We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent; average”

Umami Sushi & Asian Cuisine
Ranked #36 of 178 Restaurants in Ashland
Price range: $5 - $17
Cuisines: Asian, Japanese, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Enjoyed our meal and our waiter. The food was decent but nothing special. Part of our order was lost or forgotten by the kitchen. Took a while to get it and really wasn’t worth waiting for.

Ultimately, it served the purpose and it was convenient to the theatre. Otherwise, you can probably do better.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank ContainerGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 178 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2019 via mobile

I ate way too much here. The j pop jalapeño and the avocado bomb would have been enough. Fresh, spicy and large portions, these starters were amazing.
We also ordered a nigiri and sushi combination expecting around nine pieces. There were at least 15 on the platter. The fish was so soft and tender. One in our party ordered pad Thai and it was very unusual. I thought it tasted like tomato paste but someone else thought it was sweet. It wasn’t bad - it was just different.
They Have a good selection of sake, including warmed, room temperature and chilled.
The one downside was the service, which was a little off. They seated us quickly and took our order rapidly. The food came up quickly but then we were neglected and not offered additional beverages and they never refilled the water. This was a little painful given the spiciness of some of our food. We eventually had to flag down the waitress to get our check. A minor inconvenience.
Handicapped accessible.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Live2traveldaworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2019

wonderful rolls; miso soup tasty, but best of all was the cucumber salad that was artfully presented w/butterflied shrimp, pieces of crab and chunks of octopus.. amazing... did I mention the attentive hosts?... awesome experience

Date of visit: July 2019
1  Thank Hexgoogol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2019

Umami is perfect for dining before going to the theater. The Elizabethan theater is just steps away. Our service was timely and pleasant. Thank you, Rebecca. The sushi samplers were delicious and portions were generous. Our samplers went well with a glass of chardonnay.

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Maryann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2019

The service here has been spotty, but the sushi is well worth the wait. If you have theatre tickets, just allow a little extra time, as the food is well worth it, and you can’t beat the location. Just ask about the back door out to the theaters!

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank Joy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Umami Sushi & Asian Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Umami Sushi & Asian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing