We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Meal”

Smithfields Restaurant and Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Smithfields Restaurant and Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 157 Restaurants in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Main St
Description: Smithfields Restaurant and Bar located in Ashland, Oregon is a neighborhood steakhouse restaurant and bar which specializes in sustainable nose to tail dining (utilizing the whole animal) and in-house charcuterie.
Ashland, OR
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a Meal”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

If you like meat...
All kinds of meat, then you are in for a treat.
Smithfield's serves rabbit, duck, pork, lamb, chicken, beef, veal,
everything.
It is a meat centered restaurant with fabulous food.
The prices are steep.
Dinner for four, with wine can run $200-$300.
However, you will walk away well satisfied.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Meg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    79
    39
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good to meat you, oh yeh.”
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Excellent restaurant in downtown.
Friendly staff who know their menu and wine list well.
We had munchies (!) and ribeye followed by dessert and felt comfortable afterwards.
Would certainly not miss this out if we return to Ashland.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fred G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“nice views of the city”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

good food and great views. the weather was perfect to sit outside. the menu offered lots of different things and the drink menu was really interesting.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank mfsrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
146 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“vegans stay home... but wonderful food”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

This relatively new restaurant in Ashland, OR adds yet again another great option to the already-competitive dining scene in this wonderful little theater town. It is a celebration of meat and fish--in the case of the former, locally sourced, free range, no antibiotics (etc.); in the case of the latter, fresh, responsibly caught, etc. We arrived early because we had a play (we made reservations), were promptly seated. The server was cheerful, helpful, and brisk without being rushed. My burger was enormous, and like no hamburger I've ever had (not just because of the size, either). My husband had fish and chips, and again, not your average fish-and-chips. A vegetarian would have options here (salads, etc.), but a vegan would struggle. Good pre-theater place, walkable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CHCNV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
72 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“You won't be disappointed!”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We were lucky enough to try this restaurant on a recent trip to Ashland. I would highly recommend you give it a try. We started our meal with the bacon hush puppies with maple creme fraiche. Wonderful, we could have dipped nothing in the maple sauce and loved it! We also shared the heirloom tomato/watermelon starter with feta and balsamic vinegar. Absolutely yummy! One of our party had the lamb porterhouse, wonderful, one had New York strip, wonderful, filet, wonderful, hangar steak, again wonderful. All the meat is locally sourced. Service was delightful and the atmosphere terrific!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lambo058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Smithfields Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing