount, get a receipt!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Onalaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ashland, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Onalaska,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Ashland.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
113 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Surprised at the low cost - expected higher when we popped in after fighting our way over the snowy Siskyous. Very quiet, and a wonderful breakfast - the pancake maker is most cool. No problems with check in, the charming young lady behind the counter was efficient and pleasant. Easy access to the freeway. We will stay there again for sure...

Room Tip: Rooms in the back may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castor valley
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I was very surprised and happy with this hotel. Its been a long time since I been to a Holiday Inn Express. I had a bad experince in LA a few years ago anyway, this hotel was very clean and comfortable and the staff was wonderful . I would stay here again.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nabila w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I have had good experiences, over the years, with Holiday Inn. When traveling I usually will stay at a Holiday Inn because they are consistant. The Holiday Inn in Ashland was in a convenient location near an conference being held at the university. As I always do I signed up for the government rate, being a government employee, and brought a pay stub and my union card for verification. As I checked in the clerk informed me that I would not get the government rate because I did not have a "government identification" that included a "tax i.d. number". In my twenty-five years as a government employee I have never been asked for such an i.d... I showed the clerk my pay stub, union card, driver's license, and credit card but she insisted I did not qualify. She then asked if I was a AAA member, which I am, and said she would give me the AAA rate, which she did. I was pretty upset at the clerk and felt she knew she had me backed into a corner. Knowing I had no other option I accepted and paid for the AAA rate and then realized, after the clerk's shift had ended, that she had never asked to see my AAA card! So, she made a big deal about my "government employee identification" and yet never asked for proof that I belonged to AAA. That experience tainted my visit and I will not stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LStarcevich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ashland hotels
0.2 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Windsor Inn
2.9 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ashland Springs Hotel
#3 of 19 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 stars 580 reviews
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn
BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn
#4 of 19 in Ashland
4.0 of 5 stars 657 reviews
2.4 mi away
Stratford Inn
Stratford Inn
#5 of 19 in Ashland
4.0 of 5 stars 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Ashland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Ashland

Property: Holiday Inn Express Ashland
Address: 565 Clover Lane, Ashland, OR 97520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Ashland 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Ashland is the gateway to your Oregon adventure. Our hotel features a warm, elegant environment. Conveniently placed near all of Ashland's attractions including Southern Oregon University, you will be sure to make your stay a yearly tradition whether you are attending the Oregon Shakespeare Festival events or skiing at Mt. Ashland. The Holiday Inn Express features complimentary Continental breakfast and free local phone calls. Visit Ashland, and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. The Holiday Inn Express & Suites is located just 12 miles south of Medford, Oregon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Ashland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Ashland Hotel Ashland
Holiday Inn Ashland
Ashland Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing