We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too bland”
Review of Taj Indian Cuisine

Taj Indian Cuisine
Reserve with OpenTable
Taj Indian Cuisine is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #30 of 156 Restaurants in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: As new owners, our mission with TAJ is to value the importance of menu transparency and food integrity, leading to more organic, nutritious and GMO-free - yet flavorful northern Indian cuisine. Welcome to TAJ Indian Restaurant!
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
133 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Too bland”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Ate theri twice and keep hoping things will improve. Last time I heard their chef was Mexican, not Indian even though the owners are. The food was way too bland and "safe" for those of us who like Indian food.

Helpful?
1 Thank debkits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    62
    17
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
132 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Very Good Food”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

They offer genuine Indian cuisine. We had shrimp curry and lamb vindaloo both with rice and Indian bread. We specified the spice we wanted which was prefect. We also had an order of nan bread. They have vegetarian dishes and much more. The service is excellent if a little quick to clean up. They do not encourage sitting and talking.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank restats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, California
Level Contributor
141 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Pretty basic food items”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We often visit Ashland to visit a good friend and also eat out then see a play or two. This time we were in the mood for Indian cuisine and had but one choice - The Taj. Maybe that sole choice contributes to the problem - each of us in a group of four tried a different dish, and each of us found them to be nothing special. Also, our waiter didn't seem too enthusiastic for providing any service to us. Maybe they were just having a bad day.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 2009Benjamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level Contributor
164 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great food and service....”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Just returned from Ashland and had a terrific meal at Taj Indian Cuisine. The food was very well prepared and the servings ample. I would highly recommend Taj to anyone who enjoys Indian food.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VChi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“So Much Fabulous Food!”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

As Californians visiting Ashland, OR, we were not prepared for the *amount* of food offered by Taj Indian Cuisine. Let me just say that the restaurant doesn't stint on its portions! I've never seen such magnificent samosas... or such ample portions of tandoor chicken and lamb kabobs. And all of it was delicious. We absolutely loved our dinner -- although the lamb was perhaps a bit over-cooked. However, we've never eaten such an amazing tandoori chicken, so tender, and complete with a delicious drizzling sauce. We will definitely return for dinner, perhaps better prepared to finish our entire meal!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MeleMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taj Indian Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Taj Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing