We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Local pizza close to SOU”

The Great American Pizza Company
Ranked #41 of 155 Restaurants in Ashland
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Central Oregon, Oregon
Level Contributor
100 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Local pizza close to SOU”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

GAPCO is located across the street from one of the dorms at Southern Oregon University (SOU). It's very much a family place and the wait staff is often students. Good variety of pizza, salad bar, beer/wine, reasonable prices. A good family option in Ashland.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank P-and-R1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    24
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Larkspur, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014

My husband and I were on a road trip and stopped in this beautiful town of Ashland. We felt like a bite to eat and as we were driving around we fortunately found the Great American Pizza Company. We found a nice little table outside and debated about what toppings we would have on our pizza. It was quite a decision because there were so many toppings we could select and there were also many specials. Besides pizza, other menu item were also offered. The pizza was really delicious! We had the sourdough crust and it was just great. Our server was very friendly and personableIf you like pizza, I would highly recommend this place.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Awesome pizza. Must-have in Ashland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

From whole-wheat crust to gluten-free crust and some in between, and with an enviable list of both vegetarian and meat toppings, there is no shortage of the exact combination you may desire. And the pizzas are well made and absolutely delicious! We don't miss any chance we have to visit this place.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pankaj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great pizza! We will definitely visit again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

This is a small, local pizza place recommended by an employee at a nearby grocery store. Thank goodness! We enjoyed a nice selection of beer on tap along with one of our best pizzas ever! Don't miss the dough nots!!! They offer a selection between sour dough or wheat crust which was a tough decision, but the sour dough was amazing and we'll be back to try the wheat. We had an italian type combo that was delicious but too spicy for our 2 year old. We were able to order her a slice of cheese which was quickly delivered to the table. We were glad to have leftovers!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Natalie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau Alaska
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good pizza, good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

Very good pizza, lots of interesting topping options - we had the roasted eggplant and ricotta one and Naymik's Delight on the sourdough crust. One slice is more than enough and the best bargain, and we split the Mediterranean salad, and it was more than enough for us. They have very yummy and probably addictive dough knots too: we didn't order them, but the wait person brought some to our table saying they had made too many and so they brought them to us, all fresh and topped with shaved Parmesan cheese.
Not fancy by any stretch, they have happy hour with cheap beers, but their wine list is abysmal. They do brew their own iced tea with a faint hint of cinnamon, and their Arnold Palmers are very refreshing and delicious.
Seems to be a local fave - staff greeted people as if they recognized them, and one person offered us insights into the local restaurants for our next day's dining - suggesting places off the beaten track that visitors might not find.
Our waiter was excellent - just the right mix of attention without getting too involved, helpful and honest suggestions, friendly, and prompt.
A pleasant 30 minute walk from the plays, and conveniently located next to the Timbers motel.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NDeCh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Great American Pizza Company also viewed

 

Been to The Great American Pizza Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing