We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best dinner and great service”
Review of Loft Ashland

Loft Ashland
Ranked #26 of 157 Restaurants in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $29
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Loft Restaurant & Barn in Ashland, Oregon serving a blend of French-inspired seasonal creations, modern interpretations and classic preparations for dinner Wednesday through Sunday. From Rogues to Rhones, our list is a well-balanced selection of fine wines from Oregon and beyond with an emphasis on our favorite, French of course! Enjoy dining in our grande brasserie year-round. During the warmer months, dine al fresco, sun or shade, on our idyllic terrace. We invite you to join us in our rooftop bar and lounge featuring small plates, artisan cocktails and wine flights. Drop by for a drink in our second floor solarium bar or stop in after the show any night for a late night light bite around our rooftop fire pit lounge above Ashland Creek. We are located on Ashland Plaza just footsteps from the world-famous Oregon Shakespeare Festival and Lithia Park. We look forward to serving you soon!
Claremont, California
1 review
“Best dinner and great service”
Reviewed August 3, 2011

We just came back from the Loft for dinner and found the food to be delicious . The hamburger was one of the best we've ever had. The servers couldn't have been more attentive to our needs. We definitely recommend this restaurant for a great meal and great service.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rww07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    75
    28
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alaska
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, horrible service.”
Reviewed July 29, 2011

My husband and I made reservations for dinner on the patio. When we arrived, we were seated away from the view and in direct sun, despite just two other of the 12 or so tables were occupied. I assumed it would fill up quickly, so didn't ask to be reseated. About 5 minutes later, the hostess led a couple to a four-top with indirect sun overlooking the creek. "Will this be ok?" she said. "All of our tables for two are for people with reservations." What what??? Annoying as this was (aren't people with reservations supposed to get the good tables?) it was but a blip compared to: waiting for 20 minutes with an EMPTY water glass on a 85-degree evening, having our waiter ask for our order after we'd placed it 5 minutes earlier (he seemed to be serving just three or four tables), and waiting 15 minutes to get a cocktail (restaurant less than half full). That said, the macaroni and cheese is rich and flavorful and the ribeye was properly rare and paired with fresh veggies appropriately al dente and a twice-baked yukon gold that was out of this world. Here's hoping the Loft retrains its staff.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elemes_AK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good: good location, good service and good food.”
Reviewed July 20, 2011

We did not have reservations so we were seated promptly al fresco. The servers were attentive and helpful but not spectacular. The food was tasty with some flair but not a lot of creativity. We had the crab-cakes (good), the onion soup (good), the burger (good and big) and the crab macaroni and cheese (very good and big). We were stuffed and did not order desert but since it was my wife's birthday they gave her a complementary chocolate truffle...a nice touch.

We spent about $70 on food and drinks and felt that we got more than our money's worth.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrianColfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bend oregon
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Get a new hostess”
Reviewed July 15, 2011

We called and asked for a table outside days before the reservation. When I arrived it seemed as if they did not have that note. The very unprofessional hostess tried putting us in full sun at a tiny table outside. While others were being whisked away to there very nice 4 tops with umbrellas, I asked whats it take to get a good table? Her reply was awful. Anyway, aside from that, which was hard to shake, we had a nice meal. Our server was really nice and professional. If I am paying $100.00 for dinner for 2 I would like my hostess to at least be friendly.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sofistka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
“Excellent-our new favorite in Ashland!”
Reviewed July 12, 2011

Returned to eat here twice during our brief 4 night visit to Ashland. Great French inspired cooking - Steak frites, fabulous appetizer mini-Wellingtons (PLEASE, chef, make this larger for an entree), roasted chicken, buttery fish, amazing cheesy onion soup, beet & goat cheese salad and the burger is one of the best we've EVER tasted! The desserts while good, needed more of the sauces, e.g. caramel & creme Anglaise were mere drops on the plate - needed more of these to compliment the tarts.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Astrid_Avia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Loft Ashland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing