We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Best theatre festival anywhere

With 12 plays per year—Shakespeare, modern, commissions and musicals, they have it all and A... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
Susan R
,
Ashland, Oregon, United States
via mobile
Shakespeare was wonderful but.....

Ashland is a beautiful place to visit. Shakespeare Festival was wonderful but, the fires surrounded... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
Lisa S
,
Ashland, Oregon
via mobile
Read all 1,509 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Ashland
from $99.00
More Info
from $89.00
More Info
from $89.00
More Info
from $89.00
More Info
Reviews (1,509)
Filter reviews
1,505 results
Traveler rating
1,250
158
46
29
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1,250
158
46
29
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews backstage tour elizabethan theatre romeo and juliet merry wives of windsor box office julius caesar angus bowmer theater roe great theatre open air world class shakespeare festival top notch year after year high quality high school three days
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,505 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

With 12 plays per year—Shakespeare, modern, commissions and musicals, they have it all and A+ quality actors and theatres.

Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Ashland is a beautiful place to visit. Shakespeare Festival was wonderful but, the fires surrounded Ashland and we were sitting in smoke watching the play.

Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

This has become a center for new and innovative productions, including the minority of Shakespeare plays they produce. Read up before you go so you can choose wisely; not every play will appeal to everyone, although each one will be thought and conversation provoking. We see them all so as not to miss a good one;>) Be sure to schedule a backstage tour if you can, and do not miss the talkback by an actor in the play which usually occur throughout the summer in the Allen after the play the actor is in. The Green performances are also worth checking out, and free!

Thank adventuresomecali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

After an absence of almost three years because we were living overseas, we made it back to the OSF. Too late in the season for the outdoor Theatre. But we saw Othello in the Bowmer Theatre and Manhattan in the small theatre. Both were outstanding.

Thank wendyk621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

In Ashland for only one night, we got tickets for “Sense and Sensibility.” The staging was creative and the performance was spirited and clever. Every actor was strong in representing the characters I remember from reading this Jane Austen novel many years ago.

Thank BetsyR19130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

With several theaters indoors and outside you just can’t miss booking a night at The Shakesphere Festival! The plays are varied and not all by Shakesphere. The theater company takes “creative license” sometimes with Classic plays...turning drama into comedy, or changing the setting from Verona, Italy (Romero and Juilet) to “The Wild West”! Tickets for the day of the show can be purchased for half price at the box office 3 hours before showtime too! (Bargains!) The Theater is dark on Monday’s, but there is a Cabaret in town that features womdeful plays! (I saw a comedy written by Steve Martin - Picasso when last in Ashland)

Thank Jolee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We manage to get down to Ashland every 2-3 years to take in the plays. We are fortunate to have a world-class theatre company here in Oregon! Saw Othello and Romeo and Juliet in the Elizabethian Theatre under the stars. Othello proves again Shakespear's genius in exploring themes that are as timely today as when written in the 1600's. I thought the modern adaptation worked well and helped to make the play more current.
Romeo and Juliet is, of course, another classic. Our first time in the Elizabethan at night. Great experience but, as others have noted, this time year important to dress warmly and bring a blanket!

Thank maana16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I drove down from Seattle to stay for 2 nights and see Loves Labor Lost at the Elizabethan Theatre. Loved it!!! Just be sure to wear warm clothing in the Fall and bring a blanket. Definitely will be back to take in more plays.

Thank jessica651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Just amazing offerings with great casts year after year make going to OSF in Ashland a no-brainer. Not just Shakespeare, but world and US premiers all performed sublimely by one of the few repertoire companies anywhere. Plays that began here have found their way to Broadway (and even to HBO!).
Have been 7 times without a disappointing theater experience. GO!

Thank sandrasT7532MK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2018 via mobile

This is the most creative and inventive theater company on the West Coast. Blending traditional Shakespeare with modern themes and environments, this group crafts an exceptional experience. We saw three plays: Loves Labors Lost, Oklahoma and The Book of Will. Each was superb.

Loves Labors Lost infused the principals with modern-day sensibilities, as the four noblemen swear off women for the purpose of devoting themselves to study and the acquisition of knowledge. Rather than depicting these four as stuffy, out-of-touch elites, they looked and behaved like four college, socially awkward freshman who simply don’t know what they want. Well, at least until they see the girls, and then they go about trying to impress them by performing grunge rock and roll, performing under the name of “The Muscovites”!

The Book of Will was equally inventive, telling the tale of how Shakespeare’s company pieced together and published his plays after his death, saving them for all time.

Finally, the musical Oklahoma was sublimely staged, sung and acted....with a twist. The main love interests are all same sex relationships. Yes, yes I know, as if a ballet of dancing cowboys wasn’t gay enough already, but this really was quite extraordinary. Besides, it was incredible fun to have a man perform “I’m just a boy who can’t say no”; talk about a role reversal!

So come. Enjoy the shows and the town and Southern Oregon. It is a singularly wonderful Western experience

P.S. Be on time!!! Late comers really are not admitted and there is no courtesy 5 minute delay...the plays start on time.

Thank jjparis_delmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews