We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Arch Cape Inn & Retreat
Ranked #2 of 4 Arch Cape B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manhattan Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We spent one night at the Inn on our way down the coast. It is situated a few miles from downtown Cannon Beach and our room had a peekaboo ocean view. We were greeted warmly during happy hour and enjoyed a glass of wine and some snacks with the other guests as we got settled in. We were shown to our room (Ginger) which was nice although a little tired and worn around the edges. The bathroom area in general was a bit awkward and sink and shower need updating. The innkeeper was quick to help us plan a nice dinner out in Cannon Beach and made a reservation for us - securing an oceanfront table with a spectacular view of Haystack Rock which we really appreciated and enjoyed. Breakfast is a 2-course meal and very very good - served in a pretty room off the living area with views of the forest. Overall it was a good stay, although brief.

Room Tip: There is some road noise so if that bothers you be aware.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllysonJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    53
    21
    12
    2
See reviews for
18
203
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver Area
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We visited the Arch Cape Inn for a wedding, and our group had the entire Inn reserved. Overall, our experience at the Inn was very good. The breakfast and wedding dinner buffet were both very good, and the wine social hours were very enjoyable. Our hosts were very cordial and helpful.

Our room was the Provence room, which is on the bottom floor of the inn, with its own private walkout patio which made for easy access to parking and loading/unloading. The room has a separate living area and bedroom area with a jetted tub. The living area has a small TV in an armoire with a fridge underneath.

The furnishings and fixtures are a little older, some of which adds to the charm, some of which are not desirable. The bathroom sink area is awkward with a strange overhang and a faucet which barely runs. The shower is a nice tiled shower, but no shower curtain or door. The floors in this room are all tile (hard and a little cold, especially on this basement level), with minimal area rugs. The towels were horrendous - they could take the skin right off of you - like sandpaper. It seems that no facility that is built for sleeping (hotel, B&B, etc) makes any effort to provide quality pillows, and the inn is no exception. Our room was on the bottom (basically the basement) floor, so no view of anything except the parking area.

The location of the inn is excellent, close to the bustling tourist town of Cannon Beach, but not so close that it is in the main tourist area. A short walk gets you to the beautiful beach. The inn itself is NOT on the beach, in fact it is across highway 101 from the beach, but it is within walking distance. Don't expect great cell phone reception, but the free Wi-Fi worked well.

Overall, a very nice place to stay. I'm not sure that the value is there for the price, but they try very hard to make the inn and your stay as pleasant as possible.

Room Tip: The upper floors might have ocean views. Our room did not, but it had easy access for loading/unlo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RRColo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Interesting place to stay! To be fair, we are not typically B&B people, mainly because we have lots of hotel points. I booked this inn based on Frommer's and we were not disappointed. The pluses, charm- very old world, nice rooms, interesting guests to meet, beautiful outdoor space, and most of all the beach directly across the highway.
They do not serve breakfast till 9:00 am, since we were in EST & CST, we were up early. As soon as it was light, we grabbed complimentary tea (coffee comes out at 7:30) and headed out for our beach walk. Truly amazing!! Private, you may see one or two other people on a huge beach and you are incredibly close to nature. Be sure to go at low tide and see all the starfish and amneones on the huge rocks. One of the coolest sights I have ever seen, aside from snorkeling. Lots and lots of sand dollars, just don't take the live ones.
Breakfast is interesting, some courses are stellar and some are slight misses, presentation is lovely, coffee is wonderful.
Wine hour is nice and a great chance to meet others. Depending on who is working it is relaxing and welcoming or a bit rushed.
Minuses- Kind of strange to be told you need my wine glass so it can be put in the dishwasher before you leave and strange that no management is on site 24/7. There is highway noise, it bothered my husband more than me.
I would recommend to anyone that did not mind taking a short drive to get to Cannon Beach or Manzanita.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mauimeplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We recently spent three nights at the inn on a striclty leisure vacation. The inn is located about 10 minutes from the heart of Cannon Beach in a quiet location. The staff at the inn are quite friendly and quick to help plan your stay. The breakfasts each morning prepared by Chef Ira (?) were not the usual fare but quite delicious. The chef would visit each table to be certain the guests were pleased with what was prepared--great three course breakfasts.
The wine and cheese gatherings in the afternoon afforded us the opportunity of meeting the other guests. I am not sure if the inn caters to a particular clientele but the guests were the friendliest group of individuals we have ever encountered at a B&B. Thoroughly enjoyed our conversations.
We stayed in Tower 6 and the room was quite comfortable. It had a separate sitting room located in the turret portion of the room. My wife loved the bed and we could see the ocean from our windows. A word of caution if you are a light sleeper--highway noise can be a factor especially the trucks braking.

Great stay and we would go back again.

Room Tip: Tower 6 was beautiful and spacious but be aware of highway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMiller08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

When you first drive up to this Inn and see the sublime beauty of this Inn you will be pleased and wonder which part of the inn will be where you stay. You are immediately welcomed to the Inn and show around and the amenities are pointed out to you before you're shown too your room. You are reminded that they will be serving wine, fruit and Chinese during an afternoon social hour and that breakfast will be served at 9. Be prepared for a culinary delight that will please your pallet and satisfy your hunger after smelling the cooking aromas!

This is very close to Cannon Beach and other attractions that it makes it easy to come back and forth I n case you need to take a nap or just relax before going out to dinner. A truly relaxing and wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for upstairs with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rxmartinez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We spent a night here in the Parisian Room as we traveled up the coast. The inn is lovely. It was nice to sit in the living room over wine and refreshments to chat with other guests. We drove to Cannon Beach for sunset at Haystack Rock and dinner. The room was comfortably and roomy with a window that provided a nice view of a rock on the beach....with the windows open, we could hear the waves crashing, even though the beach is a significant distance away.
Breakfast was a gourmet treat with 3 courses...innovative and delicious!!
We did not meet the owner, but the staff were very polite...though not as engaging as I would have thought them to be...though they were with others.
There is road traffic noise, it does quiet down around 10pm, but by 6am it is in force again. The mattress in our room could stand to be replaced. Make sure you go to Hug Pt Beach... not too far away, it was a wonderful way to start our morning before breakfast...as it is not served until 9am.
I would recommend this place....though you are a few miles to a restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elitha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheney, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

The location was great. Right across the street from the beach and our room had a view of the ocean. Room was very nice, comfortable bed,which is huge. The breakfasts were abit to gourmet for us, but not bad. Liked the location, not in cannon beach, but not to far away either.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arch Cape
4.7 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,540 reviews
4.3 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,927 reviews
4.7 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,588 reviews
5.6 mi away
Surfsand Resort
Surfsand Resort
#4 of 14 in Cannon Beach
2,418 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hallmark Resort & Spa Cannon Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arch Cape Inn & Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arch Cape Inn & Retreat

Property: Arch Cape Inn & Retreat
Address: 31970 E Ocean Ln, Arch Cape, OR 97102-0145
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Arch Cape
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Arch Cape
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arch Cape Inn & Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello from beautiful Cannon Beach, Oregon! I am reaching out as the proud owner of the acclaimed Arch Cape Inn and Retreat, located just south of Cannon Beach, the crown jewel of the Pacific North Coast. I have lived in our county for 40 years and the primary reason that I established the Arch Cape Inn was to be able to share this area with people from all over the world and to hopefully help everyone to see this majestic area through my eyes, sharing all that is special about it with everyone who comes through our doors. We know everyone and everything in town, from Manzanita to Astoria. The Oregon Coast is vibrant all year long and here we say In Oregon there is no bad weather, only inappropriate dress. So, even in winter, located in one of the world’s only temperate rain forests, we celebrate all year long, with so many things to see and do. The Arch Cape Inn is a warm, welcoming and comfortable place to choose as a base camp in order to see, do, experience and explore all that this area has to offer in the form of day trips and guided tours. My staff has been carefully selected to be the warm and welcoming people that you would expect to support your very special visit to this area, able to personally assist with any aspect of the itinerary that you choose to create, according to your interests. In addition, the comfort of the Inn, the complimentary Afternoon Wine and Hor Doeuvres and 3-Course healthy, creative and delightful breakfast will support your stay here in grand and European style. Please let me know how I and my staff may assist you with the visit to our area that you will cherish as one of your fondest memories. We look forward to meeting you! Sincerely, Cynthia Malkowski Owner Arch Cape Inn & Retreat ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Arch Cape Inn & Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arch Cape Inn & Retreat Hotel Arch Cape
Arch Cape Inn And Retreat
Arch Cape Inn & Retreat Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing