We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The reason we go”

Oregon Shakespeare Festival
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: You don't need to head to England to experience the genius of a Shakespearean play. Much closer to home is the Oregon Shakespeare Festival located in Ashland, Oregon. Every year at the end of October you can enjoy on average over ten of Shakespeare's plays performed in both classic and newly imagined style. Separate tickets are needed for each show which is held at one of the event campus's two indoor or one outdoor spaces.
San Leandro, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The reason we go”
Reviewed April 27, 2012

2012 is a banner year for us. We not only enjoyed four great plays, but joined the Festival.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeyBoyCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,110
    136
    37
    22
    18
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding talent”
Reviewed April 25, 2012

The festival never disappoints my thirst for excellent theater. After several years you can watch the same actors in different roles and come to appreciate their supreme talents. I come every year and will continue. It fills me up...

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, California
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“An Entertainment Gem”
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Awesome theatrical performances. The variety of plays keep us coming back. It's not only Shakespeare, so we can always find several that we want to see. The 3 different theaters create nice, different experiences. The OSF actors and staff are always friendly--and oh, so talented! The fact that people have been coming to the plays for 30-40 years is a true testiment to the quality of OSF.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank simondsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester,MA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Top notch professional productions”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Innovative interpretation of Troilus and Cressida. Intimate space.
Even with a full house it never felt crowded. Diverse audience. All ages and good family atmosphere.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank andrewlad304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
282 reviews
116 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Groucho, Chico, Harpo & Zeppo ~ Brilliant in "Animal Crackers"”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Last week I had the wonderful opportunity to attend the Oregon Shakespeare Festival's pre-season performance of "Animal Crackers". It was a perfectly performed afternoon chock full of Marx Brothers mayhem and fun!

So many people don't realize this annual festival in Southern Oregon offers much more than Shakespeare (although those plays are equally enjoyable).

After attending several plays on Broadway in NYC, I have to say Ashland meets & exceeds those standards.

The town of Ashland is beautiful too - filled with blooming flowers; pristine streets lined with lovely shops, restaurants and boutiques... and don't miss a stroll through Lithia Park (right in center of town) to enjoy the swans and serenity.

Go online to the Oregon Shakespeare Festival site to click on various play "previews" as well as video interviews with directors, etc. The volunteers and employees of the festival are also wonderful and helpful.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Ticolover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oregon Shakespeare Festival also viewed

 

Been to Oregon Shakespeare Festival? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing