We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fine food, less fine service”
Review of Loft Ashland

Loft Ashland
Ranked #26 of 157 Restaurants in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $29
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Loft Restaurant & Barn in Ashland, Oregon serving a blend of French-inspired seasonal creations, modern interpretations and classic preparations for dinner Wednesday through Sunday. From Rogues to Rhones, our list is a well-balanced selection of fine wines from Oregon and beyond with an emphasis on our favorite, French of course! Enjoy dining in our grande brasserie year-round. During the warmer months, dine al fresco, sun or shade, on our idyllic terrace. We invite you to join us in our rooftop bar and lounge featuring small plates, artisan cocktails and wine flights. Drop by for a drink in our second floor solarium bar or stop in after the show any night for a late night light bite around our rooftop fire pit lounge above Ashland Creek. We are located on Ashland Plaza just footsteps from the world-famous Oregon Shakespeare Festival and Lithia Park. We look forward to serving you soon!
Battle Ground, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“fine food, less fine service”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

We recently had dinner at the Loft before catching a performance at the Oregon Shakespeare Theater.
I am sure this is not the best time to come, even though we were at the Loft quiet early; well before the rush began.
The food (Coq au Vin and a lamb dish) were quite good, but the service was disappointing. It was not our servers fault; he simply became swamped. Still, for a not-inexpensive restaurant,
it was a little irritating having such a difficult time getting water or a second glass of wine.
I would like to try this place at lunch or on a night were there is not a Shakespeare performance.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rcftommay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    75
    28
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice French bistro”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

Good food,great outdoor patio, service good. When you want French bistro food in southern Oregon,this is the place.nice cocktail menu.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Good dinner, poor service”
Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

In what would have otherwise been a great dining experience, we were disappointed with the inattentive service at the Loft Brasserie. If you were trying to catch dinner before an evening performance, forget it! I enjoyed the Coq au Vin, although the choice of legs and thighs left me distracted with picking out a pile of bones nearly as large as the meat. The flavoring was tasty, though. My friends enjoyed salads and vegetables dishes that were simple and uninspired. The location of this restaurant on the paseo near Lithia Park is lovely, just a shame the food and service didn't make for a memorable dining experience.

Helpful?
1 Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Average, at best”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

We were visiting a friend, who selected the restaurant for our lunch and booked the table. It was a very hot day, so we opted to eat indoors.

Service was good enough. We were seated fairly promptly, our menus came fast, our server took our order and delivered our food in reasonable time. She was very friendly.

The menu and food was somewhat disappointing. There weren't that many options to choose from - maybe a handful of starters and five or six main courses. I would up ordering an arugula salad and French onion soup. Both were good enough, but nothing unusual. Our friend ordered a hamburger and it was so big that half of it went to waste.

The space is pleasant, upstairs on the Plaza. You take an elevator to get there and the entry door looks like a lawyer's office. But it was cool and dim, which was nice on a hot day.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adeliegentoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Inconsistent quality but likeable”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

My steak-frites was easily as good as anything you'd eat in a decent Paris restaurant. But my wife's fish was quite simply boring. But the very high ceilings, the location (beside a creek), and the convenience (centre of central Ashland) left us in a forgiving mood. And the service was very fine.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ciceronian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loft Ashland also viewed

 

Been to Loft Ashland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing