We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christmas in Monteith” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monteith District

Monteith District
Ranked #4 of 23 things to do in Albany
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An historic district in downtown Albany that offers a large number of turreted Queen Anne buildings.
Albany, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Christmas in Monteith”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Be sure to attend the next December Historic Homes Tour, always the second Sunday afternoon in December. It is a delightful walk through the past. The Monteith museum is a living history activity center that is a wonderful place for children to explore history at its funnest.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Larry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    6
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albany, Oregon
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Historical”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Albany has a rich history in the homes that were built when the town was first beginning to grow. Many of the original homes are still there, renovated and looking good. At least two times a year, tours of selected homes welcome you to experience a part of our past. You can also just take a walk and meander down and around the streets and see these homes and experience the area on your own.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pretty but just OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2012

It was very pretty but once is enough for me. Not a lot to see really

Helpful?
1 Thank Wendi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Arguably the most picturesque part of Albany in December”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

Walking through the Monteith District in December on a clear sparkling night conjures up images of horses and sleighs, caroling and parties, and Christmas's past when family and friends were close. Stately Victorian homes outlined with bright white lights fill the sky create an atmosphere of peace on earth goodwill toward men. Dress up in a long coat, scarf or top hat, catch the trolly ride, and be carried back to a different time. Merry Christmas!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank KWBrayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Beach, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazingly restored buildings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2009

I felt as if I had stepped back in time to 1900. After viewing the quaint shops and cafes I spent approx 2 hours driving around looking at the artfully restored homes and taking about 100 photos. Often I would park the car at a curb and walk the streets, the architecture and gardens were that good. The photos rotate across my computer screen, giving me pleasure daily.
Sue in Seal Beach, CA

Helpful?
1 Thank Merathaim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Monteith District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing