We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location with some lack of privacy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shaw's Oceanfront B&B
Ranked #3 of 3 Arch Cape B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 4, 2013

The view and accessibility of the ocean are hard to beat. The Shaws even loaned me their 100lb lab, Max, for a walk on the beach.The curb appeal is lovely and the gardens are very well kept. The deck is perfect for napping and reading. There were fresh flowers in the dining room and bedroom which was a lovely touch.
This unit, however, is the other half of a duplex which raises the privacy issue for me. The carpet is in dire need of replacement as is the sofabed. Other than that, it feels like a lovingly kept beach home.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank janemccoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (13)
There are newer reviews for Shaw's Oceanfront B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 13 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2013

What a wonderful, relaxing Easter holiday for our family of four! We didn't want to stay in a hotel and were seeking a more intimate, quiet place for some rest and relaxation. Luckily, we saw the uniquely located Shaw's Bed and Breakfast at Cape Arch on line. The setting couldn't be more perfect. The property is beachfront and very private. Jim and Barb Shaw were wonderful hosts who provided plenty of local history, and made us feel comfortable and attended to in every way. Our room was squeaky clean, with a well equipped kitchen, 2 bathrooms and an ocean view sitting area. Each morning the Shaws came to our room and made a healthy and delicious breakfast for our family. The sun was out so we enjoyed long walks on the beach each day. What a treat! We will for sure return to this special B and B.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnneW866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed at Shaw's for a week and loved every moment! The Shaw's are the perfect hosts! We were met each morning with an incredible breakfast. Our morning chats were full of local info, including where to spend the day, great hikes, places to explore and a little history of the area. We loved the surrounding English garden. Most delightful! It was hard to pull ourselves from the beautiful view of the ocean and Castle Rock but our low tide walks were so relaxing. From finding rock pools and all their little treasures, to finding beach waterfalls and gorgeous hike views, Shaw's is the perfect location! On a really low tide, you can walk from Arch Cape all the way to Cannon Beach! I recommend this to couples or a family of three (the window seat in the living area is perfect for a child to sleep on). There is also a pullout couch to sleep on. The kitchen is fully equipped for anything you might want to cook if you prefer not to eat out for dinner or lunch (the deck was our perfect eating spot). We shall return!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Theresa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We stayed at Shaw's in January, 2012 and loved everything about it! The view is so awesome and it is only a few steps to the beach. Jim and Barbara are wonderful, friendly hosts. The seating is comfortable, as is the bed. Having 2 bathrooms was convenient and everything was spotlessly clean. The kitchen was so well equipped that we had no trouble finding everything needed to cook. There were even spices! There is only one unit, so you have the entire side of the house to yourself. Castle Rock is just out the window and watching the waves crash around it was spell binding. The area is quiet and close enough to Cannon Beach to be very convenient. We hope to stay again many, many times. You won't be sorry going to Shaw's!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gdalelovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

This B & B is private and cozy with exactly what you hope to find at the Oregon coast - the ocean outside of your living room window! Between the wonderful hospitality of your hosts, the Shaws, and the stunning views of the ocean, you'll never want to leave this ideal oceanfront home-away-from-home. We're pretty sure our German Shepherd would also agree! We visited once in October, then again during the holiday season, and we already know we WILL be back in 2012.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J_and_M_Oregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2010

Shaw's B&B is in a nice quiet neighborhood on the oceanfront with direct access to a wonderful uncrowded sandy beach.
Mr and Mrs Shaw are very gracious host's and can tell you all about the sights to see in the area as they have lived in Arch Cape for many years.
The Ocean Views are outstanding .
And the breakfast was really good also.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gorgeguy37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2009

The view is amazing -- you are as close to the beach as you can get. I loved waking up and stepping out the door onto the beach for a long walk.
You have a kitchen, one bedroom, two bathrooms and a living room. The bedroom is small -- difficult to put your suitcases in.
The owners are connected by a door they can open -- my husband felt a lack of privacy about that even though they did not come in unannounced or at a time other than to prepare breakfast. He was a little uncomfortable with this. You cannot lock the door on your side.
The furniture is dated and a little worn -- it appears to be as old as the place -- about 30 years.
Breakfast served the first day was a plum tart -- it was very good but, to me, was not a breakfast I would have chosen -- The second day was better with pancakes and sausage and eggs.
The view -- I would stay again because of the view.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank kapmap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arch Cape
0.2 mi away
Arch Cape Inn & Retreat
Arch Cape Inn & Retreat
#1 of 1 in Arch Cape
272 reviews
4.5 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 15 in Cannon Beach
2,118 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,644 reviews
13.2 mi away
Best Western Ocean View Resort
0.2 mi away
The Inn at Arch Cape
The Inn at Arch Cape
#2 of 3 in Arch Cape
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shaw's Oceanfront B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaw's Oceanfront B&B

Address: 79924 Cannon Rd, Arch Cape, OR 97102-0164
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Arch Cape
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Arch Cape
Hotel Class:3 star — Shaw's Oceanfront B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a Bed and Breakfast we provide our guests with full body and mind rejuvenation. The atmosphere here is so natural that all we have to do is give you, our guest a few hours of peace and quiet, then the transformation begins. When you leave is when we meet our new friend for the first time, It's always rewarding and enjoyable to share in these moments. The Shaw's B&B ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Shaw's Oceanfront B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaw's Oceanfront B&B Arch Cape, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing