We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff - good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loft Ashland

Loft Ashland
Ranked #26 of 148 Restaurants in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $29
Cuisines: French, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Welcome to Loft, a brasserie and bar in Ashland, Oregon serving a blend of French-inspired seasonal creations, modern interpretations and classic preparations for dinner Wednesday through Sunday. From Rogues to Rhones, our list is a well-balanced selection of fine wines from Oregon and beyond with an emphasis on our favorite, French of course! Enjoy dining in our grande brasserie year-round. During the warmer months, dine al fresco, sun or shade, on our idyllic terrace. We invite you to join us in our rooftop bar and lounge featuring small plates, artisan cocktails and wine flights. Drop by for a drink in our second floor solarium bar or stop in after the show any night for a late night light bite around our rooftop fire pit lounge above Ashland Creek. We are located on Ashland Plaza just footsteps from the world-famous Oregon Shakespeare Festival and Lithia Park. We look forward to serving you soon!
Sutherlin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff - good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

The three of us decided to have a small meal before the theater so we just ordered several appetizers. We were particularly looking forward to the mussels. They were ok but not great. Everything else was very good. The deserts were Great. The presentation was very nice although the portions small. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We would definitely return next time we are in town.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    72
    28
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level Contributor
103 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Glad we found it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We come to Ashland every year –but somehow had managed to miss this wonderful restaurant. We will now be regulars. Alex’s in the same area of the plaza has been a favorite, but the menu was very ordinary so we looked on and found The Loft. Look down the alley from the Plaza toward Ashland creek. We went for dessert one night and then decided to do dinner the next night on the deck. Many interesting choices for starters, and desserts. Other reviewers didn’t care for the crab mac & cheese- we loved it and it was enough for a second meal! Do save room for the cream puffs or gelato for dessert- divine!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MooseMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
1 review
“Nice meal and prompt service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

My wife and I had dinner at the Loft the other night. We had a play to get to and the staff did a great job of making sure we made it. The food was very well prepared and plated. I had the Salmon special of the night. It was paired with summer corn risotto and an endive tomato jam. My wife enjoyed the Dungeness crab macaroni gratin. The atmosphere on their patio was lovely and comfortable. We will definitely eat here again whenever we are in town and are in the mood for casual French fare.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
284 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“So good we enjoyed it twice in the same week”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We were drawn upstairs by the laughter of the patrons enjoying the second floor patio above the walk way along Ashland Creek. We came back a second time because the food was great and the young staff work as a well oiled machine to address everyone's needs and keep a happy buzz happening. On the first night we were peckish but not ready for a big dinner before the show so we each had the mussels in pesto broth appetizer and a dessert. While the portion of mussels was not large, the delicious basil broth and bread were filling and after the wonderful intensely chocolately gelato mellowed with port (enjoyed with a glass of juicy ruby port) I felt positively round and sated. My partner had the creme brulee and pronounced himself very satisfied. On the second night we ate even better. My partner had the enormous lamb shank which was so tender the flavourful meat fell off the bone. I had the perfectly cooked Oregon salmon which came with a very fresh tasting corn accompaniment as well as little pools of a fabulous traditional long simmered creamy French onion dish. Definitely heaven! And because you can never have too much of a good thing, we finished with dessert again--me with the profiteroles filled with hazelnut ice cream and robed in a good chocolate sauce and my partner with a silky pot de creme. While we enjoyed the patio on both occasions , I think the pretty wood loft room could be quite cozy in less summery temperatures.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank piercesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Great restaurant in a beautiful loft space- elegant upstairs outdoor patio. The entire meal was spot on, the drinks well made, and friendly owner. Only mis-cue was unhelpful and condescending waitress who walked away while attempting to order wine, then got mad when I asked another server for the wine. Totally unfriendly and a discredit to an otherwise fantastic restaurant!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CS F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loft Ashland also viewed

 

Been to Loft Ashland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing