We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Wedding at Arch Cape Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Arch Cape Inn & Retreat
Ranked #2 of 4 Arch Cape B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
“Wonderful Wedding at Arch Cape Inn”
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Arch Cape Inn was a perfect location for our wedding with a beautiful ocean view, garden, and private dinner in the Tower Room served by their exceptional staff! The staff was very accommodating, friendly, and professional. We stayed in the Heather Room which was romantic with a sitting porch, a scenic view of the ocean, and a fire place to cozy up on the cool nights. Arch Cape Inn is perfectly located by Cannon Beach, but yet private enough to enjoy the quiet beauty of the Oregon coast and nature. We look forward to visiting again...until then.....cheers!!

PS. Here are a view pictures their staff took with our camera!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunflyadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    53
    21
    12
    2
See reviews for
18
202
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Meridian, Idaho
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

We are a retired couple who had never been to the Oregon coast before staying three nights at the Arch Cape Inn. We were in the Parisien room on the ground level and were treated to a view of the ocean while sitting on the cozy window seat, The room looked like a typical room in Paris with it's flowered wall paper and beautiful antique furniture. We didn't need the fireplace, but it did look inviting. Since television isn't a priority for us when on vacation, we didn't mind that ours was small. There are several videos available for people who enjoy watching movies in their rooms. The bathroom contained a large shower and was equiped in a modern manner, unlike some in Paris!
We loved the fact that coffee and tea were available very early and we enjoyed the tasty, three course breakfasts served at 9:00 a.m. Each course was presented by a recent culinary school graduate who will certainly do well in his chosen vocation. Many of the ingrediants were fresh from the inn's garden. The restaurant was closed for dinner while we were there, but Cynthia, our hostess, recommended excellent restaurants in Cannon Beach.
Cynthia also served wine and hors d'oeuvres around the fireplace in the late afternoon. It was fun to meet the other guests and to chat with them about their traveling experiences.
Cynthia is such a warm, informative and considerate hostess. Her tips on exploring the area were perfect for us. Thanks to her, my husband got to see his first elk in the wild since our move to the Northwest!
We hope to return during a warmer time when we can enjoy the beautiful patio area. We also want to enjoy dinner at the inn since everyone we talked to in the area mentioned how wonderful the meals are.
I do wish the inn was located directly on the beach, but it is a short walk to the beach area and the path through the woods behind the inn in enchanting.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the Parisien room on the ground level. There was no tub, but the shower was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank araska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

The exterior of the Inn is spectacular and the owners were superb hosts and most helpful in planing the rest of the trip but our stay, based on their brochure and web site, did not nearly meet our expectations . Specfically:

ROOMS; We stayed in the "Provence" room which was actually in the basement level but had a nice private patio which would have been nice if the weather was suitable for sitting outside. We found the room too dark for reading except under one lamp and the TV was a 13" with a broken remote which was excused the next morning as a "loaner".

LOCATION; While were were prepared for it's location after talking to the owners on the phone it was on a dirt road just off the main highway on the opposite side of the road from the ocean with no view of the ocean as advertised. While one could walk to the beach it was easier to actually drive there, whereas all of the other alternatives in this price range in Cannon.Beach are all on the ocean with fabulous views.

MEALS; Dinner was very nice but not gourmet as we were lead to believe with the awards they apparently have won, but the service was lacking. Twice we had to ask for cutlery and napkins and the table cloth from the fhe previous diners was just thrown over a chair next to us.
The breakfast, which they feature in their brochure, is nothing like what is described, and unless we missed something just comes roaring out of the kitchen with no options. It was about the worse we have ever had at a B&B-- poorly done scrambled eggs with a side of fried onions and brussel sprouts, No toast.

WINE AND CHEESE RECEPTION; We arrived with about 15 mins left before the staff had to deal with dinner at five and had to almost beg for a glass of wine and had the cheese plate (which consisted of 1/2 inch cubes of cheese) whipped off the table before we even had a chance to partake.

MISC; Unfortunately we were witnesses to a couple that had reservations for dinner that had brought another couple with them being rudely turned away by the staff which resulted in a shouting match. To those of this that witnessed this it was very inappropriate action which was made worse by the owner, who was not there at the time, putting a completely different spin on it the next morning when explaining it to the guests who were not there at the time.

CONCLUSION; All in all a very dissapointing experience after spending the first week of our trip in Cannon Beach with it's fabulous vacation properties and restaurants. One can do much better than this.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Doug50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seamar, Owner at Arch Cape Inn & Retreat, responded to this review, October 18, 2011
Based on multiple and conflicting inaccuracies, this post is extremely confusing to me.

This poster, using incomplete information, attempts to remark on attributes of the inn, on me and on an unfortunate event that my staff was able to successfully and gracefully manage in our continued effort to maintain the ambiance of the Inn as well as the evening dining experience for our guests.

Briefly, an outside party arrived to dine. Although they did have reservations for 2, they arrived with a party larger than expected.

It appeared to us that one or more members behaved as though inebriated.

While still outside, beyond the purview of this poster, one of the members exhibited combative behavior toward one of my staff.

While normally we would have twisted ourselves into a pretzel to accommodate any guests of the Inn, I elected to decline to serve this group.

This was based not only on demeanor, but on dress as well…….loud behavior, tank tops and flip flops are not a good match for our very small inn when our guests are dining, and usually celebrating special occasions.

The way that this poster chose to use his words implies that my staff were active participants in a hollering match with this group, which was not the case.

It took 3 of us to manage and quell this event. It is true that we were distracted from service for a short time.

The next morning, I did apologize to the small number of guests that I felt were impacted by this group.

Lastly, regarding the remainder of this poster’s comments, I respectfully disagree with his enumeration.

We go to great lengths to describe our rooms, both on the phone and via our website and brochures. It is true, not all rooms have ocean views….This is communicated to those reserving rooms in advance.

Our printed literature is accurate, except for a typo re: a King v. Queen bed in one room, Parisian.

While we are active members of the Cannon Beach community, we do not and never have implied that we are located right in town. All our literature indicates that we are about 4 miles south of town.

Aerial images on our website demonstrate that we are located in one of the most pristine areas on the coast and that we are not beachfront.

We do not and never have claimed to be on the beach. Located on the hill, we are a 3 minute walk to the sand.

Our meals consist of freshly prepared offerings, often from our own gardens. We always have fresh baked goods, even though it may not be 'toast', per se.

And, our lodging experience is that of a Country Inn, which is much different than a hotel experience.

So, while it is true that there are many places to stay right in town, we offer something very different than a hotel or a motel.

I conclude that our Inn was not a good match for the travel style of this poster and am happy to have the opportunity to discuss this point so that others may use this information when making their own travel plans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Süpplingen, Niedersachsen, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2011

We had the most wonderful time during the 4 days we stayed at the Arch Cape Inn. After a warm welcome we fell in love with our room immediately. The interior design looked inviting, so that we wanted to grab a book and start reading right away. The gathering hour with wine and snacks every afternoon was a great opportunity to meet people with interesting personalities. The staff members helped creating a very cosy atmosphere and did their best to fulfill any wishes. Another highlight was the gourmet breakfast every morning, and during your stay you should not miss one of the delicious dinners. We would love to come back, since this was the highlight of our 3-week trip.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarinaTho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Just what we were looking for! A quiet retreat, welcoming in every way. From aesthetic surroundings, to ample room, delightful breakfasts and rich conversation, my sister and I found Ach Cape Inn the perfect location for exploring the Cannon Beach area. We stayed three nights and enjoyed an evening meal at the Inn. The three course breakfasts and evening meal were artfully presented and we enjoyed the variety and unique selections.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mimidiane_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed for four nights and ate in on all four evenings. The staff were super friendly and totally helpful. The breakfasts were just right and each one provided a different idea of what a breakfast ought to be; tasty, light, satisfying and served promptly.
The dinners were top class and again, the staff excelled themselves. They provided a good summary of each dish to help with selection and a nice detailed run-down on the ingredients when they served us.
We stayed in the Owner's Suite which gave us room enough to get lost (bedroom, dressing room, walk-in closet and a bathroom bigger than most of us have at home) - and that is just the upstairs!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA. USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Excellent ambiance in a wonderful Pacific Ocean setting.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoldBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arch Cape
4.7 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,513 reviews
4.5 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,563 reviews
4.7 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,860 reviews
6.5 mi away
Ecola Creek Lodge
Ecola Creek Lodge
#10 of 14 in Cannon Beach
226 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hallmark Resort Cannon Beach
Hallmark Resort Cannon Beach
#8 of 14 in Cannon Beach
2,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arch Cape Inn & Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arch Cape Inn & Retreat

Property: Arch Cape Inn & Retreat
Address: 31970 E Ocean Ln, Arch Cape, OR 97102-0145
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Arch Cape
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Arch Cape
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arch Cape Inn & Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello from beautiful Cannon Beach, Oregon! I am reaching out as the proud owner of the acclaimed Arch Cape Inn and Retreat, located just south of Cannon Beach, the crown jewel of the Pacific North Coast. I have lived in our county for 40 years and the primary reason that I established the Arch Cape Inn was to be able to share this area with people from all over the world and to hopefully help everyone to see this majestic area through my eyes, sharing all that is special about it with everyone who comes through our doors. We know everyone and everything in town, from Manzanita to Astoria. The Oregon Coast is vibrant all year long and here we say In Oregon there is no bad weather, only inappropriate dress. So, even in winter, located in one of the world’s only temperate rain forests, we celebrate all year long, with so many things to see and do. The Arch Cape Inn is a warm, welcoming and comfortable place to choose as a base camp in order to see, do, experience and explore all that this area has to offer in the form of day trips and guided tours. My staff has been carefully selected to be the warm and welcoming people that you would expect to support your very special visit to this area, able to personally assist with any aspect of the itinerary that you choose to create, according to your interests. In addition, the comfort of the Inn, the complimentary Afternoon Wine and Hor Doeuvres and 3-Course healthy, creative and delightful breakfast will support your stay here in grand and European style. Please let me know how I and my staff may assist you with the visit to our area that you will cherish as one of your fondest memories. We look forward to meeting you! Sincerely, Cynthia Malkowski Owner Arch Cape Inn & Retreat ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Arch Cape Inn & Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arch Cape Inn & Retreat Hotel Arch Cape
Arch Cape Inn And Retreat
Arch Cape Inn & Retreat Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing