We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Grapevine Cafe - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Grapevine Cafe
Cuisines: American, French, Cafe
Dining options: Lunch, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Seating
Smyrna, Delaware
Level Contributor
137 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Our daughter has tried this and couldn't wait for us to arrive to take us for lunch!! I enjoyed the chicken salad platter but the dessert was awesome!!! Brownie delight!!! Oh my goodness!
The croissant the salad was on was so light!!!! Great service!!!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank crisndeefromde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    5
    2
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Altus, OK
Level Contributor
69 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good place to eat.”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We have eaten here 10 times or so over the last 4-5 years and though it’s not an "excellent" restaurant they are above average for this area and Grapevine does have some very good qualities.
The service is very good. Always friendly and fast which means a lot in these parts as its hard to come by in most places. It also helps tremendously when you have only 1 hour for lunch.
Very clean. Nice atmosphere, a little cheesy but comfortable.
The food is good most of the time. There has been a small slip or two but overall good food.
The owner has specials and coupons and gives some of her profits back to the community. Very cool.
Cons:
Expensive salads. 8.50 for a salad. Now that’s just way out there. The salads are ok but very homemade and not anywhere near worth 8.50. For 8.50 there should be free salad refills. That being said the daily specials are a great value.
Portions are little small. If your in the mood for a big meal probably not the place you want to eat.
Other than that Grapevine is a good eatery with great service and most always good food. We will go back from time to time as we have never been disappointed. Cant really go wrong here.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alwaystogether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Light Lunch”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

The food is unbelievably awesome. By "light" I mean you do not get a lot of food rather than it being a healthier option. The hours are also limiting, but the food is worth it!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank July H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle of Nowhere, USA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Odd Hours and A Limited Menu Hold This Place Back”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

As other reviews have stated, you have to catch this place while it's open, which is typically only during lunch, weekend brunch, and a couple of evenings, apparently. The food is good, dare I say home-cooked quality, and the portions are decent. I had the pot roast and vegetables; which was pretty tasty. I guess lunch came with the meal but I'm not a big dessert guy so I passed. The wait staff was on their game and we sat upstairs, which seemed a little nicer than downstairs for some reason. The menu could have had a little more to offer but with the hours this place keeps, I can kind of understand the limited selection. Try it out for a change of pace from the usually fast-food lunch time scene.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Philibuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Gotta catch it open...”
Reviewed June 5, 2012 via mobile

11am-2pm Mon-Fri; 5-8 pm Thurs & Fri; Sunday brunch 10am-3 pm. I had the special, puff pastry, very good with a salad included. Nice spot...A must stop :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DanaDJuarez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grapevine Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing