We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food; might need a bit more help.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Tapatio Cafe

El Tapatio Cafe
Ranked #9 of 94 Restaurants in Ardmore
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
75 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent food; might need a bit more help.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

Ate here with friends last Saturday evening with some friends after diving at Lake Murray. This was my second time here (conveniently located next to my favorite hotel in town, the QH), and I think the food was even better than the first time. I had the Chili Verde and my friends, the chicken fajitas. We had raves about everything except the service. Granted, it was a Saturday night, and the place was absolutely packed. Still felt like we could have been checked in on maybe just a little more. All in all, a great meal after a great day of diving!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark-Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    22
    1
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very good Tex-Mex.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

I read the reviews and decided to eat lunch here because it was "authentic" Mexican food. It is actually Tex-Mex. Still, the food was very good and the service is great. The salsa is very flavorful although not spicy. All the food is fresh. The margaritas are surprisingly strong. It was not an amazing experience but I really enjoyed my meal.

Helpful?
Thank wdm1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Mexican Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

We were traveling through Ardmore on our way to Dallas and it was dinner time. We looked at Trip Advisor for advice and saw that El Tapatio Café rated well. We decided to give it a try. It is located in a renovated fast food restaurant, but they have done a lot of work to give it a true Mexican restaurant feel. The food was priced right and portions were large. My three children, husband and I truly enjoyed the food. And we would recommend this restaurant to anyone who wants authentic Mexican cuisine! Don't let the exterior deter you from the fabulous food on the inside!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank karynshufffler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho Falls, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Real Mexican food, freshly prepared.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

We rolled into town, just passing through, returning from winter in the south. Glad we got there before 6:00 on a Monday night. Few people in the restaurant when we were seated. By the time we left just before 7:00, the place was packed. Service was excellent. Food was just as good as our favorite Mexican restaurant at home. The place is nothing fancy, just good food served with a smile.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ronald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

This was a place for all; families or seniors. The food was very good; just right in servings and price. The staff was helpful and friendly. Very enjoyable. Will be back when in the area.

Visited March 2014
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank V V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Tapatio Cafe also viewed

 

Been to El Tapatio Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing