We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Watch it happen”

The Historic Carousel and Museum
Ranked #1 of 23 things to do in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Our permanent home is now under construction, but you can still watch our carvers and painters at work in our temporary studio, and enjoy browsing our gift shop. We should be in our new home in June, 2017. Founded in 2004, the Historic Carousel and Museum is creating a world class carousel complex in downtown Albany that will draw visitors from around the world and contribute to the economic revitalization of historic downtown Albany.
Albany, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Watch it happen”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Take a tour and watch the craftsmen carving the horses, fascinating process.
Souvenirs and goodies for the kids, under 40 pounds can ride a carousel horse for two-bits.

Good for a couple of hours, right down the street from the Albany museum one way and Loafer's restaurant the other way.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank unclefaffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    19
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“One word ...GO!”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

This is an amazing and inspiring project that is most definitely coming to fruition. They are carving 52 very exotic carousel animals and building the actual carousel and the building to house it. The animals are all carved by community volunteers! This project began with inspiration from something similar in Missoula, Montana, and grew. All 52 animals are being built. Some are complete, others are being completed as we speak. You will be amazed and inspired if you go on this free tour! Seriously, it doesn't get much better than this!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank buckup2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“An interesting place to visit”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My sister and I took the Grandchildren to visit. It was amazing to see the
craftmanship of the wood carving. It is a pleasant stop in downtown Albany.
Everyone was happy to explain the processes to create these beautiful
horses and animals.
Looking forward to riding them when it is completed.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Oreg0nB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We went, we saw, and we raved.”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

It was so much more then we expected, and this covered me, me, brother, and two grandchildren, ages 12 & 17. There was something for each and every one of us, and we were treated wonderful, Thanks again

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jeanette s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Oregon
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great History”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

The carousel is not yet complete but you can tour through seeing animals in every stage of development. It is amazing they take blocks of wood glued together and then hand sculpt the animals out of them. Very interesting.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KuffMUp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Historic Carousel and Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Historic Carousel and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing