We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Outstanding dining in Ashland!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coquina

Coquina
Ranked #18 of 151 Restaurants in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Outstanding dining in Ashland!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

This Ashland restaurant has a creative menu with each dish beautifully presented. Modest-sized servings enable you to comfortably enjoy several courses, each a delight. Warm and attentive service delivered by the husband and delicious food with outstanding sauces prepared by the wife in very pleasant surroundings. A real treat.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Everseeking1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    27
    13
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not to be missed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful restaurant! Husband and wife team that take extraordinary care in attending to every detail? The bisque was amazing, the salad the freshest and perhaps best ever, the main course followed suit! If in Ashland, do not pass this by!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Virginiagk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Big price, small food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Two of us had a bottle of wine and the gnocchi with meat ragu. I found very little meat and it was diced so small it could get stuck between teeth. I'm not a big eater but I finished this and a piece of bread and didn't go away full. That's all we had and the bill was $94. Disappointing, really.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kateayers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Dinner on the back patio :-)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Once the rains come, eat inside. But until then, dine out on the back patio :-) . Service was excellent and attentive, and although we were not going to OSF that night, some tables were. The waitstaff made sure they were able to leave on time, without communicating a "rush" to do so. Italian menu choices were all wonderful (menu changes according to what's seasonal), and my wife enjoyed reading the wine list and talking with the owner during coffee about his experiences with vintners, wineries and compiling the restaurant's cellar. No snobbery here. Just educated appreciation of regional choices. Go for the wine and the locally-sourced cuisine, and you'll mostly likely end up sharing travel and food stories with the table next to you.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank chubbyneck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best of the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Little place hidden away from the center of town was a great surprise, even we were somewhat ready after reading few reviews before our trip. No, it isn't plush or beautifully decorated. Main attraction is food - exquisitely prepared, nicely presented, served with grace. Service was outstanding without five people standing behind our chairs. Friendly staff was very knowledgeable - we followed their recommendation in the local wine selection and were very pleased. Coquina in not very cheap, but beats San Francisco Bay Area prices by much. Worth every penny (dollar)!!! Place was not packed when we walked in, but slowly started to fill up. I can bet that next year or so it will be hard to get in, specially during festival times.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Coquina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing