We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Painfully SLOW!”
Review of Grapevine Cafe - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Grapevine Cafe
Cuisines: French
Restaurant details
Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Painfully SLOW!”
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Every time I have ever eaten here, it has taken forever to get food. I can't figure out why because most things are already made or a sandwich. How long does it take to put soup in a bowl? Usually, the server returns to tell me they are out of whatever I ordered & ask me to choose something else. I have dined here several times even though I wasn't happy. I kept thinking I must be crazy because some people really like it & there aren't many options in Altus. The food is ok at best. Portions are tiny & take forever to receive. At least it is clean which is more than I can say for many Altus establishments.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank InvisibleMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    5
    2
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Best local restaurant”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Great food, great atmosphere, great service. You must eat here at least once during your stay in Altus.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Liberty K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good, not great!”
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Visited here based on reviews from others. I ordered the lunch special which was chicken fried chicken. While the chicken was very very good, well seasoned and hot, the sides were not. My mashed potatoes were cold and the fried okra tasted like it was frozen prepackaged. Ice tea did not taste liked fresh brewed but more like fountain tea. The spice cake for dessert was excellent. My daughter ordered the chicken avocado salad sandwich. She found the flavor weird and the texture even weirder. Didn't really taste like chicken or avocado. Looked like a paste. Yuck! My son in law had the chicken avocado club sandwich. He loved the turkey that was on it but didn't care for the rest. The service while friendly, was slow. While this place is not excellent, it is above average for the area and it would return, but order something different.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank natlspk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A tasty lunch”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This pleasant, nicely decorated restaurant is an excellent choice if you are looking for a tasty soup, salad, or sandwich for lunch. The menu is limited, but we enjoyed our food.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank jjoek1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best food in Altus”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We were in town for a family member's retirement from the Air Force base. Three meals at this cafe. A terrific chicken pie in puff pastry, wonderfully flavored, served hot (to a large group), full portion with flaky pastry and chicken meat that was obviously cooked from scratch for this meal. It was served with a simple, very fresh side salad and roasted asparagus. The chocolate cake was to die for. A soft, moist cake in the true Parisian tradition, very flavorful with a hint of bittersweet chocolate and a creamy smooth texture that it seems you only get with "folded in" egg whites, not beaten.
This cafe is simple in decor but is very pleasant. It is all about the food. Go figure that in this great continental cafe is out in the weeds in western Oklahoma. - Paul, from Seattle

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CPablo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing