We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to DFW, Lots of Options”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ardmore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lake Murray State Park & Lodge
Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
134 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Close to DFW, Lots of Options”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

One of the cleanest, clearest lakes in Oklahoma. Bald Eagles, hiking trails, marina, all lodging options (from tent to hotel) and a staffed conservation center with excellent information about the area. Great family camping.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
Helpful?
2 Thank miraval1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    52
    25
    13
    15
See reviews for
65
48
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
119 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Stayed at a Lake Murray cottage while attending a family reunion. We had one of the renovated cottages. The girl working at the convenience store at the park entrance said that her father was the person who did the renovations..he did a good job. Clean faux wood vinyl floors throughout. Newly tiled showers and new fixtures in the bathroom. New appliances in the kitchen. Comfortable bed. Air conditioning and heat (from two-way window units) worked well. Wood burning fireplace in the living room. Park has many recreation opportunities or just relax and enjoy nature. Lodge restaurant is adequate, but you may wish to drive into Ardmore if you are looking for something a cut above and don't want to cook in your cottage. The "bar" in the Lodge is NOT in operation unless rented out for a large group. Bring your own outdoor lighting...tiki torches, etc...outside lighting is limited and it is easy to trip and fall when wandering around the cottage bbq/picnic table area if you are socializing after dark. Some cottages have a hefty walk from the parking spot to the door.

Lodge staff was friendly and we would return again.

Room Tip: If you are staying in a cottage, ask for one that has been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Toastmaster2D2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
74 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

My husband and I rented a cabin at Lake Murray that included a fireplace and a kitchen. Everything was clean and functional. The cabin had a separate bedroom and a pull-out sofa bed. A large flat screen TV was in the living room.

The kitchen has a full stove with oven, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker and toaster. Nothing else, such as silverware, pots, or dishes are supplied.

The cabin was showing wear and tear. There were several slits in the sofa, the fireplace mantle showed smoke stains, some window blinds were missing bottom slats, and the bedroom floor slanted. I'm sure many of the cabins are in need of a remodel.

The park had many occupied cabins, but the park was quiet and peaceful after dark. I would stay again for a quick one night getaway, but not for an extended period of time.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank galveston_gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I'm 100% certain our time at Lake Murray would have been better had we stayed anywhere but the Lodge. The Lodge can be hit or miss: If you get respectful neighbors, it probably isn't that bad. But we had loud neighbors both nights. One night, people were in and out at all hours of the night - slamming doors and once even knocked on our door. It doesn't help that the place is a little creepy. That same night, items were stolen out of the tool box of our truck. After contacting the Park, we learned there had been several break -ins - so just FYI.

As for the room - it was adequate. It's what I would expect at a state park built in the 30's and 40's. Matress was comfy and besides the noise, it was comfortable. Besides, who cares if the "bathroom Layout is awkward" and that there's not "Flat Screen TV" (Actual complaints on trip advisor) you're at a state park, not the Hyatt. You're not there for the room, you're supposed to be there for the AMAZING park and lake.

The food at the Lodge was surprisingly good. Takes a while if there's lots of orders but the food is good and reasonably prices.

Lake Murray: Awesome. The Park: Awesome. So many trails and the lake is so clear.

Moral of the trip: It's worth it to be flexible to either get a cabin or just tent camp. We drove through many of the camp sites. They were nicely set up and close to the lake and trails.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Holly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Lake Murray, Elephant Rock RV camp sites in Sep 2013. Very nice and peaceful setting among the trees with beautiful lake views. This was our second trip up to the park this year. There's many hiking, mountain biking, and ATV trails throughout the park. Highly recommend putting this park on your list to visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bobaroo52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

My idea of a nice campground may differ from yours. I am a tent camper. What I look for in a weekend getaway spot is a nice, quiet, clean, secluded spot where I can sit under a shade tree and read when I'm not out exploring. The Ski Jump campground fit the bill for the most part. There are signs stating it's an "unimproved' campground. No hookups, no water and only pit toilets. $12 a night. Definitely not RV friendly, but VERY tent friendly. Lots of level space for tents. There are about 15 campsites total. About half of them are lake front, all are lake view. They have picnic tables, fire rings (sort of, made out of rocks), grills and a lantern pole. The restrooms were clean and maintained, but very rustic. The weekend we stayed we got there fairly early on a Friday and only about half the sites were taken. We chose one that backed up to the woods and enjoyed a lovely view of the lake. By the time the sun set, the campground was full. To our surprise, it got very quiet around dark. No noise issues at all. During the day many of the families enjoyed swimming and fishing. We enjoyed geocaching and hiking around the numerous beautiful spots on the lake. Lots of hiking trails. We checked out Tucker Tower, a few of the trails and nearly all the campgrounds (we still liked Ski Jump the best for our needs).

We ate breakfast at the Apple Bin inside the lodge. The buffet breakfast was pretty decent. Good service, very friendly folks and a lovely view of the lake to dine by. After breakfast we wandered the Lodge grounds. There were so many family friendly activities! Pool tables, a basketball court, putt putt golf, boat rentals, shuffleboard, out door ping pong tables, horse back riding, a sand volleyball court. Even a 4 square and hop scotch pad were painted in an area for kids to play. (okay, we did the hop scotch) They had a 'recreation' room for the kids with arts and crafts, board games and all sorts of rainy day activities. The pool was closed for the winter, but it looked like a decent size pool.

The only interaction with park rangers or staff in the campground was when a very nice ranger stopped by to take our money for the site. Very efficent and friendly. We did see rangers drive through from time to time, but they would just wave on their way by. VERY NICE!

The only cons of the lake in general was the amount of trash in the campgrounds and on the hiking trails. Very sad to see that people mistreat nature this way. In our particular campsite, it looked like a mower had run over a couple of paper plates and left scraps all over the place. We picked up about a bag full of scraps, random trash and cigarette butts and our site was still pretty messy.

I will defintely camp here again! (but next time we'll bring the trash grabbers and do a better clean up job)

Room Tip: I wouldn't consider any of the campsites in the Ski Run campground to be a bad one. The ones t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LostOnLandAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Spent Easter weekend and had a very relaxed time. The cabins are very reasonable. I would take food for breakfast as the Buffett in the lodge gets old after a couple of days. There is a lot of adventure activities here..hiking trails, boating, four wheeling and horse back riding. There is some excellent dinning in the area too.... There are some floating cabins that we will try next time. This place is a great value and close to town if you want to catch a movie. The staff is great as they fixed our TV set in the middle of the night in a Oklahoma storm!!! The location and the lake are beautiful, I understand it is lower then normal. Place is great for a family get away on the cheap..

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Drchask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ardmore hotels
8.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Admore
9.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ardmore
7.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Ardmore Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ardmore Central
9.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Ardmore I-35
Holiday Inn Ardmore I-35
#7 of 23 in Ardmore
82 reviews
9.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Ardmore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Murray State Park & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Murray State Park & Lodge

Property: Lake Murray State Park & Lodge
Address: 3323 Lodge Rd, Ardmore, OK 73401-8424
Location: United States > Oklahoma > Ardmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Ardmore
Number of rooms: 108
Also Known As:
Lake Murray State Park Hotel Ardmore
Lake Murray State Park And Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing