We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good BBQ with few alternatives”
Review of Billy Sims BBQ

Billy Sims BBQ
Ranked #11 of 56 Restaurants in Altus
Price range: $5 - $24
Cuisines: Barbecue, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Billy Sims Barbecue specializes in traditional backyard barbecue, serving smoked meats such as: brisket, pulled pork, polish sausage, hot links, bologna, St. Louis style ribs, and boneless chicken and turkey. We serve the highest quality meats and sides in a casual atmosphere that celebrates the career triumphs of 1978 Heisman, Billy Sims. Our meats are smoked fresh daily at every location using seasoned pecan wood for the perfect combination of heat and smoke. Come visit us for great, award winning barbecue!
Germany
Level Contributor
116 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good BBQ with few alternatives”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Billy Sims BBQ is quite good, especially for Altus, OK. Have had the pulled pork sandwich, as well as the brisket sandwich for lunches. There really is no comparison in town to this type of food, so Billy Sims takes the Gold. Have not eaten for dinner, but the menu is very reasonably priced and the selection is good. Lunch is typically $9.50 if you get a sandwich, side, and refillable fountain drink.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DarwynK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    15
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Love me some BBQ”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Awesome ribs & pulled pork! My mouth has been watering for good bbq, and I found it!!
They also had really hot link sausage, brisket, chicken and the beans are yummy!!
This was our second visit to this location and we will be back!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kayrenb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good BoomerQ”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Great variety and good boomerQ. I really enjoyed the chili! Not so much the bologna, but I am willing to give it another try.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank July H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle of Nowhere, USA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best Place to Eat in Altus”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Through no fault of this Billy Sims' own, this is the best place to eat in this lame town. I say that because most, if not all, towns/ cities' best place to eat should be a local, well-established (perhaps even mom & pop) place, NOT a chain. However, in this case, Billy Sims has done a heckuva job of out-cooking the competition in Altus. The menu is expansive and while the prices can quickly climb (especially if you go there with family), it is worth it in the end. The ribs are every bit of fall-off-the-bone and the sides are great; the beans are my personal favorite. If you're in Altus and you've never been to a Billy Sims or are just looking for the best place in town, stop here.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Philibuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Missouri
Level Contributor
187 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good BBQ”
Reviewed March 9, 2012

I was anxious to try Billy Simms based on other reviews posted here. It is new since my last Altus visit, 2 years ago. I was disappointed, but will say other reviewers comments must be based on the dearth of eating establishments in Altus, rather than a comparison of restaurants across the board.

The BBQ is very good, the wait staff friendly and let us sample several meats while deciding what to order.

But you stand in line to order, seat yourself and chow down. The ambience is OU and Detroit Lions football circa 1985 when Simms retired from the game. I liked the place, but before going there, you need to know what to expect.

They do have sweet tea, something I sorely missed at the restaurants in the Caribbean.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nineunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Billy Sims BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing