We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First-rate theater” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oregon Shakespeare Festival

Oregon Shakespeare Festival
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: You don't need to head to England to experience the genius of a Shakespearean play. Much closure to home is the Oregon Shakespeare Festival located in Ashland, Oregon. Every year at the end of October you can enjoy on average over ten of Shakespeare's plays performed in both classic and newly imagined style. Separate tickets are needed for each show which is held one of the event campus's two indoor one outdoor spa
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“First-rate theater”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Let's put it this way: OSF is why I moved to Ashland from the Bay Area. Does that make it clear?

2013: Everything (so far) is good. "Shrew", with its modern setting (that happens to be authentic, by a strange twist) is one of the stand-outs. Love the energy, the comedy, and the modern take on the obedience story.

"Lear" is amazing. I've seen it here and elsewhere several times, but this is the best so far. The cast demolishes preconceptions about who is the injured party; expect to despise and pity everyone.

In case no one else mentioned it, the "New Theatre" is now the "Thomas Theatre". Don't get lost, it's still next to the box office (ok, the current box office).

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank W0X0F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,057
    131
    36
    20
    16
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Akashi, Japan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fun matinee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

Saw Cocoanuts--charming, loads of fun. One thing a bit inconvenient about Angus Bowmer Theater is that their are no center isles, everyone must come and go from either side.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Tempest and the Cocoanuts...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

I went to see this Shakespearean play dragging and kicking. My Shakespearean memories from school left me with what I assumed was very little understanding of the "spoken words" at the age of 16 - however now at the age of 54 either the production was either extremely clever at portraying the meaning of the story or I have finally experienced enough of life to be able to understand the actual meaning of the play. I must say I left having had an amazing first time Shakespearean experience. The Tempest was exceptional, the stage, the lighting and the acting made it a worthwhile experience. Well done. We then went to see the Cocoanuts and once again I was impressed - a very clever play with excellent acting - Marx was played exceptionally well. Well done - we will be back.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Zickus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Theater Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

High quality theater in all of it's genres: Shakespeare, musicals, new plays and classics. Not to be missed. See anything, it will be wonderful!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Teresa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowmore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

My spring trip to Ashland yielded another great experience. I saw three plays - The Tempest, The Sign in Sydney Brustien"s Window, and Comedy of Errors. All thought provoking, well-acted and entertaining. My favorite - Sydney. Most fun - Comedy.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Randy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oregon Shakespeare Festival also viewed

 

Been to Oregon Shakespeare Festival? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing