We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff, comfy bed!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Arch Cape Inn & Retreat
Ranked #2 of 4 Arch Cape B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff, comfy bed!”
Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

We arrived to a nice greeting and smooth check in. Champagne and flowers were a lovely addition to our anniversary weekend in the Tower room. We walked on the beach and enjoyed our time at the coast. Breakfast was delicious, but one must need a sense of adventure to truly appreciate it. Our first morning was more traditional with a quiche and sausage. The next day, we had a salad and a potato/cod mash. It was lovely and everyone seemed to enjoy it. They gave us the option of adding an egg as well, so very accommodating. Herbs were taken from the garden and added to our plates. We thought it was great. I'd return in a heartbeat. Only downside was the shower, it was oddly situated and the shower head seemed dated/low flow. But, if that's it, you've got a pretty great place here. Book it and enjoy the beach!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BridgetJ315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    53
    21
    12
    2
See reviews for
18
203
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pacific Northwest
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

My wife and I have stayed here twice now - and were considering a third trip, but decided to go elsewhere simply because it's not worth the $300+ per night rater. Yeah - when you look it up on here it says $129 and up - but good luck. $355+ is more like it. The "Ocean Views" are through tiny windows from about a half mile inland. The rooms are great for sleeping - but not great for hanging out. The location is okay - but again - not if you want to walk to the beach or to shopping or whatever. It's way out of the way - which is good for some - but we love shopping in Cannon Beach and playing SkeeBall in Seaside.

So - bottom line - if you have money to burn and don't really want to be at the "beach" when you go to the beach - go here. Stephanie is about the same price, and they don't have a $35 cancellation fee.

Room Tip: Don't pay for an "Ocean View" - it's not worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barack_Me_Obamadeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seamar, Owner at Arch Cape Inn & Retreat, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for your repeat stay with us at Arch Cape Inn & Retreat. We appreciate your comments and feedback regarding your most recent stay. First, we would like to say that we are happy to hear that your previous experience met your expectations enough to bring you back for an additional visit with us. Thank you.

Our average daily rates vary from season-to-season.As was the case with this last minute reservation, we have little to no discount remaining for single night stays, especially on weekends and in the high season. This is driven simply by our high demands during these times. For stays 2 nights or more however, we often have very attractive discounts available, making our seasonal rates an extremely good value, especially if reserved in advance. Regardless, all all rates include a 3 course breakfast event, as well as an afternoon wine and cider appetizer hour.

It is true, we are not beachfront and we never make this representation.As a repeat guest you know about our property's unique location. We are a 300 yard stroll across the road to the sand on a very quiet beach, in a very pristine and exclusive community just south of Cannon Beach. Many of our guests stay with us specifically because of this unique and special location.

Our staff are here for any guest request and should we have availability, are always pleased to move a guest to a different room or one with a view more in line with expectations. An example of our views exists on our 'Rooms and Amenities' page.

Lastly, since we are so small, our last minute cancellation policies are made clear and are agreed to in advance. We do provide a cost-effective Travel Insurance option that is endorsed by Bed and Breakfast.com, our national Innkeepers' affiliation. I’m sorry if our cancellation policy and our insurance offering did not match up with your needs on this most recent stay.

We sincerely hope that the next time you are in the Cannon Beach area that you do look us up once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Hills, Kentucky, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This bed and breakfast is beautiful and charming. The multi course gourmet breakfast is top notch, Our room was spacious yet cozy. The wine tasting happy hour is a nice touch. The gardens on the grounds are so nice, Just across the street is the peaceful Arch Cape beach. It's a short drive to Cannon Beach. We will be back, hopefully soon!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

My wife & I recently stayed here for 2 nights. We stayed in the Tuscan Spa room, which has a very comfortable king size bed, a large double head open shower and a sauna. The room has it's own private entrance downstairs, with the ability to park your car just a few feet from your door.

Breakfast was very odd to us. The first day the main dish had a mixed green salad, an egg dish filled with either squash or zucchini, and two pieces of bacon. Grapefruit and berries & cream preceded and finished the meal. We both thought it odd to be served salad at breakfast.

For the second breakfast the main dish was a spinach salad, smoked salmon, and a poached egg on top of potatoes and squash. Unfortunately my wife doesn't like fish, so she ate the egg and part of the salad, along with yogurt and part of a muffin topped with wipped cream. Not the hostesses fault.

If I were to stay here again I'd go for a room with a view and ask in advance what the breakfast foods were going to be. Neither of us like to eat vegetables at breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Love!Love!Love! From the room, to the food, view, staff- I would actually move in if I could afford it. If you want quiet, elegant, and friendly you should stay here. Make sure and look hard for the drive way, it can be a tough find. And although the directions say GPS doesn't work, mine did just fine.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MEmers0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed 2 days here and had a wonderful experience. The owner and staff were excellent. Breakfast, all 3 courses was superb! They even sang Happy Birthday to her. We stayed in the Tower room which we loved. Room was more than adequate with the soaker tub and comfy bed. Very romantic and the fireplace light added the right ambiance. The location of this Inn is great. Just 10 min to Cannon Beach or Ecola State Park which is a must do! Hug Point State park is just 5 min away and is a gorgeous beach with tide pools and even caves and a waterfall! Spend a little extra and treat yourself to the beauty and service of Arch Cape Inn! The pictures I posted gives you a sense of the incredible room and beauty that is just minutes away!

Room Tip: The tower room has a view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColoTraveler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We had a lovely week at the Arch Cape Inn. The Inn was very comfortable and homey. Our room and bathroom were very spacious with a great view. The food was outstanding. The chef prepared breakfast was beyond delicious. The afternoon wine and snacks were yummy and a nice time to visit with other guests. The staff was always one step ahead of our wants and needs. It was a short walk to the beach across the road. With the ocean view you hardly knew the road was there. We will definitely return.... it was so comfy and relaxing. Thanks to Cynthia and Bonnie for a great visit.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melodyroberts3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arch Cape
4.7 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,541 reviews
4.3 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,929 reviews
4.7 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,588 reviews
5.6 mi away
Surfsand Resort
Surfsand Resort
#4 of 14 in Cannon Beach
2,423 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hallmark Resort & Spa Cannon Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arch Cape Inn & Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arch Cape Inn & Retreat

Property: Arch Cape Inn & Retreat
Address: 31970 E Ocean Ln, Arch Cape, OR 97102-0145
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Arch Cape
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Arch Cape
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arch Cape Inn & Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello from beautiful Cannon Beach, Oregon! I am reaching out as the proud owner of the acclaimed Arch Cape Inn and Retreat, located just south of Cannon Beach, the crown jewel of the Pacific North Coast. I have lived in our county for 40 years and the primary reason that I established the Arch Cape Inn was to be able to share this area with people from all over the world and to hopefully help everyone to see this majestic area through my eyes, sharing all that is special about it with everyone who comes through our doors. We know everyone and everything in town, from Manzanita to Astoria. The Oregon Coast is vibrant all year long and here we say In Oregon there is no bad weather, only inappropriate dress. So, even in winter, located in one of the world’s only temperate rain forests, we celebrate all year long, with so many things to see and do. The Arch Cape Inn is a warm, welcoming and comfortable place to choose as a base camp in order to see, do, experience and explore all that this area has to offer in the form of day trips and guided tours. My staff has been carefully selected to be the warm and welcoming people that you would expect to support your very special visit to this area, able to personally assist with any aspect of the itinerary that you choose to create, according to your interests. In addition, the comfort of the Inn, the complimentary Afternoon Wine and Hor Doeuvres and 3-Course healthy, creative and delightful breakfast will support your stay here in grand and European style. Please let me know how I and my staff may assist you with the visit to our area that you will cherish as one of your fondest memories. We look forward to meeting you! Sincerely, Cynthia Malkowski Owner Arch Cape Inn & Retreat ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Arch Cape Inn & Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arch Cape Inn & Retreat Hotel Arch Cape
Arch Cape Inn And Retreat
Arch Cape Inn & Retreat Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing