We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Getaway with Outstanding Food and Charming Mountain Ambience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Callahan's Mountain Lodge
Ranked #14 of 31 Ashland B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 17, 2012

My wife and I cannot say enough good things about Callahan's Lodge. Perfectly delightful in every way. The rooms, the food, the service, the friendliness, the scenery and all the special touches that have gone into Callahan's make for such a perfect getaway experience. We had a wonderful time... first class and we will return again soon! Thank you, Callahan's!!

Room Tip: All the rooms have great views, two-person hot tubs, and most have wood-burning fireplaces.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaleandWayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiskiyouLodge, Manager at Callahan's Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2016

If you can't say enough good things about the lodge, then it's time to make good turn into great! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
There are newer reviews for Callahan's Mountain Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 152 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2011

Very comfortable, excellent service, good homemade food, breakfast included. The owner,Ron, even got up early to cook breakfast for us so we could get an early start on the road. We will make this a regular stop!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiskiyouLodge, Manager at Callahan's Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2016

Ron is a devoted owner to the lodge! Thank you for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2011

We hosted a dinner for all our employees at the lodge and it was great experience. We staying in one of the 2nd floor rooms and while they are not overly large, they are quite comfortable. We loved the wood burning fireplace and especially the bed - it was really comfortable. The hotel chef prepared a dinner for my group, and it was most excellent. From prime rib to desert, it was all great. There is also something enjoyable about being up in the mountains in the pine trees and cool air that makes work seem far away. Well worth a try.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MacTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiskiyouLodge, Manager at Callahan's Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2016

Thank you for allowing us to cater to your employees. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2011

Staff at Callahan's Lodge was friendly, and the room was fine, if clearly a motel room retrofitted with more upmarket fittings. There was a hot tub in room, which was enjoyed by boyfriend, who hadn't experienced one before. The white noise of the fountain outside the window effectively masked the noise of the nearby motorway.

We arrived too late for dinner (at about 21.00), so we went to bed fairly ravenous, and looking forward to breakfast, which, in the menu, seemed full of delicious possibilities.

In reality, it was horrible.

In fact, breakfast was so remarkably, disturbingly bad, it destroyed any positive impression of the hotel (to be perfectly fair, we're relatively particular about our food, and were trying to make a point of finding enjoyable meals as much as possible, but still, this was BAD).

A USD25 breakfast voucher issued at check-in covered the cost of breakfast, but, oddly, did not include coffee. This may have been mentioned on the menu, but I only recall a note indicating what was included, and the absence of coffee in that list wasn't something to which I paid particular attention. However, as far as I can recall, every other hotel in which I've stayed (in about half a dozen countries) that included breakfast, included coffee, too. Not only did coffee cost USD2.50 a cup, but it was literally undrinkable, flavourless brown water.
To the best of my recollection, I've never before not drunk a cup of coffee, and I've had some fairly ghastly coffee.

The food was little better: Although the menu suggested delicious possibilities, and the waitress was extremely accommodating about the two omissions I requested, the food left my boyfriend and me utterly miserable. The cook (we were told that the hotel owner cooks the breakfasts) clearly hadn't brought the griddle to a high enough temperature, as our potato cakes were tepid, and soggy with oil, and my steak was barely browned, even though it was cooked to medium. My boyfriend's 'lodge smoked salmon' tasted tinned, and was full of odd slimy grey bits. We mentioned our dissatisfaction with breakfast at the front desk, who promised to mention the matter to the manager, but given the pretensions of the hotel, the breakfast made an unpleasant beginning to our day.

I wish I'd liked the place better, but honestly, it left me feeling a bit ripped off; it's essentially a superficially enhanced, but otherwise run of the mill motel.

Room Tip: I cannot emphasize enough that breakfast should not be eaten here, if you're even slightly parti...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank travelmongoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiskiyouLodge, Manager at Callahan's Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2016

Your time spent with your review is appreciated.

We will provide you with a breakfast on the house when you venture towards to mountain again. We are sorry for your experience and have made many, many changes since your visit with us.

Quinn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Location location location. Great atmospher/ food/ service/ accomadations. Laid back family style enviornment is a majestic mountain setting. We are from Arkansas and can't believe how nice this place is. We will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cobalt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiskiyouLodge, Manager at Callahan's Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2016

And thank you...! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

My wife and I stayed two nights in August. The bed was comfortable, the towels fluffy and the robes plush. Other amenities were the spa tub and the large bathroom with two sinks. (For us, that is luxury.) Didn't use the fireplace because it was in the 90s during our stay.

The breakfast was very good and we ate on the large deck the second morning. The grounds are well maintained and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We both highly recommend this location.

We went into Ashland a couple of times and even thought the lodge is outside of town, it's a quick drive.

One surprise we had is that the balcony is shared with the suite next door. My wife was outside in her robe when the man next door stepped outside. They were both surprised!

We'll definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 23. Quiet.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiskiyouLodge, Manager at Callahan's Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2016

And we hope to see you for your 26th anniversary. We are sorry for the late response, but welcome your kind words!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

We have stayed here twice. The first time we stayed, we moved rooms because our room filled with smoke from the fireplace, but then our second room did the same thing! If you use their fireplace, do not just light it and expect it to work. You need to rearrange the set up because they don't lay a very good fire. (yes we checked the damper and did all that boy-scout stuff) They were very nice about it though and even gave us a gift card for a second stay. This time, we didn't attempt to make a fire and everything was fine.
One of the most comfy beds anywhere! I believe every room has an in-room hot tub which is awesome. The food is great and they welcome your dog! You get a credit to use towards breakfast and can even use it for room service. Very romantic place. The corner room seemed more secluded and romantic to us.
The trail around the property was in good repair on our first stay but was not maintained well during our second stay.

Room Tip: The corner rooms are more secluded
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scatteredlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiskiyouLodge, Manager at Callahan's Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2016

We are sorry for your experience with the fireplace.

I have helped guests with this issue as well over the years. I encourage guests to make the fire very hot and place ample newspaper, then kindling, and then firewood on top - like a regular fire building process. This will enable the fire to lite quickly and force the smoke up into the chimney. Where if the fire does not light correctly, it will smoke out and start filling the room where there is a fireplace normally.

Please try us again and thank you for taking the time out for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ashland hotels
10.5 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
8.3 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
7.9 mi away
Green Springs Inn
Green Springs Inn
#7 of 19 in Ashland
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Best Western Windsor Inn
9.9 mi away
Stratford Inn
Stratford Inn
#4 of 19 in Ashland
626 reviews
12.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Ashland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Callahan's Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Callahan's Mountain Lodge

Address: 7100 Old Highway 99 S, Exit 6 on Interstate 5, Ashland, OR 97520-8747
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Ashland
Price Range: $129 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Callahan's Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Callahan's Mountain Lodge is a family owned and operated business in Southern Oregon for 69 years, founded in 1947. Callahan's is nestled below Mt. Ashland and conveniently located 11 miles from Ashland, Oregon. Awarded 4 years in a row for the best restaurant by the Ashland Gallery Association, Executive Chef Nate Croslin has 28 years of experience. His creative, artistic and culinary vision will bring your pallets to life with an assortment of hors d'oeuvre, entree and dessert choices. Callahan's has a full service bar suited for any occasion. Head Bartender, Matthew Westbrook has 14 years experience and brings his honed craft from Seattle, Washington, in the lush Pacific Northwest. He can handle any drink option with the artistic flair needed to make a drink - truly special. Inside Callahan's you and your guests can enjoy our 4 story lodge which features 19 spacious rooms with Jacuzzi tubs in every one and fireplaces in 16 of 19 rooms. Penthouses, 2 room suites or single and double queen rooms will ensure you and your guests have the right room for your special moments. Callahan's outdoor space encompasses a deck dining area which can accommodate up to 160 guests. This dining area overlooks our waterfall and gazebo which pillars our 12,000 square foot lawn that can accommodate up to 250 guests. We also have a large indoor banquet room which can accommodate up to 160 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Callahan's Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing