We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Theater lover's paradise”

Oregon Shakespeare Festival
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: You don't need to head to England to experience the genius of a Shakespearean play. Much closer to home is the Oregon Shakespeare Festival located in Ashland, Oregon. Every year at the end of October you can enjoy on average over ten of Shakespeare's plays performed in both classic and newly imagined style. Separate tickets are needed for each show which is held at one of the event campus's two indoor or one outdoor spaces.
FORT COLLINS
Level 6 Contributor
345 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Theater lover's paradise”
Reviewed September 5, 2011

OSF has been operating for 75 years. Top quality theater and acting daily during their long season (dark on mondays). Excellent repetory theater with actors performing roles in several productions-that alone is impressive! Outdoor Shakespeare theater is wonderful at night (gets chilly in late summer-be prepared). New Theater (in round) is continuosly sold out-small venue, great shows. Bohmer Theater is great too-larger venue for other shows.
About a dozen productions annually-half Shakespeare or similar vintage-other newer. wonderful experience.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank HARLAND R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,115
    136
    37
    22
    19
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Live theater at its best! Shakespeare & more”
Reviewed September 3, 2011

With 3 theaters showing matinees & evening shows every day except Monday, there is something for everyone at the OSF. Go to the website to view clips from the productions to help you decide.
We saw Love's Labor Lost, one of the Bard's least performed comedies, at the Shakespearean theater. Somehow they managed to makes sense of it in modern costumes--think ladies-in-waiting in poodle skirts-- it was hilarious. It can get cold in the outdoor theater, so take layers.
Our other choice was Ghost Light, a world premiere, in the New Theater. It portrays the struggle to grow up by Jon, the son of George Moscone, assassinated while mayor of San Francisco in 1978. It sounds heavy and it is, but there were huge moments of comic relief and many allusions to Hamlet. (Recommended for mature audiences, age 16 and up.)
Live theater is not cheap, but this is worth a splurge. There is also the free "Green Show" and paid events like stage tours. Oh yes, and it's not just for summer--some of the plays run from February through November.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great performances!”
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Ashland’s world-class repertory company puts a modern spin on Shakespeare. They pushed it a bit far (for me) by portraying Julius Caesar as a woman. But I can’t say enough good things about the production of The Pirates of Penzance, a pastiche that included occasional musical bursts from The Godfather, Porgy and Bess and assorted classics. We loved it!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank BetsyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, California
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The cast was great, the modern staging of Shakespeare was distracting”
Reviewed August 28, 2011

I wish the literature had been emphatic that the costuming would not be period, we would have selected a different play. The Box Office was efficient and friendly. The playhouse great.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank dave_fisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bob7845, Manager at Oregon Shakespeare Festival, responded to this review, August 30, 2011
Thanks for seeing a show at OSF! We do post lots of photos and videos of every production on our website so folks can actually see what the productions look like and choose their favorites. Hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Something for everyone”
Reviewed August 27, 2011

This year the OSF had a little of everything, more traditional Shakespeare (Henry IV, with slightly updated costumes), experimental Shakespeare (Julius Caesar played by a woman, with the audience playing the Roman crowds), Gilbert & Sullivan, and a Pulitzer-winning play (August: Osage County). Moliere's French farce was updated to the 1960's (some loved it and some hated it). Measure for Measure was cast race- and gender-blind and set in modern times in a Latino Vienna, but preserving Shakespeare's words.

If you're open minded and want to see great acting this is the place for you. I thought I was more of a traditionalist, but this year and last I have to admit I enjoyed everything.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Silvia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oregon Shakespeare Festival also viewed

 

Been to Oregon Shakespeare Festival? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing