We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Campground Review”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ardmore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lake Murray State Park & Lodge
Kansas City, MO
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Campground Review”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We arrived on a Tuesday afternoon the 2nd week in March. We realized there were many campgrounds, but coming in around 5:30, we didn't have time to search all the campgrounds. We made the decision to try Buzzards Roost, because it was on the water and recently renovated. There were only 3 waterfront (although its kind of up on a small bluff) spots available, so we grabbed #19. We camped in a pop up and that spot had electricity and water hook ups.

Pros:
The spots are spaced a good deal apart
Very quiet, although it was almost filled up and many spots with kids, it was quiet by 9:00pm until 8:30am.
2 bathrooms and shower houses
Good view of a cove on the lake

Cons:
One bathhouse was old and pretty dirty when we showed up, but was cleaned each day. The other, renovated one, had coin operated showers ($.50 did the trick) but one toilet was so full it wouldn't flush, and stayed that way the entire 4 night trip.
No reservations
No close place to buy firewood.

We drove over and biked around Cedar Cove, those spots we very close, but right on the water and in the trees. Elephant Rock was like an RV parking lot...very close and out in the middle of nothing. Tipps Point just seemed depressing, really no explanation, just seemed like a last resort.

We didn't make it over to the campgrounds on the other side.

We brought lots of firewood and drinking water but ran out. The closest store was at the park entrance up north.

We walked thru the Lodge...it was like something out of the 60's.

We did a hike on a trail and enjoyed it.

The lake is so clear and blue. We would definitely come back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ksols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    55
    25
    13
    15
See reviews for
66
50
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleburne, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Two couples along with my husband and I went back to Lake Murray after having a wonderful experience at the beginning of the year. We actually spent New Year's Eve there and it was very relaxing. We stayed in the single cabins and wanting to check out the larger cabins as we thought it would be good for family stays.

Needless to say for the price, I was disappointed. The cleanliness of the cabin was horrible. The ceiling fans were disgusting and looks as though they haven't been cleaned in years, refrigerator leaked water onto a very small kitchen floor, the floors were mopped but it's what I would call "slop" mop (water thrown onto the floor with a mop leaving puddles). Spider webs in all corners, very dark cabin.....and to top it off.... MICE. We had a large family of them, killed four and we still left some there. We had to keep things lock in large carrier containers or the small refrigerator. And this was all for a price of $280 per night. And we had to wait until 5:30pm to check in..... we waited for three and a half hours.

Park staff were apologetic, but that was it!

If we decided to stay at Camp Murray again, it will be in our RV.

Room Tip: Small cabins if you can are best from the one I've seen
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank LoieJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ardmore hotels

Weatherford
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed march 13-15 for spring break. We arrived at 4:45 and our villa was not ready. We walked around waited till about 5:30. We had a villa for 6. It had queen bedroom, 2 sets if bunk beds in a room, & a sleeper sofa in living room. All bedding & towels were extremely clean and in good condition. Bring your own pots pans etc. if you cook a lot, get a cabin which had full kitchen. The villa has kitchenette & was difficult to cook complete meals in. EVERYTHING is closed here during spring break. No mini golf, no canoe or paddle boat rentals. TUCKER TOWER CLOSED until summer. You can't even drive to it or get anywhere near it. Road is blocked. The only thing to do here during spring break is hike or fish or ride horses. We went on trail ride costs $20 per person. There are only a couple hiking trails. Not very much here as far as hiking goes. Maybe this place would be better in summer if swim areas and lake rental activities are open. We then drove to robbers cave state park for weekend. Lots of activities here such as hay rides, guided hiking tours, etc. and much more beautiful.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Texas1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We chose this park randomly, we were leaving Dallas early afternoon and wanted to find somewhere not too far away. We checked our Allstays iPad app and this park was noted. As always we check out other 'campers' reviews and thought this one sounded pretty good. We arrived and were absolutely delighted! This park is an absolute gem! The sites are wide and long and pretty level, the hook ups perfect and each site has a grill and a fire pit! We called ahead and were told to just go and pick our own spot and that the camp hosts would be along later in the day to collect our camping fee. There were so many wonderful sites we drove around a couple of times before deciding. There are some sites directly on the lakeside, some nestled in the trees and some more appropriate for a big rig like ours. We were initially only going to stay for 3 days but extended for another 2. Peaceful , well maintained, beautiful sun sets, plenty of wildlife and walking trails and the cheapest laundry we have encountered on our 3 months of travelling. Camp hosts are friendly and provided us with plenty of information about the surrounding area. Fantastic!

Room Tip: There is a site made for any size rig. Also has a great kids playground!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank GulliverBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Lake Murray State Park is the largest state park in Oklahoma and the lake is wholly within that state park. It has a some rolling hills, a few rock outcroppings, and oak trees galore. It's probably the best place to rent a cabin within 1.5 hours of Dallas/Ft. Worth. The cabins are old but the one we stayed in has been updated recently. New wood floors, bathroom sink, shower tile, toilet, stove, refrigerator, and kitchen sink along with the countertop.

We stayed in the winter so there wasn't any swimming, but there is plenty of beach for the summertime. There is also a miniature golf course right by the lake and playground equipment. There are miles and miles of hiking trails and plenty of paved walking paths. Each cabin has a concrete picnic table, a small iron grill, and a fire pit. Our cabin had two window units that provide air conditioning or heat. It was 57 degrees in our cabin when we walked in but the heaters heated it up pretty quick.

There are many many cabins, some are located better than others. Some are close by the road and some have the picnic tables set back away from the cabin pretty far. Our cabin had a road on both sides while some had woods for their backyard with no road. I think the best thing to do is to go there once and pick out your favorite cabin and ask for it the next time. I didn't see the inside of this cabin, but cabin 233 seemed pretty good with woods in the back and the picnic table, grill, and fire ring close to the front door (see pic).

We had two problems with our cabin. One of the window units rattled pretty good and the shower pressure was terrible. We had to pour water over our heads by shuttling it from the kitchen sink. I informed the front desk lady at the lodge about this and she said she would get it fixed. If so, I think these cabins are worth the price. Probably a 4 star if the shower would have been working properly. Let's hope they aren't conserving water that much. I understand conserving water but a trickle out of the shower is not what you would expect. I did ask the guy next to us about his water pressure and he said it was good in his cabin except it was so strong it felt like needles. I would have rather had that than the trickle we had.

They do sell firewood at the lodge. It isn't cheap but you can probably collect quite a bit from the surrounding forests if it hasn't been ravaged already by other people.

Room Tip: You might try cabin 233. Woods in the back and the picnic table, grill, and fire ring were close by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Climb_Big_Bend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burkburnett, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Why? The water is blue beyond belief. The camp hosts are friendly. We saw a bald eagle and it was so quiet, we could hear wind on the wings of the crows that flew over us. We stayed at Elephant Rock and it is off season, so we were not bothered by the crowds that can happen during the summer. If you have not seen Lake Murray, go during off season. Be aware, lake level is low due to the continued drought.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank r t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

By far one of the best and well maintained lakes of the Ardmore, OK. Very beautiful cabins to lodge and well maintained park with well preserved wildlife to call this park their home.

Huge sand beaches and organized play areas for childre. Their marina is one of the largest I have seen with all variety of rentals.

Beautiful in every season. Highly recommend a visit as there is no park fee for majority of the area during the day time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lakshmi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ardmore hotels
8.3 mi away
Lexington Inn - Ardmore
Lexington Inn - Ardmore
#2 of 23 in Ardmore
161 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Admore
9.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ardmore Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Ardmore Inn & Suites
0.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ardmore
9.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Ardmore
SpringHill Suites Ardmore
#10 of 23 in Ardmore
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Murray State Park & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Murray State Park & Lodge

Property: Lake Murray State Park & Lodge
Address: 3323 Lodge Rd, Ardmore, OK 73401-8424
Location: United States > Oklahoma > Ardmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Ardmore
Number of rooms: 108
Also Known As:
Lake Murray State Park Hotel Ardmore
Lake Murray State Park And Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing