We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food in a Cozy Garden”
Review of Coquina

Coquina
Ranked #15 of 156 Restaurants in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Seattle
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful food in a Cozy Garden”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We were very pleasantly surprised with our meal in this restaurant. We ate in the garden, which was very pleasant. The food was innovative, tasty, and beautifully presented. The staff was very friendly, attentive, and knowledgeable. The wine list was reasonably priced. The meal is a bit of a splurge, but totally worth it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NWtraveler721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    29
    13
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“More than worth the walk”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

On a recent trip to Ashland, we went a bit off the path of all the Oregon Shakespeare Festival activity and took a short and interesting walk to try Coquina - and we were so pleased we did.
We are avid NYC diners, not easily pleased, and we were so impressed with the level of cooking and the accommodating staff. The food had a very personal, inventive and light touch - we wish we could have lingered longer but had to run to a show!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jeannie496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, OR
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wow! Our New Favorite Dinner Restaurant.”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We live in Ashland and have had the opportunity to frequent many of the wonderful restaurants here over the years. This cozy little restaurant on A Street is our new favorite! The wait staff was friendly, professional, and very helpful in accommodating my complex food allergies. Attentive but not bothersome, and suggested two new red wines for us to try that were great. We sat at one of the patio tables out back, which is a very pleasant space. But the absolute best thing about Coquina is the food!!! My husband and I ordered different salads, entrees and desserts, and every one of them was fabulous. Their dishes are expertly prepared, beautifully presented, and just bursting with flavor. If you're a foodie, definitely try them for your next special occasion, you won't be disappointed. Well worth the cost.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue1144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huatulco
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spend your money elsewhere”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The decor of this restaurant can best be described as "high school cafeteria" -- not at all in keeping with the restaurant's prices. The staff was extraordinarily frantic and distracted, rushing around with clattering plates and glasses too complicated to balance, basically ignoring the presence of the diners. The sound level was so extreme that the waiter could not be heard, but she continued mechanically through her menu descriptions, knowing that no one could hear. The presentation of dishes bordered on the bizarre -- for example a tiny serving of an entree piled into a tower in the center of a large plate, nothing else on the plate. The quality of the food was good, but not as good as Trader Joe's fresh takeout at one-fifth the price.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Juanito_del_Mar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't Let the Outside Fool You”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Don't let this small, unpretentious and "off Main St." restaurant fool you. It packs a lot of taste and excellent service into a minimum of space. We ate outside. Very tasteful ambiance, but the real taste is in the food. The chef obviously knows what she's doing. The service is attentive but not overly so. We celebrated my wife's birthday with a candle and a piece of chocolate torte. There was complementary after dinner wine and wishes of happy birthday from the staff. The place is a little pricy but worth it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Coquina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing