We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (294)
Filter reviews
294 results
Traveler rating
195
58
26
12
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
195
58
26
12
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother guestscannon beachwine hourtower roomoregon coasteach morningsocial hourbed and breakfastview of the oceanlovely weekendcomplimentary glass of winegourmet breakfastginger roomhug pointhighly recommend this b bliving roomparisian room
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 294 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2018

We booked the owners suite via Orbitz for a special 2 night stay in Cannon Beach. After our first night, and in-room breakfast, we went downtown to enjoy the city. Shortly after leaving, we received an email saying that they found we had a child with us (a 3yr old boy who was very well behaved), and that it was against their "no child" policy. They subsequently told us to contact Orbitz for rebooking for the 2nd night. I spoke to the manager, who confirmed this saying that it was the owners decision to kick us out due to their policy. We, of course, had no idea that this policy was in place. After reviewing the description on Orbitz, we found the no child policy at the bottom of the details.
We were on a two week trip through Oregon, so packing up and switching hotels wasn't an easy thing.. and Orbitz was horrible through the process, keeping me on hold or with various agents for over 1.5 hours.. this, inevitably ruined the one full day we had in Cannon beach.
We ended up moving to the Inn at Cannon Beach, which was a MUCH better place. Afterwards, I discovered that the hotel charged me for both nights, despite being kicked out. Orbitz contacted them for the refund, and they DENIED it - so I've been stuck with paying for this place PLUS the new hotel. This is not over, and I'm continuing to try and get my money back.
I understand that they have a "no child" policy, however I'm appalled at the horrible customer service they exhibited by forcing us to leave instead of just letting us stay one more night. The manager Kim just said it was the owners decision, and pushed us to Orbitz instead of taking ownership and making it right for us.

  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank HowardW169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
00gc, Manager at Arch Cape Inn & Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2018

Dear Howard,

Thank you for visiting us during your travels to Oregon. We understand your frustration. Unfortunately, reservations made through third party websites (OTA's), such as Orbitz, must be handled by them. We clearly communicate our reservations policies to OTA's. However, we have no control over the way any of the OTA's manage information when creating a third party contract with its clients, such as yourselves. If you felt misled or confused, we recommend that you contact them again directly for assistance.

Stephen Malkowski - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2018

We stayed here for a few days during July in the Ginger room. I'll admit that we didn't stay on the property very much as we were out and about exploring the scenery, towns, and beaches.

The best quality about this place is the location. You're literally across the street from the beach which is a resident beach so it's never crowded. Also, it's between Cannon Beach and Manzanita. These are the 2 towns that you will do your shopping and eating. Both towns are about 10 minutes away north or south respectively. The inn itself is located off the highway on an unpaved road away from the traffic. The actual entrance door is in the back which requires a code to unlock. The building is gorgeous and has lots of character.

The impairment of this place is that the breakfast wasn't very good. At least for our taste and what we're used to at a B&B level. They will substitute if you don't like a certain dish, but typically it's the same kind of plate every breakfast (egg/veggie, sausage, and fruit). The rooms are spacious and clean, but are in dire need of updating. The walls are very thin and the room has a musty smell.

It's a nice place to stay, but for the price, I'd look somewhere else that offers a bit more.

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lance M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
00gc, Owner at Arch Cape Inn & Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2018

Lance, thank you for being our guest. We are pleased to know our location worked well for you and that you overall had a good stay. However, we are sorry we missed meeting some of your expectations with our breakfast offerings and also regret the odor issue you had in your room. We have discussed your comments with the appropriate teams to improve our service and facilities. Also, note that our pricing is competitive with other hotels in the area. We hope the positive aspects of your visit will encourage you both to choose us again in the future.

Stephen Malkowski - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2018 via mobile

Hosts are warm and gracious, breakfasts were beyond expectation. 9am is perfect for a three course breakfast that kept our appetites fulfilled until mid-afternoon. We stayed in room 6 which does have a lovely coastal view (not pictured here). Only thing that would keep us from returning was the mattress in our room. So soft that you could feel every movement the other person made, leaving my boyfriend tired with daytime back pain. With that said if it hadn't been fully booked during our stay I am sure the hosts would have tried to accommodate us. They take pride in due diligence, keeping their guests comfortable in a relaxed yet very quiet and private setting with late checking in accomodations (bedtime snack & chocolates etc). Pictures are from the beach across the street as well as the state park just south of the B&B. Cheers Kara & Paul.

Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank rhodyrx99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
00gc, Owner at Arch Cape Inn & Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2018

Kara & Paul, we appreciate your wonderful feedback after visiting at Arch Cape Inn & Retreat! Thank you for letting us know your stay was perfect in most of the ways. However, we are sorry for the uncomfortable experience you had due to the mattress. We appreciate your business and look forward to your return.

Stephen Malkowski - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2018

Lovely building. Hard to believe that it is not older than it is. Very well maintained. As everyone else says, food is very good and late afternoon hors d'oeuvres amazing. Ocean not visible from property (except for little glimpses upstairs). Kim and Char are phenomenal.....
My criticism has to do with the room furnishings. Actual room was very large and airy, though windows were very hard to open. The furniture was old, not in good condition and uncomfortable, and the bed was only double-sized, even though room was large. Getting new furniture or at least furniture that is more functional would make a big difference. Nevertheless, I do recommend the place and the area is just beautiful, especially for great short hikes which end at the beach.

Room Tip: see review
  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pickypicky911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
00gc, Owner at Arch Cape Inn & Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2018

Thank you for the wonderful review and for recommending the Arch Cape Inn and Retreat to future travelers. Our staff strives hard to help you relax and enjoy a peaceful escape from your daily routine, and we are thrilled we accomplished that for you. I will be sure to share your compliments with Kim and Char. We also appreciate your suggestions as it will help us to enhance our future guests’ experience. We look forward to your return visit.

Stephen Malkowski - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2018 via mobile

We stayed one night in this lovely inn. We arrived early enough in the afternoon to enjoy a complimentary glass of wine and some delicious aperitifs with several of the other guests.
The welcome and service provided was immaculate, the tower room a lovely room to spend the night.
The complimentary three-course breakfast was delicious, the service impeccable.
I would highly recommend this beautiful Inn.

Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Mirjam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
00gc, Owner at Arch Cape Inn & Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2018

Mirjam, thank you for your glorious comments regarding your stay at Arch Cape Inn & Retreat. We are thrilled to know we met all your expectations, and you especially enjoyed the delicious complimentary breakfast. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you both again soon.

Stephen Malkowski - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews