We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Ashland Experience”

Sesame Asian Kitchen
Ranked #30 of 157 Restaurants in Ashland
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Sesame’s menu is inspired by the various cultures of the Far East, representing a fusion of cuisines from the South China Seas. We incorporate fresh Asian vegetables, free-range meats and house-blended spices with other specialty ingredients to create seasonal menus. Local partnerships allow us to feature the best ingredients and we offer beer, wine, sake and specialty cocktails to complete the experience.
Felton, California
Level 6 Contributor
741 reviews
308 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“Nice Ashland Experience”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We really enjoyed our dinner experience at the Sesame Asian Kitchen. The Coconut Calamari was very good. Nice outdoor seating across from Lithia Park. Good people watching but also lots of cars going by. Service was good although we had to wait way too long for our wine. Will return when in the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank simon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LISA B, Owner at Sesame Asian Kitchen, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
We appreciate the encouragement, Simon! The Coconut Calamari is one of our more popular dishes — happy to hear you're a big fan too. If you want to eat by the park, let us know next time! During the summer months we offer a picnic service.

Thanks for sharing your feedback. We can't wait to feed you again!

Sincerely,
Lisa, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    98
    33
    14
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good food, poor service.”
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

It took 20 minutes to get two glasses of wine and the service went down from there. The food was good though - tasty coconut calamari, the Phuket shrimp were perfectly cooked. But we'll probably go elsewhere next time.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LISA B, Owner at Sesame Asian Kitchen, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
While it's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the coconut calamari and the Phuket shrimp, I'm disappointed that we didn't live up to your expectations with our service. We never want to keep our customers waiting for too long, and I'm sorry for wait time with your wine. That said, this isn't typical of the service we usually offer our customers, and I'd love to invite you back in for another meal with us. I know we can show you a much better time.

Sincerely,
Lisa, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Location, Good Food, Good Ambiance”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I was impressed with Sesame Asian Kitchen. The ambiance of the restaurant was very good and the Asian Fusion Menu was good. I was there for lunch and the service was good and the food was very good. I would go back on my next visit to Ashland.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank FunToTVL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LISA B, Owner at Sesame Asian Kitchen, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
I'm happy to hear we impressed you (and happier to know you'll come back the next time you're in Ashland!). Thanks for giving us a try, and for taking the time to share your thoughts here on Tripadvisor. We can't wait to serve you again the next time you're in town.

Until then,
Lisa, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
del mar
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Flavor, Satisfying”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Good location, satisfying food and nice service made for a good experience. By the creek or towards the street (creekside dogs are not allowed, but streetside they can stay close by). We had rice bowl and eggplant and left happy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank inkast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LISA B, Owner at Sesame Asian Kitchen, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Hearing you left happy puts a smile on my face, thank you! We want our customers to leave our restaurant feeling happy and full, so this was wonderful to hear. Anytime you're craving some delicious Asian food by the creek, you know where to come.

Thanks for sharing your feedback!

Sincerely,
Lisa, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Outdoor Dining”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This restaurant is right across from Lithia Park, alongside a gentle stream. Outdoor dining is shaded in the afternoon. Great food, friendly staff, dog friendly, reasonable prices.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LISA B, Owner at Sesame Asian Kitchen, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Outdoor dining is probably one of the best ways to enjoy food, don't you think? Thanks for the kind words, Mike. I hope to see you in the restaurant again soon!

Sincerely,
Lisa, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sesame Asian Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Sesame Asian Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing