We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“JUST GO!! Dont think about it just go!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ardmore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lake Murray State Park & Lodge
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“JUST GO!! Dont think about it just go!”
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Ok whats not to love! They have great camping with complete hook ups. Right on the lake. They have 4 or 5 different camp grounds on the same land. Some right on water. Some near boat docks and all have new play grounds. They have a marina and horse riding and its like 15.00 a person for a hour. They have mini gold and this water play ground and they have a big lodge where rooms are under 50 a night and the lodge is right on the water. they have a reasturant inside lodge with great sandwhiches and a breakfast buffett and the little cabins run between 75 and 100 with a fold out couch with Tv in Living room and a full size bedroom and fridge and mircowave. Screened in Patio and a grill. Table with coffee maker and toaster so take your food. nice size bathroom. Now my favorite is they have a clean pool for cabin and lodge guest. Next to that is the mini golf and lake water park kiddie play land thing. They have a nature tower and the have a arcade. My most favorite is the ATV riding area!!! The camping spots are great and there open from dawn till dusk to ATV ride. The best part is ther back woods rocky riding and water front riding and there are huge areas of sand to ride in great for the kids. We love this place we visit at least once a month . Stay a night in the Cabins and ride or stay a week in the Trailer spots there equally great. The camp host are super I love them. The riding area is great for kids! plus there a play ground for small kids. You have to take your own ATV. FYI They sell yearly passes for riding its 10 dollars a day per person orbuy a pass and save for my family of 7 we spent under 600 and can ride all year long. The small town Ardmore down the street is cute as a button if you need to do some shopping. In fact we broke down in two truck while we were there and they put in the extra effort all over town to help us. If you get there and need a cheap quality used Atv to play there a place in town called JS Motor Sport on Noble Parkway if it hadnt have been for them fixing my kids ATV and selling My hubby a used one we would be regular campers in Ardmore

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bethany S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    54
    25
    13
    15
See reviews for
66
49
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

I have been to Lake Murray state park 10-15 times. I was riding dirt bikes there when I was ten or eleven, back when the parking lot was dirt/gravel and you just set up camp. No fences, no pavement, no showers etc. Good ol days...

I have stayed in the cabins 5-10 times. They are very simple, if you are looking for something with a cushy bed and granite countertops, spend 300 dollars a night somewhere at beavers bend. The sofa pull out beds(last time I went) are not very comfortable at all. Bring an air mattress or two and some extra blankets. Also bring an ice chest, your own groceries and firewood. You will save a lot of money.

The apple bin place is pretty good, the mini golf is kinda cool, the hiking trails are very cool, and quite long. The stable or whatnot has some nice guys and guided trail rides that are pretty fun. The water is usually clear, heck my dad trained to scuba dive there. There is a bus or taxi or something at the bottom of the lake i forget. Never played the golf course, looks decent though. Never had a problem with the cabins, yeah sometimes they weren't the cleanest or something was a little sketchy, but the place is 100% worth coming to.

I have not been to the cabins in a few years, so if they have been re-done like I have heard tell, they may be even better. They are simple, if your significant other likes coach purses and tile showers, it's probably a better place for a guys weekend with a few 24 packs.I see no reason to stay in the lodge when you can have your own little cabin thing with the outdoor grill and firepit. Do not waste money on firestarters because there should be a ton of leaves and sticks to start your fire.

The dirt bike riding trails are the best within a 2-3 hour radius of the DFW area besides Red River motorcylce trails(the one near turtle hill golf course). Rocky ridge and marshall creek are terrible. There are quite a few trails, I have been on every single one. The woods are thick and the trails are winding and usually quite pretty. A little bit of sand, mud clay etc. There is a section of hills or what i call bowls near the lake(red/brown clay and steep erosion made into some up and down hills). takes some exploring to find. If you are looking for jumps this is not the place for you. there are maybe four jumps in the whole place, and none of them very good. There are not many campsites at the dirt bike riding area- which is NOT at the state park itself-15 minutes away-. There are pay showers at the dirt bike riding place which is nice, and a playground. There are guys that will absolutely fly on some of the main trails or near the entrance so be careful if you are riding with kids. The trails themselve are more geared towards four wheelers, but either way is fine.



In summary, you get what you pay for(similar to getting a 40 dollar a night hotel), bring your kids, bring a plethora of your own groceries and firewood, bring the dirt bikes and atvs, mountain bikes and hiking shoes because this place has it all. Spend a day riding dirt bikes/atvs and spend a day hiking and exploring.

Room Tip: Skip the lodge, rent a cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kmoneyUT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

I’ve stayed here several times, at the ATV park and Elephant rock park. Nice size spots, level, nice restrooms and showers (some are pay showers) really nice hosts, trails are plenty and long, lots of deer and other animals to see. Can be very crowded and hard to get a spot as they don’t take reservations. Lake is clean and cool most of the time. Easy access right off the hishway.

Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

We are a family of four that loves to try new camping spots in and around the Dallas area. We recently went to Lake Murray State Park for a Labor Day getaway with friends and it has risen to the top of our list of places to go. We are the typical family of four with a pop-up. We stayed in the Marietta Landing camping area. It was nice and fully-shaded as most of the areas are. I really liked the Rock Tower camping area, but they were pretty full when we got there and we needed 2 spots next to each other for other families coming. All of the sites have reasonably accessible water access, but Rock Tower has sites that are literally 20 feet from the water...very nice. Full hook-ups as well.

The lake is super clean and very nice. All of the park rangers we encountered were very nice. I did get the vibe that a couple of the dudes driving around had some authority issues, but they never made that an issue for our crew. We liked it so much that we're headed back tomorrow for a quick day trip with the kids...very fun and well-kept park!

Room Tip: For the best spots, bet there early...no reservations and first-come is first-serve.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank beauzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2011

I have been going to Lake Murray with my family for the past 10 years and beyond, and it has always been the highlight of the year. The trails there are beautiful as well as the scenery surrounding it. It is bike and hiker friendly, RV and tent friendly, swimming and boat friendly. They have a cool marina where you can feed the fish, which is one of the neat things to do. The Tucker Tower is also a cool place to visit on the Lake and serves as a great backdrop to the lake when the sun sets. We never get bored of hiking the same trails, going to the same locations, and seeing the same things. It's always well kept and improving.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dmurray713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2011

We have tent camped, RV camped, and Lodged at Lake Murray & yes, we have worn "shower shoes" in the showers, but would anyone, no matter how clean something looked, stand barefoot in someone else's shower? I wouldn't, I don't want to contract something yucky! We have been going annually for about 30 years and we have no plans to stop going. The lake is beautiful, all ways of staying are fun, there are pools, play areas, and more. It is wonderful fun & we recommend it to everyone!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PartyOf2Vacationers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2011

The lodge needs a sponsor to give a LOT of money to update the windows, (painted shut, won't shut or won't open, won't lock) BUT if you go and stay at the lodge, you have excellent views, a fishing pier, a very good restaurant, and a decent mattress. The rooms are SMALL, the bed was a queen. the door was 3 feet from the foot of the bed. None of this matters if you like campy...but if you're looking for luxury, keep looking, but PLEASE leave your money at the desk. They need it. This park needs our support because it IS a great place. Tucker tower is amazing and has world class views. ALSO may need a sponsor for some upgrades. Rumor has it that it gets dirty in the summer. STOP IT. do a service project and clean up after yourselves. littering is lame.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank jlemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ardmore hotels
8.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Admore
8.3 mi away
Lexington Inn - Ardmore
Lexington Inn - Ardmore
#2 of 23 in Ardmore
154 reviews
7.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Ardmore Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ardmore Central
9.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Ardmore
SpringHill Suites Ardmore
#12 of 23 in Ardmore
124 reviews
9.8 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn- Ardmore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Murray State Park & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Murray State Park & Lodge

Property: Lake Murray State Park & Lodge
Address: 3323 Lodge Rd, Ardmore, OK 73401-8424
Location: United States > Oklahoma > Ardmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Ardmore
Number of rooms: 108
Also Known As:
Lake Murray State Park Hotel Ardmore
Lake Murray State Park And Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing