We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better know what to order----and go on a slow night.”

Smithfields Restaurant and Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Smithfields Restaurant and Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 155 Restaurants in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Main St
Description: Smithfields Restaurant and Bar located in Ashland, Oregon is a neighborhood steakhouse restaurant and bar which specializes in sustainable nose to tail dining (utilizing the whole animal) and in-house charcuterie.
california
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Better know what to order----and go on a slow night.”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

This is not a large restaurant. And shortly after our group of six arrived, two very large groups arrived and effectively took over the place. The noise level was deafening. That aside we had the opportunity to try a variety of dishes. the food varied from the very good (charcuterie plate and beet salad) to the dismally bland (pea soup, which was served lukewarm, and goat cheese soufflé, totally tasteless); steaks were okay, but not particularly memorable. Service was sluggish, being distracted by the larger groups. Overall, had we been warned, we would have cancelled and tried a different night. It may not have changed the food, but at least we would have left with our hearing in tact.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anonymostly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    75
    38
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Meat Is The Star Here”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Went to with my son and husband here for Easter dinner. I was having a craving for a good steak or prrime rib and heard this was the place to go.I was not disappointed! This is the place to go for meat!!!!!
I had a prime rib that melted in my mouth and was so flavorful! My son had beef cheeks for the first time and he really liked it. He said it reminded him of pot roast, it was so soft and full of juices. My husband had rabbit. It was wrapped in bacon that added to the flavor and moistness.

The decorations are simple but nice. Wait staff is efficent and helpful when you ask for suggestions.

Can't wait to go back again!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pakmoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Coast, US
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice.”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Loving this addition to Ashland. Everyone is obsessed with chicken and waffles on Sundays. I am super loving the salmon at dinner. Everything is lovely. Wait staff can be kind of bossy and dismissive. But they know their stuff.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank fortheloveofit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Meatlovers paradise?”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Leave your vegan and vegetarian friends behind when you venture through these doors....named after London's Smithfields meat market , its unashamedly a shrine to meaty goodness, and the walls are decorated with anatomical line drawings of the cuts on cows , pigs , etc ....you get the picture.
I was there for Sunday brunch , and went for the flank steak eggs benedict , which normally comes on a fresh biscuit ....I opted for grilled tomato instead......excellent med/rare steak , and wonderful fresh lemony benedict , perfect poached eggs , and finished off with fresh watercress ......coffee was very tasty too ! The menu will have you spoiled for choice.....plenty of good things to choose from , and a friendly , bustling atmosphere. Dont miss it !

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BCFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville NC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“If you love meat, this is your place”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Very nice brunch with creative and interesting choices. The ambiance is casual but upscale and the waitstaff is very attentive. Good location within walking distance of everything downtown.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CindyAshevilleNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smithfields Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 

Been to Smithfields Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing