We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Arch Cape Inn & Retreat
Ranked #2 of 4 Arch Cape B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York State
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
Reviewed August 27, 2009

This was our first visit to area and we fell in love with the Oregon coast. Our stay at Arch Cape just reinforced our first impressions. Cynthia and Stephen are delightful and the staff is wonderful. Chef Jon Hoffman served wonderful breakfasts and dinners. We look forward to returning. Beautiful property that is a great base for touring the coastal beaches, parks and seaside towns.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose-n-Frank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    53
    23
    12
    2
See reviews for
19
207
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2009

Our stay at Arch Cape was fantastic. The inn, located just a few miles from touristy Cannon Beach, felt a world away. Our room was very comfortable with all the accessories you would expect for such an establishment. The staff was very hospitable and knowledgeable on the local area. They provided much guidance on local hikes and where to see the best tide pools (which coincidentally for us, happened to be at the beach right across the street!)

By far the highlight of our stay was the food! Jonathan (and Rod) delighted us at each and every meal. Our first night was their Saturday night seafood boil which was just wonderful. Breakfast is a treat - be prepared for the unexpected. The food was so imaginatively yet deliciously prepared, that we ate 3 of our 4 dinners right at the inn. Jonathan is a treasure and we hope he remains for our future visits.

If we had one suggestion, it would be just a bit more attention to daily housekeeping. Nothing outrageous, but for an establishment of this caliber, a bit more care would be appreciated.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phlattop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seamar, Owner at Arch Cape Inn & Retreat, responded to this review, October 29, 2009
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was such a pleasure watching you two get to know this area of the Nation. It seemed you were particularly enjoying all the fresh Summer foods! Thank you for your kind words about our Staff. We hope to see you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland,oregon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2009

We stayed in the Tucsun Spa with our dog, Hana! We loved the Sauna and the shower was the most spacious I have ever been in.
The bed was a treat as well. I wish we would of had a better view of the ocean but who needs it with that cedar sauna! What a treat!
The breakfast was yummy! I just wish B&B's made the breakfast later in the morning.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Portlandface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArchCapeHouse, Owner at Arch Cape Inn & Retreat, responded to this review, August 5, 2009
Tuscan Spa, one of our newest rooms, has turned out to be so incredibly popular, especially with active outdoorsy folks. Someone told us that it should be a suite next to the REI climbing rock!!! It is definitely not a traditional room. People love the open shower and river stone floor. It is sort of like taking a shower outside. Which does make up for the scant view!! The sauna and shower combination is divine. We are happy that you loved your time with us. And, we can't wait for you to come back again, too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tn
1 review
Reviewed July 13, 2009

Just returned from our first trip to the Oregon coast. After a very stressful day of travel the Arch Cape Inn was just the relaxing spot we needed. We were able to make it in time for the Saturday night crab boil and then watched the sun set on the porch. By the next morning we were relaxed and ready to enjoy the coast.

The food was incredible. The chef (Devin??) is the best Oregon travel guide available. The staff was very friendly and made our stay great.

I would recommend the Arch Cape Inn to anyone looking for a great inn on the Oregon coast and/or great food.

Thanks again!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jttn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArchCapeHouse, Owner at Arch Cape Inn & Retreat, responded to this review, August 5, 2009
We were all so happy to host your visit...and all the way from Tennessee, no less! We really hope that you enjoyed your stay in our special little corner of the nation. Our chef, Jonathan, is a true native outdoors man, which shows in his regional cuisine and in his lively tales of the local area. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creswell, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2009

I found Arch Cape Inn while helping my very good friend from out of state select a romantic place to stay for their wedding weekend. The pictures on the Inns website sold us both immediatly, but we were not quiet prepared for the absolute beauty of both the outside and inside of the Inn when we arrived.
The rooms were fabulous (we reserved the Provence and Heather). They were clean, roomy, and yes, very romantic. The food served at breakfast was to die for and the Crab feast on Saturday was alot of fun!
We did not have the pleasure of meeting Cynthia and Stephen as they were out of town, however, Susie was very gracious and made sure all of our needs were met. The rest of the staff was wonderful as well.

What a memorable weekend. We will be back!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ninidee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArchCapeHouse, Owner at Arch Cape Inn & Retreat, responded to this review, August 5, 2009
Thank you so much for the wonderful words. We are always so happy when the romance of the Inn creates the perfect backdrop for something as important and special as a wedding celebration. And thank you for acknowledging our amazing staff that makes every day possible for all us here at the Inn!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2009

My wife and I spent a Saturday night recently at this Inn to celebrate Mother's day. On arrival there were no papers to sign, etc. which was nice after a long day/drive. We were told about the Inn and escorted directly to our room (Heather) on the top floor. The room was huge, very well appointed and clean (sorry, no camera, no pics this time). It had a huge walk-in shower, a very soft queen bed, a nice gas fireplace, view of the ocean in the distrance, and a very private deck overlooking the garden. At 5:30pm they hosted a winetasting in the lobby which was a nice way to interact with the other guests. We really enjoyed the lobby area with it's large fireplace and couches. It also opens up to a covered deck with a nice view of the ocean (perfect place for your morning coffee). On Saturday evenings they have an all-you-can-eat crab dinner which includes beer and wine. I wish I had the appetite that evening because I'm sure I would have enjoyed it, unfortunately "mom" had already been treated to a large lunch with the kids a few hours before we arrived. From the sounds coming from the dining area it must have been a lot of fun. In the morning their chef prepared a special five course gourmet brunch especially for mother's day. I have to say it was one of the best and most interesting meals I've ever had, anywhere. The only surprise, and this isn't necessarily a negative depending on what you like, is that the beach is about 150 - 200 yards from the Inn. It's an easy walk and very, very private. I was kind of expecting the beach to be closer, but no big deal. The Inn is about a 10 minute drive from Cannon Beach. I actually like that it's not closer to town because I'm not a real fan of CB and it's ripoff shops, crowds, and restaurants anyway. I think the wife and I may make this an annual Mother's day trek. Next year though I'm going to skip lunch on the day I arrive and enjoy the excellent dinner at the Inn. Many thanks to the Arch Cape Inn and their wonderful staff for a very relaxing and memorable weekend. Even the weather cooperated for a change.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RicV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArchCapeHouse, Owner at Arch Cape Inn & Retreat, responded to this review, May 13, 2009
Wow....thank you so much for the wonderful, wonderful words. We don't know what to say, except 'Thank You'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gromare
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2009

We were very excited to come to this hotel and had heard good things about it. We adored the French room for its interior and outstanding ocean view and fireplace. The social hour before dinner is a very nice idea, and we enjoyed it Saturday when we decided to have the dinner. The cuisine is of excellent quality and the food presentation was very professional and it was a real feast to eat and share this experience with other hotel guests. Very intimate and friendly atmosphere.
We hope to be able to return soon when the weather is a little better and we can enjoy the outdoor seating place. Many thanks to a very friendly and professional staff.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gromare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArchCapeHouse, Owner at Arch Cape Inn & Retreat, responded to this review, May 10, 2009
More than anything, thank you so much for acknowledging our Chefs.....who work so hard and have such passion for preparing memorable experiences for our guests. Thank you for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arch Cape
4.3 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 14 in Cannon Beach
2,027 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,561 reviews
4.5 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,788 reviews
5.6 mi away
Surfsand Resort
Surfsand Resort
#4 of 14 in Cannon Beach
2,511 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hallmark Resort & Spa Cannon Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arch Cape Inn & Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arch Cape Inn & Retreat

Property: Arch Cape Inn & Retreat
Address: 31970 E Ocean Ln, Arch Cape, OR 97102-0145
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Arch Cape
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Arch Cape
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arch Cape Inn & Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello from beautiful Cannon Beach, Oregon! I am reaching out as the proud owner of the acclaimed Arch Cape Inn and Retreat, located just south of Cannon Beach, the crown jewel of the Pacific North Coast. I have lived in our county for 40 years and the primary reason that I established the Arch Cape Inn was to be able to share this area with people from all over the world and to hopefully help everyone to see this majestic area through my eyes, sharing all that is special about it with everyone who comes through our doors. We know everyone and everything in town, from Manzanita to Astoria. The Oregon Coast is vibrant all year long and here we say In Oregon there is no bad weather, only inappropriate dress. So, even in winter, located in one of the world’s only temperate rain forests, we celebrate all year long, with so many things to see and do. The Arch Cape Inn is a warm, welcoming and comfortable place to choose as a base camp in order to see, do, experience and explore all that this area has to offer in the form of day trips and guided tours. My staff has been carefully selected to be the warm and welcoming people that you would expect to support your very special visit to this area, able to personally assist with any aspect of the itinerary that you choose to create, according to your interests. In addition, the comfort of the Inn, the complimentary Afternoon Wine and Hor Doeuvres and 3-Course healthy, creative and delightful breakfast will support your stay here in grand and European style. Please let me know how I and my staff may assist you with the visit to our area that you will cherish as one of your fondest memories. We look forward to meeting you! Sincerely, Cynthia Malkowski Owner Arch Cape Inn & Retreat ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Arch Cape Inn & Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arch Cape Inn & Retreat Hotel Arch Cape
Arch Cape Inn And Retreat
Arch Cape Inn & Retreat Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing